Better Late than Never?

in #introduceyourself7 years ago


Who has two thumbs and can't take a selfie??? This guy! ^^^

Hello Steemit Community!

Who am I?
My name is Geoff Curtis and I live in the Atlanta, GA area. I have been married for nearly 14 years and have a son who is about to turn 11. He is awesome - very creative and thoughtful and incredibly stubborn! I've been told that stubborn children usually come from stubborn parents but that sounds like bullocks to me. :-)
We also have two great dogs (rescues) and a fish.
On social media I am:
Twitter:ohgeegeo
Twitch:ohgeegeo
YouTube:ohgeegeo
CrowdFunding Campaign for a new Streaming Rig
Facebook:Geoff Curtis

This is us last night. My son won an art competition and his work was featured in a 'save the environment' calendar. He got to meet the mayor of our town last night in a nice ceremony (along with 11 other children):

Why am I here?
Like many others I learned about cryptocurrency in the boom of 2013. I invested over $10k and built three rigs in my bonus room, installed a subpanel to run a 30 amp line, added two AC units... I guess you could say I was enthusiastic.
Then the bust came and I pulled the plugs (literally) and sat on my BTC hoping someday I could tell me wife 'see, I wasn't a moron!'
Then came Ethereum. To this day I probably don't understand Ethereum or the blockchain like I should - but I believe I understand the potential that exists for this technology. When I saw that tangible, valuable applications could be built on the blockchain I was hooked immediately. After my investment in ETH I began to search for other projects which showed real purpose for their coins or tokens - something with inherent value derived from the USE not just someone else's willingness to purchase it.
In my search for 'the next big thing' I came across Steem/Steemit and the value was immediately obvious to me. Steemit attempts to solve a very real problem - lack of accountability and reliance upon 3rd party governance on social media. The timing could not have been better with the issues Reddit has had over the past year. I joined immediately but was challenged to find my way around and for that and another reason I'll cover below disappeared for about six months.

What do I love?
Aside from my family, I love gaming, investing in stocks and cryptocurrencies, working on the treehouse I'm building for my son (pick below), and fishing - though I haven't had time to do this for years. In general I find that seem to love to solve problems. I love the world of cryptocurrency because it presents a new challenge to solve every day. I also love building computers and do so for my friends whenever I have the opportunity.
I love to stream the games I play and interact with my audience. Whenever possible I invite them to join me in game, and they often give me great advice to help me improve.

What do I do?
I have worked as an Architect/Lead Developer for SAP IdM. I have been in Sales and headed up an IT department. Currently I am the VP of Operations for a market research firm responsible for about 50 people and a budget around $6 mil.

Something Honest:
When I first came to Steemit one day I made a douchie remark on someone's post about a spelling error when they were admitting to a serious offense. The crowd jumped on my for missing the point of his post and it pissed me off and I left about six months. I don't like being called out and I thought it was ridiculous that I caught more heat than the person who built his reputation passing off other people's work as his own. The admission of guilt actually boosted his reputation. Overall it made me feel that Steemit was NOT the open community I thought it was, and that several powerful users effectively directed other people's behavior with the threat of a downvote.
This may actually be true, I'm not sure. What I do know is that with time to think about it, I'm not really concerned if I was treated fairly compared to the person whose post I commented on. It's really about one thing - did my comment add value? With a humble view of it I know clearly it did not, so people were correct to call me out on it. The measure of the response, the fairness of it are distractions and excuses that cloud the main point - am I adding value.

So now that I'm back that's my goal. I want to be a valuable contributor to this community just as I want to take value from it.

Thanks and I look forward to getting to know you folks better.

Sort:  

Welcome to the community Geoff! It's great that you learned your lesson and were able to get past a few things and still join us. It's always hard with such communities, everyone tries to be nice but it's inevitable that some will get hurt. I always like to look at Reddit as a nice little comparison to this site, and on there you can see a lot of heated debates. Over what? Everything and anything.

Thankfully there's so much more positive things to learn and I hope you're able to get a lot out of it. It's dope that you're a VP for a market research firm! And sales? Oh my, that was always one of my weaknesses. I have a lot of respect for that and just executive positions after I tried my own hand at it last year.

Who knows where Steemit might go over the next few months or even years, but with more and more people joining we hope to go to the moon!

Thank you very much for taking the time to read and comment. I suspect Steemit is like most everything in life - I will get out of it what I put into it.

Welcome, and glad you stuck around @geocurt

I re-steemed your post and will follow you as well.
Full Steem Ahead!

Thank you! Followed!

This is a great indruduction my friend! Resteemed and followed!
Looking forward to your posts...

Thanks for the kind words!

45 now, 50 is not far away! You did a great job with this post!

Thanks, I just tried to be honest and share a bit about myself. Thanks for the idea and encouragement!

I am so happy that it worked out in this way. To help is such a great thing, and to see the result makes steemit what it is for me: a place to learn and grow together.

Hello and welcome to steemit!
Stop on over to my feed and check out the latest Prize Draw coming up if you wanna :)

Thank you!

Thanks for the welcome!

Welcome to Steemit @geocurt - great post and glad to have you here. upvoted and following you.

Thank you for the warm welcome!

Great Intro Post! Welcome to the community!

Thank you!

Hey and Welcome (back)! I bet if you give it a fair shake and park the douchieness at the door, you will find your spot and really enjoy it. Nice pics and Ill give you a shot with a follow lol :)

Thank you for taking the time to read, comment, and offer a welcome. I'm far from perfect and I'm sure there is a douchey moment in my future :-) Best I can do is own it and try to grow a little every day. Thanks for the follow!

Welcome to Steem! Have fun 😎

Hey Geoff, welcome (back) to Steem! :-)

Very nice introduction post! I've been hanging around on Steemit for awhile myself, struggling to get started with an intro post of my own. You say you are a gamer...that wouldn't be Dungeons and Dragons now, would it by chance?

I meant PC Gamer, but... I grew up playing D&D and LOVED it. Have a bunch of old modules in a box in my bonus room. Have two cases full of lead figures - yes, I'm so old they made miniatures out of toxic metal when I was a kid...
All this to say, I would love to get into a D&D campaign but just don't know how to get started. It seems like there are some amazing tools available now for virtual tabletop gaming but I don't know anyone who plays, what application to use, etc. Still hope some day to join a campaign.

Wow! I still have the old set of books and even a file containing old player sheets from years and years ago and my dice too! I wanted to teach my kids to play, but alas...the days of PC games have taken over. I also don't know anyone who plays, currently. In terms of old and new player friends.

I have all the books too - I'm talking original Basic D&D.
So here's an idea - what if we started a channel on Steemit.chat and every so often post here to look for other people who would be interested? Couple more people and a Dungeon Master and we have a group.
This community is here to make connections, after all!

I would consider it but it will have to wait for me. I am working on just trying to understand this place enough to post! So...that feels like more than I can handle with my current Steemit skills. But I am very interested...its a fun topic to revisit for me. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43