The Nepal diaries - Part#1 - Off to higher grounds

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

captured this sunset at a berlin railway station

Part #1 - Off to higher grounds

Hello dear Steemit! Hi to all of my friends,

I am really excited and motivated to be part of this awesome project!
What a time to be alive.

As I am writing this, I am sitting in a Berlin subway, destination Kathmandu. For the next seven months, I will be working in a reforestation project in central Nepal. Through these blog entries, I would like to share my experiences, knowledge and thoughts. These diaries will be a mixture of photography, video, portraits and interviews, documentation, personal stories and the never ending search for spirituality.

"Genius loci" is a latin term which roughly translates to "the spirit of the place". Sometimes, when you are entering a sacred site, a building or a beautiful forest, you get a little glimpse of what this spirit feels like. Every place is a product of the surroundings and the living beings which exist and existed there in every moment.

Let me take you to those places and the people behind it.

Part 1 - Off to higher grounds

I just recently read a great book which my dad gave to me: "The invention of nature: Alexander von Humboldt´s New World" which I highly recommend. For those of you who do not know Alexander von Humboldt, the guy lived in the late 17th century and was a Prussian geographer, naturalist, explorer and highly influential character of his time. The amount of knowledge this man gathered is beyond impressive.

So when Mr. Humboldt would go for an expedition to Latin America, he would have to sail across the ocean, which would take him months, let alone all the dangers and risks such a journey came with.

250 years later, I am sitting in an airplane, with my inflatable neck pillow, wondering which meal I should decide for. The advance in technology which mankind went through in this short amount of time never fails to amaze me.

Still, most of the people at the airport are in a bad mood, everyone is looking at their phone or sleeping. With flights getting cheaper and cheaper, people tend to loose their appreciation for this incredible service.

smart people

napping, 30.000 ft above

Did you ever wonder why your flight is cheaper than a train ride for the same distance?
I was wondering about it and did a little research. Let me explain it:

  1. Flight companies do not pay taxes on kerosene. Yes you heard right, while you pay 70% taxes at your local gas station, flight companies pay 0%.

  2. Flight companies such as Airbus and Boeing get huge substitution payments by the EU and American governments.

  3. Inside of the EU, they do not have to pay 19% taxes like the train companies have to.

So this means, at the moment, there are no regulations on greenhouses gases emitted by flights. (Which is 2% of the total anual emissions) Au contraire, flying is even empowered with the taxes you pay. Train rides emit 90% less greenhouse gases than flights. If you would take away the substitution and tax advantages, flying would become way more expensive, but it would finally be in a healthy relationship to riding a train. Substitutions for train tickets would be an awesome way to promote CO2-friendly travelling.

Over here, you can have a look at how many planes are in the air, at this very moment, unbelievable: https://www.flightradar24.com/

what a service

For every post I do, I would like to introduce you to the music I am currently listening to, my taste goes from Jazz to Psytrance, so be prepared for a diversified mix in the upcoming posts.

I have seen this particular band live in Berlin, I loved their performance and they are my all time favorite "drinking-a-chilled-glass-of-wine-band" enjoy Khruangbin (They shared the story of how they came up with the name at the concert, Khruangbin fittingly translates to "airplane" in thai-language and it was the first thai-word, that the guitarist learned).

http://bit.ly/2xg10I4 - Khruangbin

enter image description here

Let the universe smile upon you my friends, hear you soon.

genius_loci

If you like the pictures,
take a look at my little online
photo-gallery: http://bit.ly/2yk4VSF

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @geniusloci I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey, @geniusloci, well you found the right place to blog about this adventure and your taste in music. I would like to say I found you because of a person on the PAL network. A place for minnows like you. https://discordapp.com/channels/319885228464406528/319885228464406528 Check it out and be welcome.

Thanks a lot! Gonna check it out!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @geniusloci to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

There you go my friend. This looks like an amazing start for you on Steemit! Can't wait to see more of your adventures bro!

Thanks man! It´s been a lot of fun so far :)

Hi, Geniusloci, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

What an awesome intro! I hope you find your place here. Your tastes in music are interesting.
And I didn't know air carriers dont have to pay any taxes, quite frustrating but still I agree we should be grateful to have the chance to travel the word at such a low cost.

I can't wait to see your next posts and I hope that you'll have a great journey in Nepal!

Thank you so much for saying this!

It's my pleasure. There's a thing though, the link to your gallery is broken.

oh thanks! This one should work: http://bit.ly/2yk4VSF

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see some new faces!

Congratulations @geniusloci! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Willkommen auf steemit! Ich wünsche dir viel Spaß und Erfolg mit deinem Account! Ich wette, den wirst du haben! Bin gespannt, auf das, was du zu sagen hast! 👍🏻

Dankeschön! Man kann gespannt sein :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68293.69
ETH 3899.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69