How I learned to deal with money Wie ich lernte mit Geld umzugehen(featuring @blackeyed as author)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

Hey Guys,

I'm Tobias, turned 36 yesterday and I live in the beautiful north of Berlin-Friedrichshain. That's the place you might have heard some very bad stories about. Scary stories about burning cars, marauding hordes and violence against innocent bystanders. 

I can assure you: Most of these stories are not true. For me, this is the place where you and your loved ones have a damn good quality of life. More than at any other place where I lived so far, I have the feeling that character is much more important than a status or its symbols. 

You should come see the spot at your next visit to Berlin, you're gonna love it! 

I found Steemit on detours. For years, I have been interested in Cryptocurrencies and the theories and approaches related to them.

Lately, after the birth of our second child, I've been very involved into my little family and have only been able to watch the development 'from the sidelines'. It was really great to see the truly dreamlike development of the Bitcoin - of course, this happened after I had offloaded all Coins.

Steemit is the first blockchain-based platform that has a big potential for me. A system, that pays users for their contributions instead of a gray mass of shareholders, has my full support and I am giving it a huge leap of faith.

As far as the individual terms and their meanings here on Steemit are concerned, I have not yet immersed very deep. However, the concept still excites me. I find it a pity, that top posts often 'stew in their own juice'. By saying this, I mean that most-voted posts cover themes like 'How I earned 10,000$ with my post' or 'I am superstar xyz and now at Steemit' way too often. 

In my opinion, this experiment will only prove successful in the long run, when topics covered offer a wide range of value. I would like to contribute to this, and my first post will start pretty dramatically:   

ich heiße Tobias, in wenigen Tagen werde ich 36 Jahre alt und wohne im schönen Norden Berlin-Friedrichshains. Das ist da, worüber ihr in den letzten Wochen bestimmt schon ganz viele schlimme Geschichten gehört habt. Schaurige Geschichten über brennende Autos, marodierende Horden und Gewaltausbrüche gegenüber Unbeteiligten.
Ich kann euch versichern: Die meisten dieser Geschichten stimmen nicht. Für mich ist das vor allem da, wo man für sich und seine Liebsten eine verdammt hohe Lebensqualität hat. Mehr als an jedem anderen Ort, an dem ich bisher wohnte, habe ich hier das Gefühl, dass hier ein Charakter viel mehr zählt als ein Status oder dessen Symbole.
Zu Steemit bin ich über Umwege gekommen. Schon seit Jahren interessiere ich mich für Cryptocurrencies und die Theorien und Denkansätze dahinter.Zwischenzeitlich war ich nach Geburt unseres zweiten Kindes familär etwas eingespannter und habe die Entwicklung nur von der Seitenlinie aus beobachten können.Wirklich schön mitanzusehen wie wahrlich traumhaft sich der Bitcoin entwickelt hat -natürlich nachdem ich mich von allen Coins getrennt hatte. 
Steemit ist für mich die erste Blockchain-basierte Plattform, der ich persönlich größeres Potential zutraue. Ein System, welches die Nutzer für Beiträge entlohnt, anstelle einer grauen Aktionärsmasse, erhält meine volle Unterstützung und einen gewaltigen Vertrauensvorschuss.
Was die einzelnen Begrifflichkeiten und deren Bedeutungen auf Steemit angeht bin ich noch nicht ganz tief eingetaucht, das Konzept begeistert mich jedoch.Ein bisschen schade finde ich, dass die Top-Beiträge oft ‚im eigenen Saft schmoren‘. Damit meine ich, dass die meist-gevoteten Beiträge allzu oft Themen a la ‚Wie ich mit meinem Post 10.000$ verdiente‘‚ oder ‚Ich bin Superstar XY und nun auch bei Steemit‘ beackern.
Der Erfolg des Experiments wird sich - meiner Meinung nach - langfristig aber nur einstellen, wenn die Themen einen möglichst breit gefächerten Mehrwert bieten.Dazu möchte ich meinen Teil beitragen. Meinen ersten Post möchte ich auch gleich dramatisch beginnen:

How I learned to deal with money

Let me go back a bit.   

It must have been sometime in the summer of the year 2000. It was a wonderfully bright and hot summer. Why do I remember this so clearly? It's because any summers I wistfully remember were bright, wonderfully warm summers. Only this year's summer just does not seem to get going.   

But let's go back to the year 2000:   

The dissolute life, a mixture of sleeping in, (not going to) school, partying excessively and meeting friends, had ended: I started my apprenticeship. It was nothig particularly exciting, far from self-realization, a normal office job. It was still profitable enough to keep me afloat all these years.   To prove how firmly I had both feet on the ground to myself and the outside world, of course, I needed a vehicle carrying me through the streets comfortably (a big one!) and safely (haha, I needed a very big car!). 

I paid with my good name (or my employer's name, respectively) and the prospect of a brilliant career, which surely would make me forget the stigma of a leveraged car at the beginning of my apprenticeship in no time. In other words: even before my first small salary had been booked to my bank account, I had the biggest car of the block standing in front of the house and a big credit on my hands, which should restrain me from now on.   

I should feel the restraint for many years, day by day.  

Wie ich lernte mit Geld umzugehen
Lasst mich etwas ausholen.
Es muss irgendwann im Sommer 2000 gewesen sein. Es war ein wundervoll heller und heißer Sommer. Woher ich das noch so genau weiß? Weil alle Sommer, an die ich mich wehmutsvoll zurückerinnere lichtdurchflutete, herrlich warme Sommer waren. Nur der diesjährige, der kommt irgendwie nicht so richtig in die Gänge.
Doch zurück ins Jahr 2000:
Das Lotterleben, eine Melange aus Ausschlafen, Schule (schwänzen) und exzessivem Feiern und Freunde treffen, war zunächst vorbei: Ich begann meine Ausbildung. Nichts besonderes Aufregendes, von Selbstverwirklichung weit entfernt, ein ganz normaler Bürojob eben. Aber einträglich genug, um mich all die Jahre über Wasser zu halten.Um mir und der Außenwelt zu beweisen, wie sehr ich nun mit beiden Beinen im Leben stand, musste natürlich ein Fahrzeug her, das mich komfortabel (Ein großes Auto!) und sicher (Haha! Ein sehr großes Auto also) durch die Straßen beförderte.Bezahlt habe ich mit meinem guten Namen (bzw. mit dem meines Arbeitgebers) und der Aussicht auf eine glänzende Karriere, die mich den Makel des fremdfinanzierten Fahrzeugs am Ausbildungsbeginn doch bestimmt in kürzester Zeit vergessen lassen sollte. In anderen Worten: Ich hatte noch bevor mein erstes kleines Ausbildungsgehalt auf meinem Konto eintrudelte, die größte Karre der Straße vor der Tür und einen dicken Kredit an der Backe, der mich fortan extrem einschränken sollte.
Wie sehr, das sollte ich viele Jahre jeden Tag aufs Neue spüren.

My training went well, my income went up and up. But, my daily need for consumer goods, superfluous things and other garbage, also increased rapidly. Not to mention that a noble vehicle constantly causes costs which are nothing to sneeze at - not even considering the expensive inspections at the trusted car workshop (of course, at an authorized repair shop!). True to the motto 'when you're working that hard, don't you have the right to allow yourself a little treat?', I created a potpurri of loans, overdraft interests, credit cards at their very limits. The very rare 'months of the black zero', when expenditures did not exceed the income, were cause for huge celebrations.   

However, I was far away from a real 'black zero' - all bank accounts and credit cards were in the red. In the dark red.   

Then, the time came when things just could not go on like that anymore. I met the love of my life. Meeting your dream woman, the one you want to spend the rest of your life with, often goes along with one thing: the wish for kids.   

Up to that moment, I had very successfully kept myself away from any kind of responsibility, I lived from day to day and did not care about tomorrow. And certainly, I did not care who should pay for that 'tomorrow'. But now it was important for me to get a grip on my stuff - that was the final call for me.   

The thought of not being able to sufficiently care for my small illiterates scared the crap out of me.  

Die Ausbildung lief gut, mein Gehalt stieg und stieg. Doch auch mein täglicher Bedarf an Konsumartikeln, Unnötigkeiten und sonstigem Müll stieg rasant. Nicht zu vergessen, dass eine noble Karosse auch nicht zu verachtende laufende Kosten verursacht, die teuren Inspektionen im Autohaus des Vertrauens (Vertragswerkstatt! Logo!) noch gar nicht berücksichtigt.Getreu dem Motto ‚Das wird man sich ja wohl noch gönnen dürfen, wenn man so viel arbeitet’ kreierte ich ein Potpourri aus Krediten, Dispozinsen und bis zur Oberkante belasteten Kreditkarten. Für größten Jubel sorgten die sehr seltenen sogenannten ‚Monate der schwarzen Null‘, in denen die laufenden Ausgaben die Einnahmen nicht überstiegen.
Von einer echten schwarzen Null war ich jedoch weit entfernt, alle Konten und Karten waren rot. Blutrot.
Dann kam der Zeitpunkt, an dem es nicht so weitergehen konnte. Ich lernte die Frau meines Lebens kennen. Und wie es Traumfrauen, mit denen man den Rest des Lebens verbringen möchte, oft an sich haben: Man(n) wünscht sich Nachwuchs! 
Bisher hatte ich mich erfolgreich von jeder Art von Verantwortung gedrückt, ich lebte in den Tag hinein und sorgte mich nicht um Morgen. Schon gar nicht, wer den Morgen bezahlen sollte. Doch nun kam es darauf an, dass ich meine Sachen in den Griff bekam, das war der final call.
Der Gedanke, die kleinen Analphabeten nicht ausreichend versorgen zu können jagte mir eine Heidenangst ein.

But let's get back to present times.   

Business is going well. Every month has turned out to be reason for joy! Any expenses are covered at all times, I easily fulfill my savings goals and one or the other Euro is ready for exceptional expenses. 

There's a last little credit left, but I will soon have paid that off, eventually.   I finally want to explain how I made that possible: Actually, it's several points that lead to me finally being able to breathe:  

- Proper financial planning   

A tool immensely helping to get a better overview over your financial situation, to plan expenses and achieve financial goals quickly, built the basis: YNAB   To dispel any misunderstandings right away: YNAB does not help to conjure more money. It is actually a pity, because meanwhile, there are some bigger cars in my street. But to leave the joking aside, YNAB helps - as opposed to other tools - to look at the past flow of money keeping all pending expenses in mind. 

No matter if they are due every tenth of the month, or once a year, say, in December. The money will be there - and for the first time, it won't hurt when 'suddenly' the insurance of contents is deducted from your bank account in December.     

- Consume in a more conscient and intelligent way   

I tested a few moneyback systems on the internet and I do currently use several of them. It's a simple principle: When buying certain products or services via the moneyback page, you receive a (big) part of the commission rewarded to the relevant site for acquisition.   Initially surprised by how lucrative that system was, I started to focus on benefitting from this more consciously for some of my expenses. Some expenses will reward you with a very high commission! Further, there are some tricks you can use with Amazon and other online shops, that will earn you a few bucks.   

It is important for me that the benefit should be proportionate to the effort made. That means, for a voucher valued 50 Cents, I won't subscribe for a newsletter that will bother me every single day. I'm also into data protection. I don't want my data to be sold for Payback programs.  

My Moneyback-Overview

Doch nun wieder zurück in die Gegenwart
Der Laden läuft. Jeder Monat ist ein Jubelmonat geworden! Alle Ausgaben sind zu jeder Zeit gedeckt, Ansparziele erreiche ich mit Links und so mancher Euro für außergewöhnliche Ausgaben steht in den Startlöchern.
Ein letzter kleiner Kredit ist noch verblieben, den ich demnächst jedoch auch endlich abgezahlt haben werde.Wie ich das angestellt habe, möchte ich euch nun also endlich erklären. Eigentlich sind es mehrere Punkte, die dazu geführt haben, finanziell endlich durchatmen zu können:
- Eine ordentliche Finanzplanung
Grundpfeiler war ein Tool, das ungemein hilft, einen besseren Überblick die finanzielle Situation zu erhalten, Ausgaben zu planen und finanzielle Ziele schnell zu erreichen: YNABUm Missverständnisse gleich auszuräumen: YNAB hilft nicht dabei mehr Geld zu zaubern. Schade eigentlich, denn mittlerweile gibt es schon wieder größere Autos in unserer Straße Spaß beiseite ;-)YNAB hilft - im Gegensatz zu Tools, die Geldströme in der Vergangenheit betrachten, bei allen anstehenden Ausgaben. Egal ob sie jeden 10. des Monats oder einmal im Jahr, sagen wir im Dezember, anstehen. Das Geld wird da sein - und zum ersten Mal wird es euch nicht schmerzen, wenn ‚ganz unverhofft‘ die Hausratversicherung im Dezember abbucht.
- Bewusster und intelligenter konsumieren
Ich habe einige Cashback-Programme im Internet getestet und letztendlich Qipu für gut befunden. Das Prinzip ist hier ganz einfach: Beim Kauf von bestimmten Produkten und Dienstleistungen über die Qipu-Seite erhält man einen (Groß-)Teil der Provision, die Qipu für den Abschluss erhält.Anfangs überrascht wie lukrativ sich das Ganze darstellt, achte ich nun bei einigen Ausgaben bewusst darauf, vom Geld-Zurück-Programm zu profitieren. Die jährliche KfZ-Versicherung bringt euch zum Beispiel jeweils solide 40,- bis 70,- EUR.Des weiteren gibt es bei Amazon und einigen anderen Onlineshops doch einige Tricks, die für den einen oder anderen Euro in der Kasse sorgen.Wichtig ist mir hierbei immer, dass der Nutzen im Verhältnis zum Aufwand stehen sollte. Also für einen 50 Cent-Gutschein werde ich mich nicht für einen Newsletter anmelden, der mich täglich belästigt. Außerdem stehe ich auf Datenschutz. Für Payback-Programme mag ich nicht meine Daten im Verkauf wissen.
- Passiv dazuverdienen, z.B. mit dem eigenen Auto
Vor wenigen Wochen war mir diese Möglichkeit fremd, mittlerweile bin ich jedoch ein treuer Fan davon: Auf Plattformen wie Drivy, Tamycar und Carunity lässt sich das Auto komfortabel weitervermieten. Um den Versicherungsschutz braucht ihr euch nicht kümmern. Während der Vermietung ist das Fahrzeug über die jeweilige Plattform versichert.Wenn ihr also auch Du ein Auto vor der Tür stehen habt, das mehr steht als bewegt wird, ist das sicher auch eine Möglichkeit für euch.

Last but not least:   

- Radically reconsider your view of daily consumption and the expenses that are actually really necessary

Have you ever wondered what is really important in life? Things you can't live without? You'll be surprised!  


My upcoming posts will cover each of the points described here a bit more detailed. I'd like to go into details about the relevant specifics and I hope Steemit is the appropriate platform.   

To point out one important thing: I am not affiliated with any of the above-mentioned companies in any way. I do not benefit from you taking advantage of the options described or not. I just want to show you a few ways that helped me emerge from the financial mess.   

Comments, questions, additions to my posts are always welcome.   

Please follow me @blackeyed

Take care!
blackeyed

This article was created in German by @blackeyed and translated into English by @ines-f – you are cordially invited to follow us for more interesting stories.  

Last but not least:
- Die Sicht auf den täglichen Konsum und die wirklich notwendigen Ausgaben, radikal zu überdenken
Habt ihr euch schon einmal überlegt, was wirklich wichtig ist im Leben? Dinge, ohne die ihr nicht Leben könnt? Ihr werdet überrascht sein!
Meine nächsten Beiträge sollen nun die jeweiligen Punkte alle etwas genauer beleuchten. Ich möchte auf die Besonderheiten eingehen und denke bzw. hoffe, dass Steemit hierfür die geeignete Plattform ist.Eins ist mir noch wichtig: Ich bin mit keinem der oben genannten Unternehmen in irgendeiner Weise verbunden. Ich profitiere nicht davon, wenn ihr die aufgezeigten Möglichkeiten nutzt oder nicht. Ich möchte nur einige Wege zeigen, die mir geholfen haben, aus dem finanziellen Schlamassel aufzutauchen.
Anmerkungen, Fragen oder Ergänzungen sind immer gern gesehen.
Macht es gut!
blackeyed
Sort:  

Fine words and an insinuating appearance are seldom associated with true virtue.

wise words, mr. bot ;-)

Welcome aboard Tobias! All for one and one for all!!! Namaste :)

thank you! it's great to be part of this community. btw: i like your travel stories.

Lovely and welcome! The most important thing for me is abandoning the media pressures of consumerism. I don't wish to be like anyone else, though I did when I was younger. The sense of freedom is awesome. And dangerous. I have dyed my hair green, and am getting my first tattoo at 45. The green cost money, unfortunately. The tattoo is a gift ;)

charming comment - i totally agree with you about the consumerism. btw, you're never too old to be and express yourself

Happy belated birthday, welcome to Steemit. A helpful and advice filled post. Nice job!

thank you very much for the kind words!

Herzlichen Glückwunsch @blackeyed - Grüße aus dem Kiez ;-)

Wow, danke! Gleicher Kiez? ^^

Ja ;-) Finde ich auch voll lustig :-)

Haha, dann irgendwann auf ein Bier ;-)

Auf jeden Fall :-) Machen wir.

Hello Gavvet.

I am Mel Kay and while lurking for the past week I made an account today and posted my story.

I love festivals and live in Cape Town.. I would love to earn enough from a post to get myself a decent Canon D400 or similar cam for around $400 so I can cover festivals around Cape Town and various original content I can make on the weekends.

If you could take a look at my intro post and feature me I would be eternally gratefull and will produce the most amazing content I can for steemit.

I am fun and quirky and feel my writing style and weekend escapades can add value to the site and the community.

Thanks for your time. :) One of your feature posts was why I got into steemit in the first place and inspired me to document my weekends. :D

steemit chat is where you can get hold of me.

Ich lebte seit mehr als einem Jahr in München. Ich war begeistert von Deutschland. Viel Glück!

Herzlichen Dank! In München habe ich auch 9 Jahre gewohnt, tolle Stadt. Bis bald mal wieder in Deutschland :-)

ja, wir sehen uns bald ! mein Deutsch ist nicht so toll ... sorry

Alles bestens, ich hatte keinerlei Probleme dich zu verstehen :-)

Oh gut! Prost :)

welcome to steemit ..........

thank you very much!

I manage money by letting it earn a place in my life, rather me earn money.

cool that you've found a way to handle it like that!

Are there any laws or social rules that completely baffle you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52