Hello Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 8.21.13 AM.png

That's me. Well, sort of.

Hi; my name is Ben. I'm an older fellow, trying to take life easy these days. The picture of me above is a couple decades old; I show it here because this, to me, looks most like me. Age has turned my hair grey, and my eyes have been fixed so I no longer wear glasses, but... when I look at this, I think "yes, that's me." But...


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 8.47.04 AM.png

This is what I actually look like today

I go by "fyngyrz" because one of my lifelong interests is playing guitar; I have been playing for fifty years now, mostly rock, blues, and folk music.


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 8.41.41 AM.png

My favorite guitar and amp

Here is link to page on my blog with a sample of my playing:

A tribute to Led Zeppelin

Some of my other interests include consciousness theory, photography, radio, reading, writing, martial arts, cats, and converting the old church I live in with my very creative partner, Deb, into a home:


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 9.30.02 AM.png

Our home, before Deb replaced all the yellow stained glass.
We built that little house for the local feral cats, but we put it
out front for a few weeks just for fun.


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 9.11.27 AM.png

No more yellow glass – Deb made new glass for every window in the building

I have been an engineer and programmer by trade, have some business involvement in the publishing industry, and I also taught martial arts for about forty years, though age and health issues have finally caught up with me and I no longer teach.


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 8.55.03 AM.png

That's me again, back in the day

One of the reasons that I enjoy photography is that I have a condition called aphantasia which means that I have essentially no visual memory. If you ask me to imagine what waves rolling in on the ocean looks like in my mind, I can't do it.


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 9.18.00 AM.png

Instead, if you ask me to recall something I have seen, I will give you a description in words – that's all that is in my mind. Because of this condition, photography gives me a way to recall and remember that I don't otherwise have. As you might imagine, I take a lot of photographs.


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 8.26.46 AM.png
The Atlantic ocean from the coast of Florida

I will post some of my photographic work on Steem as time goes by; I know my way around a camera in the technical sense, but my "artist's eye" isn't well developed, so I actively try to improve my composition and framing skills. If anyone gets any enjoyment out of my photography, I would be most pleased. Because of my memory issue, the fact is that I am sharing my entire visual memory of a moment with you. Photographs are my visual memory.


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 8.57.11 AM.png

October 9th, 2012 aurora, shot in northeastern Montana

Directly related to this, in my programming work I have written several photo processing software applications. I often use them to edit and otherwise adjust my photographs. One is called "WinImages", and was developed commercially for Windows some time ago, and which I have now made available for free here; another is DTank (for Developing Tank), a free program for OS X, and is something I am working on right now – it's nowhere near finished, but is far enough along that it can be fun to play with.


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 9.00.07 AM.png

My DTank application


Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 9.05.40 AM.png

My WinImages application

Thanks for reading. I look forward to exploring Steemit.

Sort:  

Welcome to steem. Great to see your varied interests

Welcome @fyngyrz

Hi Ben... Nice to meet you... Welcome to Steemit.... This is a nice intro post...I must say that you are a multi-talented person.... I hope you will do great over here as a steemian... Follow Me @onority

Congratulations @fyngyrz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi, @Fyngyrz, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

source (2).gif

its great to have you Ben. I am following you from now on. I hope you can write programs for steemit to make it more organized and help find content and groups of people of similar interest easier.

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome, Ben. Hope you are doing well

A new Steemian ^^ hello @fyngyrz I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Good writeup! Your account seems new so I'm sending you my support. One upvote from me and I hope you will some day do the same!
As you only recently joined the steemit community it can be hard to recieve lots of steem power so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47