Just joined Steemit -- my quick introduction!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, I just joined Steemit today :)

i-want-to-be-as-cool-as-this-kid-lol-14451089.jpg

A little bit about myself

I've been working in publishing since 2005. In 2015 I decided to go full-time as a blogger and freelance writer. My blogs are mainly focused on technology, high fidelity audio and minimalism. I've learnt plenty about digital commerce in recent years and I look forward to sharing whatever I can to whomever is willing to lend their ears ;)

Why did I join Steemit?

I heard about Bitcoin around 2012, but never spent much time researching it. Since 2016, I've noticed crypto trending a lot in tech news; but it was Bcash, Bgold, and the SegWit2X forks which really caught my attention. I've tried discussing this with friends, but nobody seems to care or even know what blockchain is.

IMG_2966.jpg

It was also during my research on crypto that I stumbled upon the idea of using blockchain in social media. To me, it clicked instantly. I use social networking a lot for my blogs, and I understand the concept of the "user as the product". It has always irked me that we're creating free content on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc... while these platforms monetize our content.

Social media, reinvented

The idea of a decentralized social media platform that rewards users for creating and curating high content is the future. I honestly believe that fiat currency is on its way out; it's not a question of if, but when. Could people be measured by the things that they create in future? I believe so. It's all very exciting and I'm still wrapping my head around it.

That's when I discovered Steemit.

I know there exists quite a few platforms that are built on blockchain, but I think Steemit is the only one that has the most users and market cap. If you know otherwise, please comment. Like I said, I've only begun to scratch the surface.

So what are my plans?

I'm going to try and spend as much of my "social media time" on Steemit as I can. I'm not active on Facebook, but I do use Twitter and Instagram a lot for my personal and work blogs. I'll try to publish more content here, curate interesting news I read from my RSS feeds, and comment on cool posts when possible. That means less Reddit, and more Steemit.

Have a great day, and thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to steemit!
I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts or in a reply below and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Loading...

hi and welcome! You'll do great here =)

Thanks for welcoming me :)

WELCOME ...Here is a complete guide to Steemit success that how can you grow your earnings and followers fastly
https://steemit.com/steemit/@rajag234/complete-step-by-step-guide-to-steemit-success

Appreciate the guide. You're right in saying that upvoting meaningful posts is the way to build an awesome community here.

Nice to meet you, @futuretro! Welcome to Steemit!

Interesting read! I saw that you joined recently so welcome aboard. Have one upvote on the house and I hope to read more from you in the future!
As you are new to steemit and it can be hard for newcomers to boost their steem power so you could give @MinnowPowerUp a go. This service lets you earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I also recently made this post explaining my experience with it in more depth while earning over $1 per day in upvotes.

A new Steemian ^^ hello @futuretro I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Thanks for the follow, following back too. Is Steemian what we call ourselves? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38