Hi I'm Brian. My Steemit account was hacked (And now it's been restored!!!)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Update 4: It wasn't the most elegant solution, but the dev team restored my account access. Feeling great and really happy with all of their work to get the issue resolved. I won't be posting anymore from this account and will instead be at @mynameisbrian

Thanks again to the dev team.

--------

Update 3: Michael got back to me promptly. Hopefully I'll be up and steeming again in just a bit. Things are looking up.

--------

Update 2: Just received an email from [email protected] asking Michael to help me out with my issues. Looks like they are working hard on restoring access for everyone, just probably overwhelmed.

--------

Update 1: Looks like the devs are still working frantically on things: https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemitblog/steemit-re-opens-new-user-registration

Good to know they are still on it!

--------

Hi Steemit,

My name is Brian. I am one of the victims of the #steemit #hack that occurred over the past week.

While it was unfolding there was a lot of discussion on the site regarding the hack, but that has mostly dissipated since the account recovery tool was rolled out. It appears many of #the-hack victims have successfully restored their accounts using this tool, but sifting through comments both here and on the slack channel it is clear that the issue is not completely resolved. I for one am still not able to recover my account @mynameisbrian - nor access the approximately 1.13 #bitcoin I had converted to #steem and powered up just prior to the hack. I find this extremely frustrating.

Now I must credit the development team and say they were very responsive at containing the hack and rolling out the account recovery tool; however, I am not sure that responsiveness will continue for those individuals that for some reason are receiving errors before the recovery process completes. My last response from the team was received a couple days ago and can pretty much be summed up as…

Please be patient.

Now I’m fine with being patient, so long as I have some idea of what is going on. As of this moment I have no clue. Am I to be patient for a couple more days? Weeks? Months? Am I completely f#@%ed? I don’t know?

What if you went into your bank and they said there was an attack on their system and you cannot do anything with your funds or update any information? You’re locked out, please be patient. That wouldn’t fly.

Now I am well aware that this is #cryptocurrency and not a bank. There is inherent risk in simply using the site, but if #steemit succeeds it will be because of a mass inflow of individuals completely new to #crypto. I do not think this user base will respond well to hacks, being locked out of accounts, and/or losing funds. The dev team has stated that they will reimburse all funds lost in the hack (it wasn’t much) and this may very well be the case. Again, my issue at the moment is that I just don’t know.

I think this shows one additional area where the #steemit team will need to improve as the site scales. PR and #marketing will be essential, especially when dealing with crisis-management. When #money is involved users do not tolerate very well being left in the dark.

For now, I’ll continue to be patient and hopefully get some updates soon.

Who else is still locked out?

Sorry for the rant.

- Brian

Sort:  

wellcome

Hey, sorry to hear about your account. I think it would be worth your time to check out my guide to securing it with LastPass + Duo so this doesn't happen again.https://steemit.com/steemit/@robrigo/security-how-to-how-anyone-can-avoid-losing-access-to-their-steemit-account-with-lastpass-and-duo

Thanks. I've already got it all setup again with appropriate security measures.

Glad to hear!

Great for you to join us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70