The Freewrite House is Open!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

header-1-800x480.png

Day 1

What is Freewrite House?

I am so glad you asked!!

@freewritehouse is a place you all want to come to and follow! Exciting things are about to happen on this page! And you want to come back and check on us every day.

“ That doesn’t answer my question,” you say.

And you are right. It didn’t. But you know how it is when excitement can’t hold back.

“Just the facts, please!!”

The Facts

Almost 150 days ago, the freewrite daily prompt started on the page of @mariannewest. In the early days, only a few people used the prompt as their writing exercise.

Before long, the numbers grew and grew and grew. Now, almost 5 month later, almost 300 writers have participated in the 5-Minute Freewrite and many are writing every single day.

Through reading and commenting on each others posts, many friendships have been formed and so many people started to care deeply about this freewrite phenomena. It had morphed from a daily writing exercise to a community of writers of all levels who have each other’s best interest in mind.

Now, a small band of die hard freewriters decided to come together and become hosts of what we are presenting to you today.

Drumroll please!!!

Introducing the…

Freewritehouse.

round_2.png

We have many fun activities planned for you!!!

During the next couple of weeks, you will find out about many of them in depth.

Contest and opportunities to win all kinds of things are going to be a big part of the Freewritehouse activities.

Stay tuned to this page and read much more about this in the next 14 days.

Your Freewrite House Hosts

11 of us set out on the journey to create this group. We plotted, we paused, we thought and we talked.

The result: We come up with lots of fun ideas for all - seasoned and brand new freewriters alike.

Well, we think they are fun. But you have to be the judge and tell us what you think.

Here are the plotters and planners in no particular order: @mariannewest @brisby @wandrnrose7 @byn @simgirl @snook @deaconlee @omra-sky @marcoriccardi @improv @f3nix - a couple are not sure if they are going to continue - but this is the original group.

You Tell Us!

For a Chance to Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income

Update: 8 PM pacific time, 3/16. The contest for this post is now closed.

Please go to a more recent post for more chances to win. We still love to read your comments on this post.

Steem Basic Income
Steem Basic Income is a social experiment to bring a basic income to as many Steemians as possible. Members join by sponsoring others into the program. Steem Basic Income is delivered through providing regular upvotes to member content.

This is what you have to do for your chance to win a membership:

  • Leave us a comment
  • Which has something to do with this post
  • Is at least 50 words

We will let you know if your comment is accepted and give you a number.
36 hours after publishing of this post, we will close the contest and draw the winner through a random number generator.
The winner will be announced and sponsored the same day.

Watch this space. There will be a daily chance to win for the next 14 days - and maybe longer.

Join the Freewrite daily prompt here

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

This is exciting! I may not be able to create my entry recently, but I do freewrites at least 2x a week. Silly me I am quite late to find out about @freewritehouse. I love freewriting as it improves my writing as well as to think speedily on my ideas. Thank you to @mariannewest who's instrumental for this community. I had invited some members to freewrite, though some of them are not totally active. I can't believe it though that I have been a part of #freewrite community since November. Thanks to @bloghound whom I saw posting her freewrite which led me to try it out. more power to all #freewriters and @freewritehouse!

29 @iyanpol12

You are in the drawing. Yes, you have been writing with us for a long time!! And a lot of writers from your country joined in because of you :) there will be a drawing every day - so, stay tuned.

Wow! This is exciting! I think I should spread the word about @freewritehouse. Also, if able I have something to help, I am willing to even in a simple way. Thanks.

Thank you so much!! Spreading the word of course is always appreciated. Voting on our posts helps -the more SP we have, the more we can support the free writing community. And if you know people who can give delegations, put a good word in for us :)

I'll give my 100% upvote next time. Or maybe there will be featured freewrite posts in the future.

My interest was piqued nicely in the build up to this by some great lead up build up by @mariannewest, the founder of the freewrite!! This looks like it's going to be great fun, and I am delighted to say I joined the Freewritehouse on day 1!! I'm really looking forward to seeing what it will become. Looking down through that list of 11 people, we are in the best hands. Each and every one of them have come and read my posts and left lovely comments and really helped me develop on my steemit journey so far.... I came here looking for crypto advice and found the freewriters and other really cool people from around the globe.. And the journey is only beginning...

6 @ablaze

Welcome to the Freewritehouse. Your comment qualified you for the drawing.
We are glad that the build up worked and you are here!! On day one! Yay!
Looking forward to many good times with you in the future.

Glad to see you here, punster!

Ha ha, hey man, thanks a lot! I love your Punday madness! I look forward to it each week!

Yay! In a few weeks, we plan to migrate the punday posts to this account, so make sure you tell all your friends! ;)

Nice one, I will indeed, it will be great to have everything under the one roof and easier to find.. Great idea

Though of course I hope you won't give up on following me, too ;P

Ha ha, of course not!!

@steemkeepers is dedicated to supporting the #freewrite community through upvotes and re-steems. Congratulations @freewritehouse...Steem on!

thank you for that!!!

I hope this isn't, like, a support group for people who have become addicted to freewriting? Because I, like, like freewriting and don't want to stop, ok? EVER. So if this is some kind of, like, intervention or whatever, I'm telling you right up front this is not going to work? But on the other hand, if this house is in support of freewriting and, like, the freedom to write freely, that we are all born with as tiny little babies, I'm all about it? Because if we all just gave babies the freedom to write, I mean really write, you know, like, put a pen in their chubby little fingers and a piece of paper in front of them, they would be like, Dostoyevski or whatever by the time they were like, 10?

31 @bennettitalia

You are in the drawing 😀 I love your comment! And I am with you! Let's allow kids to be free and they will do great things!

😅 thanks @freewritehouse! I got a lil' silly there fer a minnit...

Hahaha, yeah, I know, like, exactly, like, what you're sayin, like totally, @bennettitalia ;) . I know you were just joshin around, but, i have a habit of "writing like I speak" at times--sometimes it's obnoxious, and I have to go back--other times, it's intentionl, and I keep it bc i like it! Like, you know what I mean?? ;)) . Good to see ya, @bennettitalia!

lolo yes, I do! Colloquial writing can be frustrating or fun.... it was a thin line with this comment and I kept wondering if I'd crossed it XD

Good to see you too @gjones15 :D

Yes, colloquialisms! God, have you by any chance read the book Trainspotting? It's what comes to mind as sort of the quintessential example of a difficult "colloquially-written" text; or, "A Clockwork Orange--* similar idea; though, by the end of the former, it had became a good bit easier to follow; and a neat way to get the reader "immersed" in the characters and their situation...

Yeah.. it's surprisingly tricky to pull it off on the page, is what I noticed writing the above. Not to overemphasize the idiosyncrasies of speech patterns to the point of parody, but to incorporate them enough to make the voice recognizable. One of those things I think maybe writers often make look easier than it is!

How exciting to have our very own house and I think this will bond us even more. We couldn't be in better hands with our gracious hosts. Thank you all for your time and for putting this together for all of us, and the chance to win prizes is the cherry on top. My thought is that freewriting and Steem Basic Income go hand in hand. Both brings us together and both gives us support; which in turn helps us individually and the freewrite community to grow and prosper, on so many different levels. Singing...
Our Freewrite House is a very, very, very fine house,
Just open up the door, and your happiness will soar,
You will never be alone, in this fun and giving home,
Our Freewrite House is a very, very, very fine house!

27 @whatisnew

You are entered into the drawing. I love this song!!! And we need to get @simgirl here - there is talk about freewrite and songs and music. Just saying. Who knows what might be revealed in the next few weeks 😧 🤫

Your are not going to believe this...27 is my lucky number! There already is music to "my song." Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young wrote the music to their own rendition, but I am all for a different tune! : ) Thanks for the hint, it sounds like so much fun! : )

I love their version. And we could use it. Or????

Or...whatever else you have in mind. Go for it! : )

If I remember correctly, @freedomtowrite first introduced me to @mariannewest 's 5-minute freewrites . This has been a great exercise for me, and I've begun to get acquainted with some wonderful Steemians because of it. Some of these folks have invented @freewritehouse, and my interest is once again awakened. I'm not sure just what will show up in this kind of house, but as long as I don't have to clean it, I'd like to find out what's inside!

23 @scribblingramma

You are in the raffle. And welcome the the Freewrite House. No cleaning required. Ever!! We just burn it to the ground if it gets too dirty and pop up a new one lol. And ask @brisby what to do with dirty dishes - we use them as target practice. 😉

Y'know, I've always wanted to throw a plate at a tree and watch it break.

I'm so happy you have enjoyed it!

I still wonder what you have planned for us! Anyway I'm excited since I know all you plotters are dedicated to the freewriter community, and I have a chance to get basic income by being part of it? Even better!

What's inside the house? Tell me! No take your time, I'm just filling the words at this point. Well, should be 50 by now.

7 @celestal

Well, one thing we planned for you is to win a chance for a steembasicincome membership. That is a pretty nice thing to have.
And stay tuned. With time, we have all kind of fun things planed :)

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #49. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

12 @moneyinfant

Thank you for doing this! You have been entered in the drawing because of all the support you have given us. Thank you!!!

Wow! That's so unexpected and generous of you. I'm just doing my bit to help promote writers initiatives here on Steemit. Thank you so much.

Nooooo! I have been beaten to this by @moneyinfant again (⋟﹏⋞)

I think it is time for me to come up with a writing contest of my own... (¬‿¬)

I'm looking forward to it, and yeah it IS about time LOL!

I write upside down, in the pool, sometimes in moving vehicles on the roof, rain or snow it don't matter I will build an igloo, dime for a dozen, pens and paper, get to work, #freewrite like hot coco early in the a.m. This post is like the ghost of a free membership, sailing away.

5 @nathanthewise

Your upside down writing ensured you an entry into the drawing. And remember - come back every day for another chance to win!

so judging by this post It seems like something I would seem very interested in.normally when I hear freewrite house I usually think of some reallity show with a bunch of writers.kind of like if jersey shore was a writing competition.And now I have the mental image of William Shakespear smacking Enid Blyton.anyway i really hope you like my comment and i also hope i win a membership.

24 @redeyedcyborg

You are entered in the drawing. If you don't win today - there will be many more chances in the next days and weeks. And I love

I have the mental image of William Shakespear smacking Enid Blyton

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17