Sort:  

Hi Fred. It really worked for us. It's been 17 months that we have it and the other day we were commenting that "isn't it amazing that everything looks exactly the same?" lol. No leakage or walls going down. I'd say that the biggest benefit is the amount of time saved during the construction. We hired an engineering company to do it and the container arrived at our land exactly 45 days after signing the contract. A regular construction would easily take 8 months. Another good thing is that we didn't have to deal with the whole construction process. Workers, materials... And we live in São Paulo, which is 3 hours away from our land in the mountains, so that would have been stressing. One more thing: almost zero trash - and you're recycling a used shipping container. Now the money talk: the engineering company did it all and even bought and installed the floor, toilet, sink, shower and outside deck. It was ready to use. We spent around R$ 48.000,00 of Brazilian money which is worth around US$ 15.000,00. I'd say it would cost more in the US because our money values less. But it's something very affordable here considering we now own a house. Sorry for the big reply! Are you considering building yours?

Hi Thanks for reply. My son was looking at it. But fairly expensive here in Australia and laws make it difficult.
In the USA I think the containers are cheaper as china can make a new one cheaper than shipping back an old one. which is sad for recycling & enviro stuff.
I think they are a great idea & will catch on more in future as the cost of 'normal' construction gets expensive.
Ok now I'll go look up Sao paulo on google earth. I love steemit for the geography lessons I get!

Did you find São Paulo? Sad to hear it's expensive in Australia. Where you from? I have a friend from Camberra but living in Sidney now. Here in Brazil the shipping container construction are catching on. We already have houses, bars and even a hostel made out of containers: http://tetrishostel.com.br/

Yes I found it. Ca(N)berra and S(y)dney are both in New South Wales on the east coast. I'm hopeful it will catch on here also. Thanks for link. I'm sure the world can help the homeless using this sort of construction. It looks amazing.

Ops! Thanks for correcting my spelling.

I visited some precincts in Canberra created from shipping containers: http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/westside-container-villages-new-home-20170607-gwmhj3.html

I think there is interest in the tinyhouse movement in Australia because of the inflated housing prices.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64