The hello post! Journalist, traveler and shipping container home owner

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Hi everyone! I’m excited to learn more about Steemit and also share ideas and learn from the community. I’m a Brazilian journalist who have been working at an inflight magazine for the past 5 years and a half – which means I have certain topics I usually write about like tourism, business and entertainment. And which means I have many others I would like to explore more like tech, nature, inclusion & diversity and well-being.

TableMountainSouthAfrica.png

On top of the Table Mountain in Cape Town, South Africa. I spent a few days there in 2015 to write a tourism article about the city 

Traditional media x Steemit


The future of media and communication is something that really gets my attention, since I watch from very close all the publisher’s shut downs and layoffs here in Brazil. What to do and where to go just seem questions too hard to answer to most of the professionals.

A couple years ago I thought the answer was to all communication groups get together under one company and charge a subscription like Netflix or Spotify did with entertainment and music, for example. But I guess none of them wants to share profit.

That’s why I’m here at Steemit after literally just hearing about it. There’s no Netflix or Spotify model for media – just because we can’t use a past model to try to foresee the future. A “blockchain media room” that welcomes everyone – even the big communication group, if they want so – sounds like a better idea.

#introducemyself


hellosteemit.jpg

The awkward photo, ha 

But now let’s shift to the “me talk”: I was born in Brussels (Belgium) and raised in Florianópolis (Brazil), so English is not my native speaking language. I did a few exchange programs throughout my life: high school in a little-little town in Kansas (US), bartending in Big Bear Lake (also US) and a semester of college in Mexico City.

Mexico.JPG

Good times having real margaritas and burritos in Mexico City (January, 2007)  

I have been living in São Paulo for the past 10 years. I moved here to study Creative Writing of Nonfiction and have never gone back – even though my Brazilian home town is a beautiful island. São Paulo is known as the city of job opportunities. And it actually is.

Traveling is part of my routine whether for work (here lies the beauty of editing an inflight magazine) or vacation. I also go often to the mountains, where by boyfriend and I own a land and a tiny container home. It is located on the rural area of a small town with 7k inhabitants. Over the past few years we have grown organic food and sold it here in São Paulo as a hobby, but we have stopped doing this due to logistic issues.

SitioDelfimMoreira.png

Friends during this past Carnival on our land 

ContainerDelfim.png

Getting the shipping container home on its place (May, 2016) 

My last work trip was to Washington D.C. and I wrote a story on an itinerary going through the Civil Rights monuments. The US capital is a nice place to explore, but the people and places behind the racial segregation conflict are what makes it different from any other city.

Washington2.png

One of the best museums I’ve been: National Museum of African American History and Culture, opened on September 2016 

Washington.png

One of the corridors from the National Museum of African American History and Culture #go  

See you all around!

Sort:  

Welcome! Have fun!

Hey @camgogo ! Welcome to steemit community! Blockchain is definitely the future of many things, including media,so you're in a right place to start with! We hope you're going to enjoy it, so good luck and keep growing! @extremeromance

Hey! Every time I read more about blockchain I'm sure it's gonna change everything we know now and the way we do things. Thanks for the welcoming! Love your travel posts! My sister just got back from Japan and since then I sooo wanna go!

You definitely should visit Japan. It's one of kind and is totally worth a visit. We will definitely go there again.

Welcome to steemit. Feel free to follow me and I will follow you as well!!

Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit, I'm looking forward to read about all your trips around the world, experiences and opinions.
Good luck here, you'll find that people are pretty friendly here.

Mary.

Hi Mary! I'll definitely be posting some stories and pictures from the places I travel. I just saw you and you're boyfriend are from Venezuela. I've been watching your recent politics news. Thanks for the welcome and good luck to you too!

Nice first post & interesting bio. Thanks
I've wondered about containers, do you find it really works?
All said & done was it really 'cheaper' to build / do than normal construction?

Hi Fred. It really worked for us. It's been 17 months that we have it and the other day we were commenting that "isn't it amazing that everything looks exactly the same?" lol. No leakage or walls going down. I'd say that the biggest benefit is the amount of time saved during the construction. We hired an engineering company to do it and the container arrived at our land exactly 45 days after signing the contract. A regular construction would easily take 8 months. Another good thing is that we didn't have to deal with the whole construction process. Workers, materials... And we live in São Paulo, which is 3 hours away from our land in the mountains, so that would have been stressing. One more thing: almost zero trash - and you're recycling a used shipping container. Now the money talk: the engineering company did it all and even bought and installed the floor, toilet, sink, shower and outside deck. It was ready to use. We spent around R$ 48.000,00 of Brazilian money which is worth around US$ 15.000,00. I'd say it would cost more in the US because our money values less. But it's something very affordable here considering we now own a house. Sorry for the big reply! Are you considering building yours?

Hi Thanks for reply. My son was looking at it. But fairly expensive here in Australia and laws make it difficult.
In the USA I think the containers are cheaper as china can make a new one cheaper than shipping back an old one. which is sad for recycling & enviro stuff.
I think they are a great idea & will catch on more in future as the cost of 'normal' construction gets expensive.
Ok now I'll go look up Sao paulo on google earth. I love steemit for the geography lessons I get!

Did you find São Paulo? Sad to hear it's expensive in Australia. Where you from? I have a friend from Camberra but living in Sidney now. Here in Brazil the shipping container construction are catching on. We already have houses, bars and even a hostel made out of containers: http://tetrishostel.com.br/

Yes I found it. Ca(N)berra and S(y)dney are both in New South Wales on the east coast. I'm hopeful it will catch on here also. Thanks for link. I'm sure the world can help the homeless using this sort of construction. It looks amazing.

Ops! Thanks for correcting my spelling.

I visited some precincts in Canberra created from shipping containers: http://www.canberratimes.com.au/act-news/westside-container-villages-new-home-20170607-gwmhj3.html

I think there is interest in the tinyhouse movement in Australia because of the inflated housing prices.

Congratulations @camgogo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice to meet you! :)

Same here!

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @camgogo
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Hello! Thank you.

@camgogo hello let welcome you on board steemit is a great experience hope you enjoy it, found this site by steemfollower that helps people get followers fast , hope it helps you add more followers
go to this link
https://steemfollower.com/?r=4552
and click on "exchange" on the drop down menu click on "follow exchange"

Welcome to steemit. I'm new here as well. Thank you for letting us get to know you a little better :)!

Hi there! You take some beautiful pictures. Congrats!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71