Passion and Creativity Empowered Through Steemit!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)
...Steemit empowers the human in humanity, tech like this creates a lot of hope for a market that serves the individual and honors you and I and our authenticity rather than big business and mass production...

          Hey all! I'm Blind Joe and I'm new here. I've come because I hear this is a place where cultural creators can find their niche, so I'm givin it a whirl. I've got a lot share. I'm an uncle, an artist of many disciplines, and a chemistry initiate. Here's a little of what you can expect from me.

          My biggest passions in life have always been associated with philosophy and the magical moments I've had alone with my books (lol). I love to think and investigate and I practice yoga as an active embodiment of my inner experience. I enjoy digging deeper for meaning in life and finding new ways to expand my horizons, to explore awareness, and to stir wonder and awe in my being. It's a very weird world that we live in and I enjoy writing about it, especially when it comes to consciousness and society. I also love exploring other cultures, belief systems, and alternative lifestyles and I'll be sharing some interesting experiences I've had taking these routes. 

          Music probably fills half of my day. I'm a self taught drummer and that's my main gig besides school, but I also like to play a little piano and guitar. I became a bit of a singer after puberty was through with me and that has become a recent but passionate love of mine. When it comes to the music I play you'll mostly see me jamming to alternative metal and post-hardcore rock like Fugazi. It's a huge outlet for me so my music ends up being pretty damn wild. This is my setup and my favorite room in the house.

           I love to draw and paint and I spend a lot of time at my desk. I turn on some John Fahey for ambiance, sip a little green tea, vape some cannabis, ingest some organic material, and create. I've always had a knack for creative and detailed work. That seems to be my gift in life so far. Here's where I paint, draw, and shoot my timelapse videos.

          I'm studying chemistry at school because I fucking love science. I also like the idea of me being able to rely on myself to figure things out and not on some kind of authority. I enjoy clean air and hopefully I'll be able to do something about our rising CO2 levels. That seems to be the problem of the century. I plan to build a carbon dioxide filter for my parents house for my next semester project and I can't wait to share it with everyone! I know it sounds crazy to try and save the world, but I know at the very least I can create low CO2 levels in my own environment which will have a direct and positive impact on my health and cognitive function. Also, I think just working on the problem is a good start because it gets people thinking and talking. So far some house plants and an essential oil diffuser are the best I've got.

          Nutrition is a big part of my life. I eat an organic plant based diet with some poultry or fish when I start to feel meek. I like to write about nutrition and plant medicine because I think it's amazing how our environment has furnished us with so many natural remedies that even come with healthy side effects! Food is definitely my medicine, and I love exploring all kinds of it. When the rainy season comes around I'll be documenting my mushroom hunting expeditions. I think mycology is interesting but I generally enjoy taxonomy and just learning about nature. I'm also a bit of a fitness nerd. I'm working towards my yoga teacher certification because yoga has had a huge impact on my life and I'd love to teach it to others. I also love swimming and sitting in the steam room and I go nearly every day. It's a great way to help my lungs handle this dirty city air and it makes mine and my girlfriends skin look flawless. As do black and white filters.

          My biggest sources of inspiration in life are my nephews and nieces. I can see how everything I do influences them and how I'm constantly having an impact on them. I'm determined to set a positive example and to give them somebody to look up to. Life is hard, but one thing that has given my life meaning is knowing that all this seemingly pointless suffering I have to go through I will conquer, and learn to cope with, and I can share these coping mechanisms with my loved ones. My nephews and nieces are going to face a lot of the same struggles as me in life and that gives me a reason to fight and it gives my struggle meaning. Just look at these cool cats.

          I think it's quite an amazing thing here that Steemit is doing, this is the way capitalism ought to function. Steemit empowers the human in humanity and tech like this provides a lot of hope for a market that serves the individual. One that honors you and I and our authenticity instead of big business and mass production. Thank you Steemit and thank you fellow creators! Keep fighting the good fight!

Sort:  

Welcome! I noticed we have common interests and will be following you. I'm very interested in food as medicine, nutrition, and wellness to name a few. #fullsteemahead

Thank you for the warm welcome :) I like your art I'm excited to see more of your stuff!

Yay! Thanks :)

Hi@ fractalobserver youre welcome, Ihope you enyou it here and has a good time ;)

Hi@ johann!

Welcome, I hope you enjoy this platform, thumbs up.

Thanks mark!

Great intro post @fractalobserver! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @eceninzz sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Thank you so much! I'll check it out now

Great introduce yourself post really wel done and that other time lapse drawing is gold.

Thank you so much! I've been producing more articles than works of art but I'm back on the boat now and there will be some new ones soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58400.82
ETH 2567.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38