You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Whoa there, wanderer! Please allow a lowly vagabond, such as myself, a word of introduction...

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I brew mead too, and I do not filter out the herbs and spices I put into the bottle to start the process. Have you ever run across a mead recipe that included herbs? It's worth asking just in case you have, for I know mead was used for medicinal purpose in ancient times. I'm always on the look out for ancient recipes to try too!

The recipe my wife loves the most includes hibiscus flower as just one example.

I had it on my list today to research herbs for hearing loss due to nerve damage. Perhaps you have a suggestion in that regard?

Sort:  

Hi @finnian,
I like to think of mead as an opportunity to create a tincture. This is because the mead, just as with any other alcohol-based preparation, will extract more of the active medicinal components than a simple water-based preparation. This being the case, any herbs which are commonly prepared in tincture form can also be prepared as a mead. You'll have to tinker to get the proper flavor balance, but Siberian Ginseng (Eleuthrococcus, 五加皮) might be a good place to start. You might also try Goji Berries (枸杞子) or Shu Di Huang (熟地黃), as these would potentiate the ferment itself. In a forthcoming post (this coming week), I'll add a classical recipe for an alcoholic beverage made from a combination of the two.

In any case, I recommend you try a tea (decoction in water) of any herb before you take the time to prepare it as a mead. No point in putting the time in if you don't like the flavor ;)

Awesome, thanks and for that wonderful reply I'll give you a 100% upvote!

Chinese herbs for hearing loss typically involve formulas which address the underlying pattern rather than the specific condition. This being so, it's a bit hard to recommend one herb or another without knowing more about your particular case.

It is not my intention to use steemit as a sales platform. Nonetheless, I can prescribe and ship herbs (in the lower 48, USA) if you'd like to consult on a more formal basis. If you would, please follow the link to my website for contact info.

In any case, for generalized nerve damage, one of the best herbs is Ashitaba. It can be a bit expensive, so I suggest growing it yourself with seeds from https://strictlymedicinalseeds.com/?specific=jrennrf0
(I have no affiliation with this company other than as a satisfied customer.) Lion's Mane Mushroom is also helpful in this regard.

Cheers!

Anthrax shots destroyed half my hearing. Half the normal hearing range is 90% destroyed. :( That's yet another quality and informative reply. Thank you!

Hi @finnian,
I've poked around a bit, but haven't been able to dig up the mechanism of toxicity for Biothrax. This being the case, I'm unable to recommend particular herbs. Nonetheless, it may be worth trying acupuncture - especially if you experience any tinnitus.
Best,
Tianji

I have constant high pitched ringing. Crickets for example cannot be heard at all. That's the sound I hear all the time. :(

Hi @finnian,
I know this must be frustrating; even so, it is a sign that acupuncture treatment may help recover some of your hearing. At the very least, a competent acupuncturist will be able to significantly reduce the ear ringing.
Good luck!
-Tianji

Thanks! I will definitely check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99