Introduction to Ero Offende

avitar2.png

Please

At this day in age, it seems that everything is offensive. Having an opinion is offensive, not having an opinion is offensive, holding the same opinion is offensive, and on it goes.

Offend - To cause displeasure, anger, resentment, or wounded feelings in.

While this is not the only definition for offend, it is the definition I mean to use.

In my everyday life, I find it hard to hold conversation, comment on subjects, or even engage in small talk if its outside a circle of close knit family and friends.
I won't lie, I am a frequent Facebook user. I use the word frequent loosely. I scroll from post to post to post, but I rarely actually post or comment myself. Many times I see something I would like to comment on and then I refrain. Not that I really think Facebook is a good place anyhow.

Why, you may (but probably didn't) ask?
To avoid an argument, for one. Because every conversation now seems to be a fight to the death. Its not an exchange of ideas or theories. It may likely end with your body in a dumpster rather than a good ol' touche.
For two, even if you do start up a conversation, its like no one can keep a story straight or remember what they were standing for in the first place.
Third and finally, fear of being wrong. I know that sounds stupid, but its really that simple.

I'm sure that within this introductory post I will offend someone. Being offended is the new everything - the new black, the new orange, the new popular, the new nerd, the new rich. "I'm Offended" seems to be what people, at least my generation (millennial) with some overlap in both directions, stand for. I think that is a problem.

Ero offende - very broken Latin for "I offend". Why did I choose Latin? Probably because it makes me seem more sophisticated. Because using Latin seemed cool. Because it made it feel more important. And also because... nope that's really it.

Well, its time to step away from all that and join in on all the fun. I will be wrong. I will be offensive. When I am wrong, I'll readjust and try to be right next time. If I'm offensive, meh.... stop being so sensitive and giving me something other than "I'm offended" or "that's offensive" to change my mind.

Sort:  

Interesting post.

I agree that this "being offended" nonsense is often taken too far.

Whether it's a bankster saying that the accusations against him are "offensive" (albeit TRUE), or whether it's some sanctimonious prick who claims to never be offended (and therefore that s/he is superior to us), it's mostly nonsense.

Often the "offensive" card is played when one is losing an argument badly, has nothing more to bring up, can no longer defend his position, and is being exposed as being an utter fool.

The reply "That's offensive" is the only option left.

Best of luck on this platform.

(JK means just kidding) "I'm Offended"....... JK man. I hope you're not offended that I called you man considering I don't know what sex you are LOL! JK. I loved your post it has some good points. This is exactly how I feel every time I engage in conversation with someone new. I hope to see more
from you thank you.

welcome to steemit

Thank you.

Congratulations @erooffende, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?


Welcome to Steemit @erooffende!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43