You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Introduceyourself: Hi I'm Chris. How I turned my life around ... and how you can too!

Hi Chris, welcome to Steemit! I somehow stumbled upon your post (great post btw) and saw that you mentioned about giving support to people who have lost their loved ones; I’d love to chat with you on that.

Again, great post! Enjoy your time on Steemit!

Sort:  

Hi Eric, thanks for your comment! If you ask me the most important aspect for people having lost someone is finding real life people whom you trust and with whom you can speak openly and also feel ok sharing your emotions. And then, it is important to know that this situation ( and other unusual problems such as sleeping problems, depressive feelings etc.) are here to stay for some weeks and least. If they are here for a longer time, it is of utmost importance to search for a local professional that can help!
CU,
Chris aka smallstepschange

Thanks for the input Chris, yup I’ve been losing sleep for almost 2 years now. I do have a significant other and a group of friends whom are like family to me, but I still get overwhelming flashbacks from time to time. Not a very pleasant feeling 😣

Hi Eric, I am really happy to hear that you have a significant other and friends that are like family! This is so important! Have you had the possibility to talk openly withthem about your flashbacks? Two years are quite a long time, have you ever considered getting professional help. It is absolutely nothing to be ashamed of. When a loved person dies, this is a very serious and abrupt change of your life. It is totally comparable to a deep physcial wound. And if people have a physical wound, they would immediately go to a physician.
I can totally believe you that getting flahsbacks is not very pleasant at all! If you have the feeling that it limits and restricts your life and if you feel psychological strain, you should really think of letting others who are trained to do such things (e.g. psychologists) help you.
Would love to hear your opinion on this. And thanks for being that open! It is highly appreciated.
CU,
Chris

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56