Is This What My First Steemit Post Should Be About?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

A few days ago, my colleague (@robertpaul) introduced me to Steemit. I learned that it is a blockchain-based social media platform where anyone can earn rewards by posting, commenting, and curating content. After reading a couple of “inspiring” stories about it, I wanted to dive right in and start posting and earning!

I could have posted my very first Steemit entry after signing up, it’s just that I’m a master procrastinator — and I suck at writing. Well, at least for now... -evil grin- There’s always a room for improvement, right?

E92C621D-2DF1-4D7A-A83D-06AD94071F67.jpeg

Who am I?

Let me introduce myself. Hey, I’m Nico. I was made in the Philippines and raised to survive the Manila heat. I’m a licensed electronics engineer and a newbie in the IT field particularly focusing on cloud services. Coffee is like 75% of my bloodstream. I enjoy traveling and -ehem- learning. Yes, I love learning and I love knowledge. It can also help you get rid of your ignorance. Having said that, I only heard (and got curious) about Bitcoin this year — making me a total ignorant in the cryptocurrency department. But hey, I am here to learn and be friends with you. Let’s bring out the best in each other.

So...

Did I come to Steemit to post about news, technology, food, or travel? — Definitely! Just a heads up that my posts will mostly be visual. I guess? Hehehe.

Did I come to Steemit to post about investing or cryptocurrencies? — I hope so! One of my goals is to use Steemit as a learning tool. We gotta make the most of the skills and resources we have, right? Right! :)

Is this what my first Steemit post should be about? — Hell yeah!

If you liked this introduction post, please upvote and resteem. Let me know in the comments what you think and feel free to welcome me. LOL

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @epicdominic! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome Nico ;)
Great to see another young face join steemit! And I already like your motto:

Let’s bring out the best in each other.

To help you out a little, I resteemed you via @welcoming, a page where I share promising newcomers - Check it out who joined too!
Greets

Yay! Thank you!!! :)

How can I also use @welcoming feature?

Thanks

Excellent intro post @epicdominic! If you practice here on Steemit, your writing skills will improve in no time. The procrastination thing, I don't know how to help with that. You are just going to have to buckle down.
I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your post thanks to a link from @khaleck in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and Resteemed your intro! Be sure to check out my contest that I linked, there are several useful posts for new Steemians linked at the bottom.

Hey Nico, welcome to steemit. Have a good day :)

Welcome to steemit @ epicdominic enjoy sharing your stories here :D

LOVE
@micch

Thanks! Pinoy ka? Follow back pls. Hehe.

yes pinoy ako, sure no problem:)

welcome kabayan!!! you are too humble! ang galing mong mag blog!

Di naman po. Haha. Followed you btw. :)

Welome to #steemit @epicdominc :)
I really like your #introducyourself !! Keep up the great work :)

Welcome to steemit, @epicdominic!

My profile is @flashfiction and i would like to present you some links i found really useful when i first signed up here. They will make you start with the right foot on Steemit!

These links will all open on the SAME TAB (Yeah, i know...), so i recommend opening them with "right click->open in a new tab".

LinkCheckDescription
Growing FastTopYou HAVE to register here, if you want to build an audience FAST. It's a free service for boosting exposure, upvotes and followers. You just have to click on "login". Have your key at hand (That awfully long number you got when you signed up on Steemit). The tutorials are easy to follow.
All about steem coinsTopThere are three coins of use on Steemit, and understanding them is critical for your success. This is a short explaining video, the very best i've found.
MarkdownTopEven if you can use some basic HTML on your posts, the correct way to format them is NOT HTML. You use a marking ruleset called, yeah, "Markdown". Have this as a complete reference.
PostingMediumThe top activities on this site are posting, upvoting and commenting. This is an excellent tutorial about making your posts look great. Don't miss it!
UpvotingMediumYeah, you tought upvoting was just a matter of machine-gunning your clicks and make easy bucks. Nah. It is actually a little more complicated than that. All you need to know is here.
Better interfaceMediumLet's face it: The interface on Steemit is pretty basic. "Busy" is an alternate interface you can use, more polished and easy to navigate. Both of them can be used simultaneously. Again, you just have to login.
Using BotsMediumThere are a lot of things to learn about this platform, and understanding bots is one of the most important. They are little different services you can access for a fee. I found this tutorial extremely useful.
Trevon JamesMediumI know, i know... there are lots and lots of GREAT steemians here for picking one to recommend, but i just love Trevon's style. He explains EVERYTHING you need to know about Steemit (and crypto) in a funny, accesible way. Check him out.
@flashfictionAwesomeWell, duh. My profile! ;) I write short fiction and tutorials on creative writing. I would be honored if you'd follow me.

Anything i cand help you with, i'm at your service!

See you around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01