Introducing myself - EPan35, a connoisseur of alternative investing, travel, and food

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

What Up STEEMIANs! My name is Evan Pan, and I’m from Southern California, from the area known as the San Gabriel Valley (or the “SGV”) as we locals like to call it. Although not born in the US or even raised here (I grew up in Sydney, Australia), but after 30 years of calling this home, I guess I’m a true Californian.

Barcelona.jpg

A little about myself, I’m an investment professional with +20 years of investing experience across multiple asset classes, including but not limited to equities, bonds, and alternatives. I have to admit, graduating from college, I never thought that I would end up in the finance industry but God has a weird way of making things come together. I’m married with two kids, and I currently work as the Chief Investment Officer, overseeing all investments for a non-profit foundation. Outside of work, I do some volunteer stuff for a large non-profit, early education (Head Start, ages 0-4) for low income families a big passion of mine. I also enjoy basketball (mostly playing), snowboarding, working out, hanging with Jesus, checking out new foodie spots and get my grub-on, and lastly looking at investments.
Basketball1.jpgSnowboard1.jpg
Family2.jpg
Yes, investments. One of my big hobbies is looking for ways to generate profits/make money - who doesn't want to retire early? And if I was in retirement, I would still be doing this. I really enjoy the various facets of generating returns and the myriad of approaches; trading, quantitative algo (algorithms), hedge funds, long-short equities, event driven activists, private credit, mezzanine, bridge financing, direct lending, private equity, venture, buyout, distressed, real estate (direct and private), commodities…and last but not least (and newest) Bitcoin/crypto. I have to admit that I’m the connoisseur of all alternative investments. I think what I really enjoy the most is learning. Hey, as they say, once you stop learning…. You’re an idiot. No one really ever knows everything and shouldn’t think that they do; there is always someone smarter. So I try to approach things with humility and humbleness….and a hunger to learn. Granted not everyone has the time, so you have to be selective with what you’re willing to spend your time on.

Although, not an active blog follower or FB poster, I’m definitely captivated by this cryptocurrency phenomena. I hope to learn more from all of you STEEMIANS….and most importantly, be part of the community.

If anyone is every curious about sharing their investment ideas, I’m always interested in hearing it….I might not agree but I’ll definitely listen/read.

“Investment success doesn’t come from “buying good things,” but rather from “buying things well”
– Howard Marks.

Sort:  

Nice to meet you!

Thank you!

Nice to have you, I hear we have a friend in common.

Thanks @bigram13. Yes, looks like we do. B is such a good guy. He’s the one who intro me to STEEM. Owe him one (and more).

Welcome to the platform! If you are looking for an investment, I think you got here at the perfect time. It's also great to have another family man on here. I hope when you aren't busy making money you share some stories.

Its because of the warm welcome from reputed community guys like you @hanshotfirst that we new comers learn and thrive. Keep up the good work.

Yes, welcome to steemit

Thank you!

Thanks! I just saw your old posts...hilarious. I’m a big Waynes World fan...and all that old stool SNL (up to Will Ferrell years...who i think is the best.) I’ll definitely try and share some stories. Likewise to you as well.

Nice introduction..... welcome to Steemit

Welcome here and hope we can inspire each other and get retired earlier😂

Welcome to Steemit Evan! Good luck!

Hi @epan35, welcome to steemit, best regards ...
Hopefully you feel at home here, and regards to know and respect from me @burmawitri88
Glad to know you here

Welcome to Steemit. I lived in SO CAL once.
Based on you intro, I believe you will do well here... that is if you can find the time. Welcome aboard the Steem train - there's no stopping it!

Welcome to steemit @espan35

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

Thanks Frank...Will do!

Selamat bergabung di steemit kawan, semoga di steemit ini kita bisa saling mendukung, salam dari saya @iqbal-pase, berasal dari lhokseumawe, Aceh. Saya juga pemula disini, mohon dukunganya di postingan pertama saya nanti #introduceyourself. Semoga sukses kawan semua

English
Congratulations to join in steemit friend, hopefully in this steemit we can support each other, greetings from me @iqbal-pase, coming from lhokseumawe, Aceh. I am also a beginner here, please support it in my first post #introduceyourself. Good luck to all friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63