Anyone Else Tired of "how i made a billion-zillion dollars on Steemit" posts

Seriously!? Internet, you can do better....

I have been here for a very short time, and this place is already kind of getting the feel of "Tumblr for Anarchists" to me. Don't get me wrong here. I love the idea of this place, with its anarchist, well written articles, incentives that make sense, its a digital paradise for those of us who love writing and pontification from on high. Now, look at those articles that get the most votes (also those articles people are most like to copy). They are mostly about how to make money here, how Steem is so great, or how to be successful.

I don't want this place to fail.

I know everyone always says write what you love, content is king, and every other cliche topic on blogging you can think of. But in reality, we need to do a better job of bringing better content AND readers here. (I am completely aware of the irony in that statement, BTW). I'm not a professional writer, and I probably won't write to many articles here. That's just it, with titles like: After 12 hours I made more than most people in the world make in a year with one post, are we really bringing in the kind of people that we want. This wreaks of grifter, late night 90's television VHS selling, real estate "make millions over night" programs. Stop with these post, I ask kindly and sincerely. This also goes for title such as:

  • Want to be a Steem gigagillionaire?
  • Why Steemit is so AWESOME, and how you can make money with it
  • Steem is better than other things like Bitcoin, water, or your first born

I'm not jealous, like I said I don't plan on writing too many articles. I'm no professional, nor do I have any significant amount of time I can dedicate to writing articles I would consider worth reading. I want this site to succeed, and in order to do that we need to do a better job of reward articles that don't stroke our egos, but rather are actually of value.

Stop with the Greed-Wave

Stop bringing in greedy, get rich scheme chasing, lazy people. If you want to continue to make your billions on Steem, stop tarnishing your personal brand with this crap and start writing value driven articles.


To the rest of you who are already doing this, thanks! That's why I came here in the first place, you are the reason this place will make it big.

Sort:  

My plan is to write content that others may find valuable - informational or entertaining - and to use any revenues to help fund my business venture that actually helps small farmers in Latin America. I want to use Steemit to actually create good content and make real-world investments in people. But I don't have 900 followers yet, so I can't gloat about all of the whales that upvote my posts.

If you're interested in good content and good causes, follow me and see how you like it after a week or so. Here's my post on my plans for Steemit revenue:

https://steemit.com/anarchism/@ats-david/enriching-lives-through-the-power-of-steemit

That's what is popular now. I usually just skip over them and there usually isn't anything worthwhile in them.

I agree, this seems to be the trend. I see this as the result of one of two things. A) Ned and Dan decided they want to give a strong boost to their platform and have invited some celebrities to get things riled up or B) these celebrities see an opportunity to cash in and out quick.

Either way, I agree with soaringeagle, it is what is popular now and I hope that it evens out soon. I admit I follow a couple of the bigger celebs because I enjoy seeing what type of propaganda they are peddling and I may even upvote it in the hope I can ride some coattails. But, I save my 20 votes a day usually for good strong posts from people I know are awesome content writers and then a few posts from folks I don't know, but their content looks promising.

I figure spread the wealth and try to build this platform, despite the current waves being thrown by the big whales dropping in.

Congratulations @entrappt! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @entrappt! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @entrappt! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35