And Here Comes Yet Another Introduction Post

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Oh, boy. Here we finally are at the introduction post I always dread writing. The thing I put off for as long as I possibly can. The frightening monster that creeps into my dreams so it can come and haunt me at night. Okay, that last one is obviously an exaggeration, but you get my point.

I should be good at this by now - this isn’t my first time with a blog, after all. However, no matter how many times I need to write something about myself, I always seem to draw a complete blank. The cursor blinking happily over a white, empty simulated page mocks me as somehow, and without any kind of warning, I seem to forget everything I used to know about myself.

But this isn’t a problem unique to me, and if other people can come up with something to write about themselves, then so can I.

So if you’re somehow still reading this, here we go...

The first and most important thing anyone should know about me is that I’m a writer, or so I like to tell myself. It’s the reason why I’m so attached to hyperbole and metaphors. But while I absolutely love creating stories, I also enjoy consuming them. What kind, you may ask? This is a bit of a non-answer, I know, but all of them. Books and comics? I read ‘em. Movies, I watch ‘em. Video games? You can bet your boots that I play ‘em. If the story is good, or it’s entertaining in some way at least, then I’ll happily dedicate a good chunk of my existence to it regardless of genre or medium. That’s not to say I don’t have my ultimate favorites, because I do, but we don’t have all the time in the world to talk about that...

Which brings us on to the next part of this short About Me post: I’m far more obsessed with fiction than I probably should be, and that means I have a lot to say about the media I consume.

But let’s rein it in a bit before I spend this entire post talking about my love of fiction.

Unfortunately, squeezing all the different parts of myself into a neat little 500 words post is far more difficult than High School me would ever have imagined. Let’s end this then by mentioning a few more random things about me that probably don’t matter: I love travelling, learning different languages – why rant in only one language when you can do it in many more? – and I would spend my life backpacking around the world if not for the fact that I love my very comfortable bed, need reliable Wi-Fi, and I really, really like my house.

So yes, this is me. At the end of the day, I’m just a girl who has far too much to say about the things she loves.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @elirian!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome! I'm the same exact way, I love a good story. That's one of the main reasons I watch tv series over movies. I think movies can have a good story but most of the time I find it hard for 1.5 -2 hours to portray enough to really captivate you!

You said you like story based video games, are there any you can recommend? I'm a huge gamer myself and i'm currently playing Kingdom Come Deliveance. It's like skyrim (in some rpg character building ways) but it's completely story based instead. I highly recommend it if you're into the medieval era stuff and a good story. It's pretty buggy but it's still getting pretty good reviews based on it's historical realism and story.

What languages do you know? I'm a language major and studied Chinese language literature and culture. I absolutely love languages, I'm thinking of trying to learn japanese or korean next!

Anways, I'v followed you. Seems like we have a lot in common, can't wait to see what else you might post about in the future.

Hi there! Thank you for the follow; I've returned the favor. You had me when you mentioned Kingdom Come Deliverance and the fact that you studied Chinese, because so did I. I'm incredibly rusty, though. It's true when they say that you lose it if you don't use it.

As for games, I'd first have to know what you've played and haven't since I might end up recommending what you've already played. Like the Witcher 3, for example. A game anyone should play, because the story is amazing, but chances are you already have since it's so popular.

The bugs are exactly the reason I'm waiting until I buy KCD. I've read some crazy stories about the bugs, and I've watched some gameplay videos where really funny things happen. All in all, it looks good and I am looking forward to playing it myself.

I still have no idea what I'll post about since I kind of tumbled in headfirst. It doesn't help that Steemit is a little different than other blogging platforms, so I'm still trying to find my bearings. But here's to hoping I'll get the hang of it soon enough.

The Witcher series is great! I need to get back to my Witcher 3 save. I'm still in the early areas of the game. Don't worry to much about what to post, just keep it about what you enjoy and people will see your passion and follow. I'm new to steemit as well, so you're not alone. We can help each other and keep moving forward.

Yeah I'm definitely not going to worry too much about what would be "popular". That being said, I still want posts to come naturally to me. I see you're based in China? That's amazing; I've always wanted to go there. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39