Spina Bifida... my diagnosis, not who I am.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

When I see my daughter smile, it is this passage in scripture I recall, as it has and continues to radiate with light: "Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance." James 1:2-3

Elaina Joy Parks entered the world on March 14th, 2007. Weighing in at 7lbs and 4oz, she made a small 17-3/4" imprint on our hands, but the imprint she made on our hearts was huge, she forever changed our world.

Diagnosed at 20 weeks gestation with myelomeningocele the most severe form of spina bifida, while still nestled in the womb she was given a bleak outlook for what her life may become. In the 10 years since her birth she has stomped, quite literally, on the discouraging expectations of the medical professionals providing her prenatal care, growing up into a lovely young lady who lights up the lives of those she meets with her big smile and contagious joy.

I , Tarra, Elaina's mother care to share about her life, what it's like facing the challenges that come with spina bifida, and how we address those challenges, as a means to spread encouragement and awareness, providing a real and insightful look into her journey. Going back to the beginning, I recall that as the nurses were preparing to usher Elaina into the operating room at 15 hours old, through tears I draped my arms atop her incubator and prayed a little prayer that went something like this "Father, please guide the hands of the doctors performing this surgery, and may what they do be done to perfection, so she may never need surgery again". I took that prayer seriously then, and it proved providential in guiding our decision to divert from the standard-of-care method that the modern medical professionals desired to prescribe.

I welcome you to her life story as it continues to be written, and invite you to follow along as she continues to blossom into exactly who He has created her to be, which we know is a young lady with a hope filled future.

"For I know the plans I have for you,” declares YHVH, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future." Jeremiah 29:11

Sort:  

Providential and Prosperous

Keep Steem'N

Classy as always, worldclass! 100% upvote? Thank you for your generosity. You da man!

Welcome to Steemit! Thank you for being courageous enough to share such a personal part of your life with us. I think a lot of people will benefit from that :) Your faith is inspirational! I am definitely following and am excited to read more!

Thank you @shelbymonster, I'm happy to be here! I definitely appreciate your warm welcome and encouraging words! This is all new territory for me, but I hope to share in a way that continues to remain inspiring and that will raise awareness in several areas of life, benefiting people from many different walks. Again, I thank you! Blessings 💓

Great & inspirational... I key into your prayer and blessings to this wonderful child and wish her all the great things and blessings of this world...she will be a blessing to you & society...amen

Thank you @ironshield, couldn't have done it without you and @lturner helping me! Your Steemit experience proves invaluable for me, I'm grateful!! And thank you for your encouraging words about our sweet, joy-filled Elaina 😊

Wow, Now that's a life story ❤️

A warm welcome to the steemit world! @elainasjoy
Upvoted & followed you.

Happy STEEMIng

Welcome to the Steemit community. Thank you for sharing your amazing story. God Bless.

Thank you @cecicastor, I appreciate your kinds words and encouragement!!

welcome here @Elainasjoy :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

@khunpoom I've followed you back 🙂 Thank you for your kind words and warm welcome!

Very nice, thx ;)
Lets spread love and peace @davidconstantine :)

Thank you @davidconstantine! Sounds good to me!! ❤ & ✌🏼

Welcome to Steemit! It's good time to start create Steemit better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63897.91
ETH 3131.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87