Top 10 Reasons I Don't Belong on steemit.com

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

myTop10.png

Top 10 Reasons I Don't Belong on steemit.com

10, Thumbnails? For every post??? *sigh*
9, I don't have a list of other social media accounts.
8, I'd rather play Minecraft. (https://minecraft.net/en-us/download/)
7, Even my therapist thinks I'm "quirky".
6, I'm Catholic.
5, I write in html. Using gVim (https://gvim.en.softonic.com/).
4, I'm politically incorrect.
3, I'm not here to make my fortune.
2, I don't know anything about cryptocurrencies.

The Top Reason I Don't Belong on Steemit

1, I'm older than Google.

Come to think of it, I'm older than the web. I used to work for a guy who was working at CERN when they were developing http and html.

Top 10 Reasons I'm Here Anyway

10, Why not?
9, I don't have a list of other social media accounts.
8, "Life is not a game; it's a series of games."
7, My therapist also thinks I'm intriguing.
6, I'm Catholic.
5, I can become proficient at another derivative of SGML.(https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Standard_Generalized_Markup_Language)
4, I may have things to say that you haven't heard before.
3, I'm here because I'm curious.
2, I don't know anything about cryptocurrencies.

### The Top Reason I'm Here Anyway ###

1. Natural progression

- I started as a keypunch operator (IBM026, if I remember right).
- I'm handy with MS Word and MS Excel, including VBA.
- I ran a BBS on my first computer, a hand-me-down 8088 running PC-DOS3.3, before anyone heard of the internet.
- When I set up my first web server, I had to install Mosaic (the only browser at the time) on my developers' computers, teach them how to use it, and explain why it was cool.
- I've built my own systems (and helped my grandson build his gaming computer last year).
- I've installed Linux From Scratch(http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/) just because.
- My current gig involves B2B connectivity (AS2, RosettaNet, sFTP, ebms20, etc.) and messaging (EDI, RN, a variety of XML formats, a bit of EDIFACT, but not too much).

Like I said, natural progression.

Anyway, glad to be here. Looking forward to the learning.

ejoyce


The quote in #8, Why I'm Here Anyway, is Dr. Jordan Peterson

Thumbnail produced by me using CoolText and a touch of GIMP.

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @ejoyce!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Congratulations @ejoyce, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42