You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Greetings, Steemit, from the Alchemical Mage!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I assume you chose that name yourself and were not born with that name. It reminds me of something similar to Uerdruis Taranucnos Esugenos. Similar to muslims taking a name, or cultures where adulthood is a new name.

My name was unsual enough I didn't need to do this. If it had not been very unusual I suspect I would have likely gone this route myself.

Yet my biological father was very much into esoterica, and many other things. I was born in 1970 so I can say my name was influenced by the hippy nature of both of my parents as well as the interest in esoteric arts and knowledge.

I was actually born Deva Atkarama Bryson, but I was adopted by my step father who raised me and I consider him my father. My name became Deva Bryson Winblood at that time.

I skirted the esoteric arts many many times in my life. I can say with a certainty I never took the deep dive in like you have. I have some hypothesis, and ideas about the subject I'd like to share with you at some point and get your opinion on. They are things I don't usually encounter anyone that can grok what I am talking about.

You know from prior discussions that I absolutely believe in the scientific method.

Yet I have also stated I believe there are many things that tool is unsuited for at this time simply due to a lack of being able to measure things.

That does not believe they don't exist.

So esoteric things could easily fall into the category of interesting things I have had experiences and observed occurrences, yet I could not readily apply the scientific method to them (yet). Yet I did observe something so I know there is something there, it is the WHAT that thing is that is a hypothesis.

Sort:  

You would be correct in your assumption, my born name is something I reserve for my intimate relationships, my family. It wasn't that I did not like my born name but that I felt the need to take on my own title as I have been in the process of "taking back" my life and transforming every aspect into my own conscious creation. Also, having the true name of a thing gives you a certain connection to it - so this title also works in a similar fashion as an avatar, a representation of the "real" thing.

Wow, that is a beautiful name! The esoteric influence is certainly noticeable. ;)

For many years, I too skirted the edges of esoterica/exoterica as it relates to philosophy and religion due to being forced into the church system by my parents at a young age. I've always had a deep interest in these topics, and when I had a several month experience of extrasensory and inexplicable experiences (some on psychedelics, some totally sober) I began to study in-depth the experiences I had. Many of them are still unknowns, though a very large amount of my ideas about the experiences, the words I used to explain them, began to line up with teachings in cross-disciplinary schools of thought - ancient and neo. These experiences took over my life from the beginning, and since coming out of the madness I've devoted myself to learning as much as I possibly can and share the knowledge with those wanting the information.

I would love to discuss your ideas at some point in the future. :)

As far as testing esoteric ideas, there are ways to do so and many are underway. Here is one that was completed many years back that proves that other planets have an effect on materials upon our planet, chiefly the test lines up with the metals of each planet the ancients attributed to them.

http://www.sciencegroup.org.uk/capdyn.htm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39