Hello Steemit users! I'm droidsid, I'm from India and this is my story!

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Let me start this by thanking my good friend and sort of a Steemit mentor, @firepower. Thank you for introducing me to Steemit, brother from another mother with similar tastes in cars, bikes and everything nice.

My real name is Slim Shady, no it's not, obviously! I'm Siddharth Suvarna, and I'm from the peaceful coastal town of Mangalore, which is in Karnataka, India.

Me

Serious me

Me

Not so serious me

STEEMIT seems to be a really cool and a great platform for writers, storytellers, photographers, or anybody for that matter, to share things, engage with the community and also earn some money. I'm really thankful to its creators and the community for shaping the site to what it looks like today, amazing job guys! Hopefully more and more people will join and this will become hugeee!!! (read it in Donald Trumps voice and please don't vote for him)

Source: Imgflip

Source: Imgflip

I'm a regular guy, sometimes funny, sometimes weird, and mostly anti-social. I think about why I'm here, what's my purpose, what's on the dark side of the moon, where are the aliens and a lot more. I have a select few friends, and that's about it. We hangout sometimes, go on road trips, eat, and drink. Most of my friends are petrol heads, we live and breathe cars, motorcycles and go racing etc.

I have known Meghan, a.k.a @firepower, from a very long time. We were even room mates for a while when we were residing in New Delhi—the capital city of India.

My Story

Warning: This post is long, so please get some Nachos or popcorn and read it. Just kidding, you can alternatively skip to the end. (sad face)

I am a tech writer and blogger and have written for several online publications.

Source: Giphy

Source: Giphy

Currently, I write full time for a technology website from the UK called N4BB! It stands for News 4 BlackBerry and Beyond, but my core expertise is around niches such as Apple, Android, App Reviews, Smartphone reviews etc.

Not really a BlackBerry guy to be honest. But I enjoy writing and reading interesting articles on the web but sometimes I sit with a real book as well.

Let's get a little Personal

So that's what I do for a living, supporting my dear Mom and my younger sister. We also have a pet dog and a cat, named Chewie and Annie, respectively.

My Dad passed away in June 2015, and ever since then, things have gotten a lot harder, and more real. Life is a hardship, and until then I never really took life very seriously.

Now though, things have changed. I'm still a happy-go-lucky person who makes lame jokes and laughs at them, but I have become more responsible and mature otherwise.

Chewie

Say hello to Chewie, who's a 10 month old Lhasa Apso

Annie the Cat

This is Annie the Cat, who's a 1 and half year old Persian Cat, and also stupid

I started working when I was about 17 years young, now I'm old. I created a website and started writing about tech. My first ever self-hosted website was called High On Tech Again.

This site got me noticed on the interwebs and one of India's best and biggest blogger/entrepreneur Harsh Agarwal offered me a job to write for his websites CallingAllGeeks and ShoutMeLoud.

That's when I moved to Delhi, India, and started working full time as a professional blogger. I lived with Harsh Agarwal in Delhi for about an year. Meghan too, was living with us for a month or two. Later on, I moved out and lived with another popular blogger, Clinton Jeff, who now works at Xiaomi India. Yay blogger life!!

Oh before this, when I used to write for my own site, I decided to quit formal education, leaving my dad extremely pissed about it. He was disappointed with my choice, but I was a rebel. Thankfully, years down it all seems to have worked out. Although, I wish he were here to see me as a successful individual.

Original Image

Me sitting pillion, My Dad, and my sister.

I don't make a ton of money yet, but I do earn enough to support my family, my interests and CARS! I go broke sometimes at the end of a month, but that's alright, at least I've paid all my bills/loans and there's food on the table.

Let's talk about CARS!

It all started when I was really young, a baby, and my dad bought me a Hotwheels car. I was like 'Damn, what are these crazy things that roll about and look so cool.' Yeah, I probably didn't say that, because I couldn't speak but I was hooked!

Fast and Furious and biker movies helped as well later on, but I've been influenced by many motoring documentaries.

Source: actuanews.fr

Source: actuanews.fr

I've been fascinated with cars ever since and later on with motorcycles as well! Currently, I own 3 cars, and one motorcycle. I love working on them, learning how each mechanical part works, how to repair things, and several other DIY stuff.

The first and the smallest car was my Dad's 1987 Maruti-Suzuki 800, which I call 'The 800.' It's still with us and runs well.

Original Image

The second one, which I recently purchased, is a 2003 Honda City 1.5 VTEC, which I call the 'Hoenda.' Get it?

Original Image

The third one, is a 1996 W124 Mercedes Benz E220, which is called 'Baenz', cuz she my BAE!

Original Image

Dream Garage: 4 Cars

I love all these cars, but my dream garage consists of 4 other cars, which I probably may never own in India. Firstly, it has always been a dream to own a 1967 Mustang Fastback, the one similar to the 1968 Mustang used by Steve McQueen in Bullitt.

The second car would have to be a Nissan Skyline GT-R, preferably the R34, but R33 and R32 will also do.

The third dream car, which I once almost purchased, but couldn't figure out how to get to India, is the Toyota Corolla Sprinter Trueno a.k.a the AE86 a.k.a the Initial-D car!

Finally, I'd like to also own a BMW E30 M3 or a Mercedes Benz W201 190E Evo.

Dream Garage

All these are the dream cars, so let me continue to dream about them.

Coming back to reality, my Baenz needs to be restored, whereas the Hoenda and the 800 are going to be souped up crazy at some point in time, probably when I have saved enough money.

Riding, Racing and Touring

I also own a motorcycle, the Yamaha YZF-R15, which I have used extensively and has taught me a lot about being a better and safer rider. I love going on long rides, mostly solo, and have done several thousand kilometers.

Touring

Source: From my Instagram @droidsid

Touring

Source: From my Instagram @droidsid

I've done a little bit of track racing with the bike as well. Not competitive racing as such, but a lot of trackdays and a few friendly races. Oh yes, I did take part in a championship race once, but that was just for the adrenaline, finished 7th and 11th out of 22 racers in two races.

Source: Apex Racing, Facebook

Source: Apex Racing, Facebook

Wrap-up: Not the end of My Story though

I'm going to stop writing more now, because I know it might bore you. Also, a huge shoutout to whoever got this far, you da best!!

Source: Giphy

Source: Giphy

So, what can kind of posts can you expect from me on Steemit?

I'll be writing about some interesting stories from my life, about my cars, tech posts, my travels, road trips and a lot more. I also love taking photos, but I'm not a professional by any means. All the photos posted below were taken on my phone.

Original

Spot the frog :P

Original

Such greenery

Original

Original

Original

Sunrise

Please do follow me if you liked this and would like to see more from me! Once again, thanks to @firepower for introducing me to this wonderful platform!

Life is hard, and sometimes nothing happens according to plan, but that doesn't mean you gotta change your attitude towards life. Just live happy, don't judge, and have empathy!

Source: Canva

Happy Steeming and may the force be with you! Yeah, big Star Wars fan. PEACE!! ALWAYS FORWARD!

For verification, I've shared this post on my Twitter: https://twitter.com/droidsid/status/783395015355621376

Sort:  

Yo Sid! Great to see you blog your first post on Steemit! I'm really happy to see you here and writing on the platform. I hope the community welcomes you as it welcomed me with open arms. Keep writing and we'll be looking forward to your future articles. Feel free to use Steemit.Chat for interacting with other amazing members of this platform and find some interesting people to collaborate with. Good luck man! :)

Yay! Thanks bro :) Yes, I'll use the chat to interact and promote the platform. Glad to be here, finally!

droidsid Sid Suvarna tweeted @ 04 Oct 2016 - 19:55 UTC

First post on Steemit!

steemit.com/introduceyours… / https://t.co/SO86gxZnpH
:D

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Welcome. Nice to meet. Up voted and up voting my blogs will be appreciated.
Go to my blog to help you to get more up votes:
https://steemit.com/newbie/@hanamana/dummies-guide-to-attracting-more-up-votes-for-newbies

Welcome! Greetings from India.

Thank you :)

Very good post. Welcome to steemit

Thanks a lot. :)

Welcome to Steemit @droidsid! -followed and upvoted

Thank you :)

Act with kindness, but do not expect gratitude.

Are there any laws or social rules that completely baffle you?

A youth is to be regarded with respect. How do you know that his future will not be equal to our present?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30