How to Lose Money on the Internet, work on a cruise ship, see the world

I'm @Dritzbitz. Welcome to my Therapy Sessions.


Yo Steemians! Allow me "introduce myself"...

My name is Duran (only one "Duran" is preferred). I play drums for a living here in beautiful Vancouver, BC, Canada. I have just recently returned to the city full time after spending the better part of the last 6 years working on cruise ships.

Drumming 1.jpg

Drumming and Touring


I started drumming about 17 years ago, and have been playing professionally for around 13 of those years. I have a jazz degree from the University of North Texas, have toured the world playing music, and have performed with a lot of great bands and musicians, some of which you may have heard of.

I don't always play jazz, in fact I'm much more of an "all-around" player than someone who sticks to strictly one style. Looking back, I might have been more successful if I had just stuck with one style, but I get too bored to keep doing the same thing over and over.

I've dabbled in a bunch of styles of music: Latin, electronic, gospel, musical theatre, country, indie rock, big band, etc. I find each style of music to have it's own intricacies, and there is always something fun about every kind of music.

Here's a taste of something I was a part of if you're keen:


Being a freelancer in a city like Vancouver is tough. The cost of living is high, the population is relatively small, and you're constantly surrounded by people who appear more successful than you. So, around six years ago, I bailed on the city and decided to work on cruise ships.

At first it was off-and-on work, with just a short 2-3 month contracts here and there, but over the last couple of years I began working out there for large portions of the year. Working on a cruise ship was crazy, and I'm glad that I have a platform like this to write about it. I have recently returned to Vancouver full-time, however, with hopes of getting back into my own music and to begin teaching again.

IMG-3812.JPG

How to Lose Money on the Internet


Over the years, I've placed my time, focus, and money into a lot of different avenues: blogging, app development, investing, SEO, advertising, Amazon selling, and social media to name a few. I have a lot of great stories of how I've earned and lost plenty of money on the internet, and I'm excited to share that with y'all. I'm also happy to say that I continue to find the internet amazing, and Steem and crypto currencies have caught my interests lately.

What do you Want to Know?


I've come to contribute to this awesome community, learn a thing or two, and share what little I know with everyone here. If you want to know more about cruise ships, drumming, or losing money on the internet, feel free to let me know.

I also offer one on one drum lessons over Skype should you really be interested, and in the future I plan on hosting weekly, live Q&A lessons for free.

Thank you for welcoming me into the Steemit community. I'm stoked to be here.

Thanks for reading

IMG-0573.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @dritzbitz! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Hello, Dritzbitz, I'm just here to leave a nice Hello ^^. Unfortunately i don't have much voting power, but i will be back and vote my followers. Need to grow a little ^^. Have a great time @rightuppercorner

Thanks bud! Hello to you too

Hey @dritzbitz, welcome to Steemit!

Hey! Thanks!

Congratulations @dritzbitz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you have a great time using this platform. Be sure to check out Steemit.chat-it's the official chat for Steemit and you can create a new free account to use it.

Congratulations @dritzbitz! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I liked it! I saw that you joined recently so I'm feeling generous. Here's an upvote from me and rock on!
I am struggeling, like you, to get those big upvotes on my posts so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13