Dr Aiden P Gregg :: The EGOLOGIST

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

The EGOLOGIST


Hello Steemit!

My name is Dr Aiden P Gregg.

I am, by profession, an academic psychologist--a scientist of the mind.

An Irishman by birth, I gained my B.A. in Psychology from Trinity College Dublin, before acquiring my Ph.D from Yale University, specializing in the subfield of personality and social psychology.

I'm currently Associate Professor of Psychology at the University of Southampton, where I'm member of Centre for Research on Self and Identity.


My academic research has two main themes:

(a) the emotional and motivational aspects of self (mostly, the function of self-esteem, and why identity matters); and

(b) indirect ways of objectively assessing what is in people's minds (mostly, people's unconscious associations, or whether they are lying).

Some of my interests unite these two themes.

For example, I have (as yet unpublished) research showing that people unknowingly prefer the sounds in their own name to the sounds in other people's names.

This seems to be because people generally like themselves, and this general self-liking then transfers itself automatically to auditory representations of themselves.

This is another version of an phenomenon called the Name Letter Effect, or implicit egotism, where people prefer the sounds in their own name to letters in other people's names.

Hence, I call the phenomenon I have demonstrated implicit ECHOtism.

Anyhow, that's one concrete example of some of the things I do at work.

A friend of mine recently suggested a clever name for the research I do: EGO-logy -- the science of the ego (or self-esteem and identity).

Hence, my adopted moniker for myself here: The EGOLOGIST

Other than that, I'm a bit of an intellectual magpie, with assorted interests in classical music (I play piano), free-market economics (I like money), and political philosophy (I favour voluntaryism).


I've been threatening to write a blog for some time, so Steemit looks like a good excuse to try one, not only to share some of my thoughts with interested readers, but also to assist me in honing my informal writing skills.

I've lots of ideas in mind for things to write about. Some of them include:

  • Different aspects self-esteem, for a book I am planning
  • My own research projects, past, present, and future
  • Classic, contemporary, and breaking psychologicial studies
  • Understanding prominent events in terms of a psychological and research framework
  • Issues to do with the nature of psychology and research
  • Topic requests from members of the Steemit community

Let me know what you think!

I'm very much looking forward to starting a dialogue with other members of the Steemit community, many of whom I already know personally, or at least know about, from our cohabiting the intriguing shared space of all things anarcho-, crypto-, or alt-.

Go raibh maith agat! (thanks in Irish!)

The EGOLOGIST


Sort:  

Greetings! This article has been featured in Lost Content Digest, Issue #1. The author will receive a share of all SBD proceeds from the LCD issue.

Welcome to steemit ;)

Welcome and I look forward to reading more:)

Great intro and welcome - would love a post on how to deal with a teenagers mind!!! ...

Dear Lady Penelope, would you care to expand on that?

teenage daughter - mood swings , tears, temper tantrums , etc etc etc ......and she's only 13,! its like a switch has just turned on and wow

If psychology is a science, how come it's an arts major?

Good point. It should be a B.Sc. Indeed, the current undergraduate degree at Southampton IS a B.Sc.

So why wasn't my degree a B.Sc? Short answer: it was a while ago.

Psychology historically was less empirical--more about individuals articulating grand theories of their own, which were hard to test (e.g., Freud). Nowadays, however, nearly all academic psychologists are scientists who aim to produce piecemeal theories, or to effect adjustments to them, as members of a critical but interactive community. So it's nearly always B.Sc, not B.A., whereas that was less the case before.

Still, some aspects of psychology are a bit artsy. These include the more new-age spiritual part, and the postmodernist constructivist part. So, I think that psychology is never quite a science-like as STEM subjects.

Unfortunately your photos are not showing. Try using https://imgsafe.org or https://www.steemimg.com - they are free and work well.

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Simply Great Information and Presentation

Welcome. Looking forward to reading some great content!

Welcome to Steemit! I found you in the LCD issue.

I've always been interested in Psychology and Sociology, although not much formal schooling in either. I've read several books by Steven Pinker, I wonder what you think of him and his books.

Also, judging from b) above, I bet you'd be a great poker player!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68331.57
ETH 2650.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69