Hello Everyone!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

I've been here just over two weeks now and have met such nice and interesting people. I thought it was time to introduce myself.

Donna at Joshua Tree_ed.jpg

I came here with zero knowledge of Steem or other cryptocurrency. It was my friend @stormyowl who suggested this was much more fun than other social media sites. And she was so right! (Check out her beautiful photography!)

My main interests are gardening, herbs, and cooking. (Maybe not in that order!)
I come from a gardening family. I can't remember a time when I haven't had a garden, except for a short while when I lived in an apartment, and even then I grew potted plants and dreamed of a “real” garden. My parents met when they both worked at a large garden center. My father in the rose propagation area, my mother a lowly new-hire transplanting seedlings.

CarlMarie_2photos_ed.jpg
My parents.
(Married for over 60 years!)

Some of my earliest memories are of pulling weeds, watering the vegetables (getting totally muddy in the process), and shooing birds away from the strawberry patch.

Now I have lived in the same house for over 30 years and my garden is my joy. I still marvel at the miracle of nature where a single tomato seed can produce more fruit than my family can eat! But my special fascination is for herbs. I won't go into all the reasons why, we'd be here all day!

I was working at a job I hated and didn't like the person I was becoming. I was there for the money, the pay was great, but I felt that something inside me was dying. My garden was my refuge. I wished I could garden for a living, but that seemed unlikely.

Then I met a man who sold herb plants at our local farmer's market. I would hang around his booth and listen to him talking to customers, it was endlessly fascinating to me. After a while he decided to take a full-time job and asked if I'd like to take over his business. At that time I was seriously thinking about quitting my job. So my husband and I crunched the numbers and decided we could take that risk.

I spent a year selling herb plants at four farmer's markets a week and a few Renaissance Faires, hard work but loving every minute of it. I had been putting money in my “Freedom Fund” (a jar in my closet) and decided to use it to open an herb store. I could only afford a small space but I filled it with everything I loved and I was living my dream.

And then this happened...
I decided that as part of the herbal theme of the store that I'd carry the Herbal Tarot deck by Michael Tierra. That caused a ruckus in my conservative town. Rumors began that I was a WITCH!

Herbal Tarot.jpg
And then this happened...

What to do? In a defiant mood I thought, well, if a deck of cards offended them, what would happen if I brought in some books on herbal magic? I ordered some but when they arrived I started having second thoughts and left the box unopened. A group of customers came in and spotted the box and asked if it was something new and could they be the first to see it?

I sold every one of those books right out of the box they came in. I never looked back and my herb shop evolved into a metaphysical bookstore!

altar_ed.jpg
Our meditation room.

I learned a big lesson. I had been trying not to make waves and not offend anyone by hiding who I was. I'm not Wiccan, I grew up as a metaphysical Christian, with a deep interest in nature religions as well as other faiths and practices. Gardening, herbs, plant legends and lore, nature magic, they all seemed to go together to me.

When I finally revealed myself everything changed. I started having interesting spiritual experiences. I started meeting Angels and Guides, I saw dead people! I started getting “messages” for people and that really freaked me out! I didn't want that, it was embarrassing. But when I gave the messages people often cried and said, "Thank you, I needed to hear that.” Still very awkward but I got used to it.

I was guided to write. I resisted doing that too. I can be very stubborn. But my guides were stubborn too and I started writing little one-page essays on a variety of spiritual topics. My customers loved them so I wrote more. I wrote enough to fill a book, but that's a story for another time.

Now I am semi-retired with more time for my garden. It is still my peaceful place.

Arbor&Bench - 350_ed.jpg

I understand that it is appropriate to post a cute kitten or puppy as a thank-you for reading a long post. Here you go -

How to tell which cat ate your drugs_ed.jpg

I hope to be meeting more of you here!
And now I leave you with my favorite quote -

"Everyone is someone else's weirdo."

Sort:  

What up yo, welcome to Steem

Welcome to steemit

What an awesome introductory post! Youll fit in great, dear! Its funny how the universe has a plan for us, whether we know it or not, whether we want it or not! Im so glad you found your way to do what you love. I would love to have a store like yours in our little town. Youd make some big waves around here but theres plenty of us who would love and support such. You have a lot in common with my momma, whos also on here as well. If you get a few extra moments, look up @mamajeani.

Anyways welcome to Steemit! Followed, upvoted and resteemed for support! Also, feel free to use the @newbieresteemday tag for extra exposure and support! Looking forward to hearing more from you! :)

Thank you for your kind words! I am feeling very welcomed here. "...whether we know it or not, whether we want it or not!" - boy howdy you speak the truth! I visited @mamajeani and we sure do have a lot in common, I'm following her, and you! Thank you.

You are most welcome dear! If you have any questions please feel free to ask! :)

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!

Hello and welcome to steemit!! SO glad you are enjoying your time here.

And congratulations on the 60 years of wedded bliss!

Thank you!
My parents were so cute together. And they kept on gardening right up to the end! I am blessed to have had their good example.

Finally the 4th Episode of Xposed is out. And you are featured.

Here is a link to it

https://steemit.com/curation/@mirrors/xposed-edition-4-monday

Congratulations, @donna-metcalfe.

You are most welcome @donna-metcalfe. It is good you have already been here for some two weeks. So at least you have some idea. I can only encourage you, and say, stick to quality content, and you will progress here. From your introduction here, you write well. And your gardening experience should come handy around here.
There are many members who i know really love gardening. make sure to make use of the gardening tag in your gardening posts
You are welcome again. I am very impressed with the way you have here introduced yourself.

This Post has now been chosen and will be featured in the 4th Edition of Xposed. Hopefully it will bring you some much needed exposure and rewards which your post deserves.
For more details on this project, read Xposed Introduction
You may also check out the 3rd Edition

Wow, thank you for featuring my post! I am very honored. I felt a little shy about sharing my story, some of it that I rarely talk about, and it feels pretty great to get compliments like yours.

Thank you for the tip about the #gardening tag. I'd been using #garden. Still getting used to the whole tagging thing.

A note of correction - it was my parents who were married 60 years. I realized I hadn't made that clear so I added some clarification to their photo.

The pleasure is mine to meet you @donna-metcalfe. I am only trying to lend a hand to support the new people who join. This can be a very difficult place, if you are not helped.

And then of course, your introduction here is really rich and deep..It is way above most introduction posts, and speaks volumes about your blog.

Rest assured i will now be a frequent visitor in your blog, to upvote the quality works i will find.

Thanks, and welcome again.

Speaking of the 60 years, thanks for the clarification.

Hello @donna-metcalfe, i really learn a lot from your introductory blog that how to properly develop a compact and impressive introduction. for my future reference i put a link to your intro in my blog. please have a look
https://steemit.com/life/@sultanmr/best-new-steemers-introductory-posts---page-3-1525758046-1861377

What a wonderful compliment! Thank you. I looked at your blog and you are doing such a good service for us new people. I'm proud to be featured.

@donna-metcalfe, A warm welcome to Steemit. This is a great community and I know you will have a great time here.

Please never give out your password to anyone or through any link. Any request for your password might be to steal from you so be careful. Treat it like your bank code.

I want to invite you to join the discord channel #steemschools https://discord.gg/eTZqQvk and we will teach and support you to grow up in Steemit, to choose the right topic to attract readers, to use the right tags to get more visibility, how to make quality posts and comments on Steemit, how to sell your products, business strategies and tips on how to make more money in steemit and in life.

I have seen discord channels mentioned but don't know anything about them. Looks like I'll start with yours!

Nice to meet you donna. Keep doing good all else falls into place. Good includes good for your own self also. Believe, Relax and keep steeming

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30