You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Traveling scientist #1: Introduction, Why travel if life is perfect, Why Instagram is evil (and why I'm here)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Great introduction! You bring up a very interesting point about IG. As a fellow traveler (40 countries) I have always looked for inspiration from others in our tribe of curious global wanderers. Instagram for me at first was a wonderful way to view new locations, learn about the culture, and get inspired about traveling.

What I have found is that most photos I had looked at and saved for inspiration do no justice to the reality of the location. Overly edited and HDR'd photos may be stunningly beautiful, but it will never capture the humidity of Hong Kong that punches you in the face, the complexity and confusion you feel while navigating the Tokyo subway system for the first time while trying to catch a last minute flight, the hoards of other tourists like me lining up to take the same photo in Guilin, China, or like you had, the overwhelming feeling of accepting death in Nepal.

I believe only words can do that. What you are looking for is a medium to truly share your experience in a way that is palpable. Instagram is no longer that. I remember reading my friend's grandfather's WWII war journal. He wrote in such detail I felt my hands get sweaty as I read through the pages. Photographs are said to write a thousand words, but I do not believe that is true anymore.

Steemit / Reddit is wonderful for sharing these experiences. Welcome.

Sort:  

Thank you. Most of the photographs for Instagram are overedited for the simple reason: there is no other way to be noticed among thousands of other overedited photos unless you push the contrast and saturation up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59538.61
ETH 2658.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45