Introduction. Moderator of the Biggest Charitable NGO on Steemit and Humanitarian Emergency Response Professional

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

My name is Nikolaus Kirchler. I’m an NGO professional in humanitarian response and development projects and the moderator of @adra – the biggest NGO/charity (yet) on the STEEM blockchain. We’re introducing ourselves at the same time. Check out @adra for a major announcement. LINK


Instead of finishing my computer science degree I switched and completed the Master in International Social Sciences at a small private university in Germany. At that time in the early 2000s there were only a hand full places in all of Europe where one could achieve a university degree in humanitarian response and development topics. I wanted to make a difference for people in need and also conquer the world. Sitting in an office programming software nobody cares about did not sound too appealing in that regard. In hindsight, I could have been a blockchain developer making millions. At least I would have been able to acquire Bitcoin in 2010 when it was at 10 cents and I first heard about it. Nothing was developed at that time making the process a headache. I neglected the idea of spending 100€ of my students allowances for BTC. But I’m happy where I am today. When you enter the NGO sector it comes with a precondition with almost certainty: You will never be able to own a Porsche (younger than 10 years old). Your rewards come from somewhere else – and to me that matters more.


July 2011, I started my working life with ADRA Germany in the Libya response. At that time Muammar Gaddafi was still alive and I was in his former capital the day he got killed. We were working hard to get as many people as possible out of the firing line and ensure they receive the basics to be able to survive.

There, I also met my beautiful wife. She was working for the Danish Refugee Council (DRC) (I might tell you more about that astonishing story in a later blog post). We were making jokes about the war coming to Syria. Her home country. It was a ridiculous thought. Boy were we wrong!!

How did I get to STEEM?

Do you know that feeling when you see your crush, your heart makes a jump and your stomach feels giggly? Then you take a deep breath to calm yourself down? It’s energizing. It’s special. It gives you meaning in life. But it can also get exhausting. To the point where you cannot eat anymore, because your stomach is just toasted. Something wants to get out. It’s building up steam in your body and threatens to burst. I’m almost bursting. This needs to get out.


Source: 9gag.com


Yes, the latter is the woman I married. However, when talking about Steemit and this community the first part is true. Passion, that is exactly what is described here. I want to follow passion.

Recently I was on 6-month paternity leave to spend precious time with my beautiful newborn daughter. Here is my favorite picture of Valentina Levana when she was 6 months old. The most beautiful, smart, lovely, funny and easy going baby one can imagine, with a smile that can melt ice on North Pole. I couldn’t be more proud of her. While she’s still small and cute you can call her Tina.


During that time at home I wanted to write a book. A brilliant idea and whoever writes that book will become wealthy. I have the structure, well thought out chapters and sub-headlines, a massive data collection and profound knowledge about the topic, even some paragraphs written… it’s a massive project. Apparently, slightly too big for now. So, I guess blogging is more my level. 2 pages is considerable more easy than 400.

Long story short, last month I was in Greece to develop a refugee support project where we apply for funding from the European Union. One night in the lonely hotel room I stumbled over the YouTube channel of that crazy dude with a massive ego, Mr. @jerrybanfield. Yes you Jerry. It’s also your fault all this is happening (now you can follow me again. It will get very interesting here). Similar crazy as we are, I signed up for a monthly subscription to his university - the cheapest and quickest option to “find out before everyone else” which project he went all-in after the sale of his DASH master node. I felt connected to that guy, because we both lost almost the same amount by trying to trade crypto the last couple years. Buy and hold guys, buy and hold! I didn’t have a master node to sell, so I scraped a big portion of the crypto I had left and transferred them to STEEM, powered up and started learning what this is all about. There’s a gazillion outstanding postings here. I LOVE this community, thank all of you!

What to expect from this account and why you should follow and upvote?

First of all, this is my private blog. I post about everything I deem worth sharing and feel comfortable enough to voice an expert opinion to add to the overall value of STEEM. More important, it can and probably will be the perfect complement to the official @adra blog. @adra always represents ADRA Germany as an organization. That can impress limits about what can be posted and what not. Here @dinoo I’m more free to raise private opinions and therefore give a more holistic picture about life in emergency response and the development sector.

Due to the affiliation with @adra, @dinoo will probably receive more followers. That is not my personal achievement. Therefore, I’m suggesting to introduce the tag #adra. All my private postings tagged #adra donate the liquid STEEM to @adra. The received STEEM Power will be compounded to curate and make a bigger impact when voting for other charitable causes on STEEM. Like that, you can be sure your following and upvote will make a precious contribution to help people in need. All transactions can be tracked on the blockchain. And what will happen to your contributions will be discussed at @adra.

Thank you notes

At this point a massive THANKY YOU to all the people who work and code in the background to make this project an ongoing success-story!

The (app) developers @ned @dan @dantheman @xeroc @furion @good-karma @jesta @xtar @roelandp @dez1337 @unipsycho @shaunmza @robertdurst10 @augustol @sarasate @zcgolf16 and many more,

the top 50 witnesses and runner-up witnesses @roelandp @gtg @furion @bhuz @anyx @good-karma @pharesim @jesta @timcliff @wackou @clayop @xeldal @klye @roadscape @witness.svk @abit @pfunk @arhag @riverhead @thecryptodrive @liondani @smooth.witness @busy.witness @blocktrades @ihashfury @someguy123 @ausbitbank @bitcoiner @steempty @datasecuritynode @steemychicken1 @joseph @chainsquad.com @lukestokes.mhth @delegate.lafona @cervantes @boatymcboatface @complexring @charlieshrem @aizensou @bacchist @fyrst-witness @curie @cyrano.witness @chitty @krnel @au1nethyb1 @bue @theprophet0 @steemed and everyone else who is working to become a top listed witness and supporting the network,

all the whales who follow their responsibility for the STEEM society by acting accordingly and oh so many more who post countless brilliant articles and form this network, you da real MVP. What I see every day here at Steemit fills my heart with joy. I’m already following more than 100 of you and many more to come.

Let’s meet in person at STEEMFEST

This is as well an official submission for the #minnowsupportproject Paid Trip to STEEMFEST.

It’s the perfect timing to meet so many steemians in person in Portugal. With the current setup, I’m the perfect candidate to grow and foster the charity support idea around STEEM.

The basic draft strategy laid out in the introduction post of @adra can make a tremendous difference for countless people and the STEEM platform, when successfully implemented and continuously improved. I want to see media coverage in major newspapers, interviews, radio broadcasts and so on and so forth, making the broader public aware about the potential and what is happening here at Steemit and on the STEEM blockchain. We will conquer the world. For that, we need to work together. There is no better place than Portugal to achieve this collaboration.

Needed budget for the trip to STEEMFEST:

  • $ 250 roundtrip flight ticket incl. fees from airport FRA to LIS
  • $   50 transfer to and from the airport
  • $ 330 for 4 nights HF Garden (Nov. 1 – 5) (with an option to arrive earlier if devs want to explore charity app possibilities during hackathon)
  • Other living expenses (mainly food) I will cover. I also have to eat and live when home ; ).

I would probably bring my wife and little Tina as well, so you can meet them and they can spend some time in Lisbon. It’s too much to ask for their reimbursement and I would be more than happy and grateful when part of my own expenses is covered.

And now I’m curious about what will happen next.

Sort:  

You are a very cool guy with a warm heart in the right place. I’m happy you joined Steemit! I’ll be following you here and I look forward to meeting you in Lisbon in a couple of months!

YEAH! #STEEMFEST gonna be exciting!

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

Sehr lesenswerter Beitrag @dinoo! Viel Glück in der Challenge und vielleicht sehen wir uns in Lissabon wieder oder irgendwo anders!

Würde mich sehr freuen! Sorry das mit dem Haus! Ich nehm dich in meinen Steemvoter, nur ein kleiner Beitrag, um wieder auf die Beine zu kommen, aber über die Zeit kommt schon was zusammen. Viel Erfolg beim Wiederaufbau!

Danke @dinoo! Habe mich auch bei steemvoter angemeldet mal schauen, wie das da läuft! Die Zeit heilt zwar nicht alle Wunden, aber im Grunde ist Zeit nur ein Vorwand etwas auf später zu verschieben, anstatt im hier und jetzt zu verweilen und die Ereignisse, die in unser Leben treten einfach von Herzen anzunehmen. <3

Awesome to have you here @dinoo!

This is truly inspiring.
Keep up the great work!

Thank you @arckrai! Yes I'm actrually quite excited. This could become something major. Steemit is the perfect platform, can't wait to develop it further. Imagine seeing banners of the STEEM-logo at the inauguration of the first STEEM well for drinking water in drought-prone Somalia or alike.

Nice to meet you. May be we are the smallest one. ;)

Haha, excellent, the more the merrier : ) I'll add you to the list and then let's see what we can develop over the next couple weeks. Great to meet you!

Thank you @jerrybanfield for your upvote and support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71