I'm a talented underachiever.

I guess the title says it all.

I've spent my life avoiding failure by avoiding effort. That way, if I succeed, which is quite often due to my unnaturally low goals, I can say "wow everybody look at me! I did an amazing job with no effort!". When I fail, I take comfort in the fact that it would have been impossible for nearly anybody under those conditions.

The things I do try, they turn out great. I just am happier being the best amateur rather than a kind of mediocre professional. Maybe if I practiced more... but I never have, that would be effort, effort would collapse my whole scheme.

So one day I woke up and I was 31 and I realized that my life is a waste, a waste of creativity and a waste of talent and a waste of thoughts. I see that the happiness of the people around me is related directly to how much they work, and this means that I can probably achieve happiness by just doing what they do, which is spend some hours every day on a creative and rewarding endeaver. I quickly figured out that reaching the top 10% at websudoku doesn't count towards those goals.

My public attempt at self improvment is likely to cause me some embarrassment, but whatever. My first goal is to learn to play the piano. I play the cello, so I can read the notes, and I had some introduction as a child from my cello instructor, but I have never performed on the piano for an audience. I will learn how to play the piano musically, post recordings of all 100+ piano pieces in my beginner book, and admit to effort in my progress reports. My goal will be to be a resource for other adult beginners, rather than a competitor. Playing the piano would be a significant step towards becoming a cello instructor, so it's not really altruistic either.

I started posting recordings on YouTube already, once I figure out loading them here I'll start blogging:)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @didipatz I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks a lot! My first steem!

Hello!

Welcome to steem! I hope you enjoy it here. I love the piano but never learnt to play myself :) Looking forward to hearing your music :)

It's great to have you here on Steemit, @didipatz. It's never too late to learn new skills and to turn your life around. You can do it! Good luck on the piano and I wish success for you :)

Thanks! It's a weird thing to admit, and the older my kid gets the more I realize how essential it is to teach work ethic.... but I don't have any, yet:)

Haha. "Yet" is the keyword. Love the optimism!

Whats up?!

I am, how about you?:)

welcome to steemit.. ^^

Welcome to Steem, I enjoyed the intro. Well here's a upvote and for achieving something! Haha look forward to more.

glad to see you here
hope you have a great time here.
If you need any help about steemit i recommend reading this article

and if you like short stories checkout my new series The Parameter

Hi and welcome to steemit. I hope that you like it here and spend nice time here :)

Welcome to steemit @didipatz. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @didipatz to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44