"How It All Began" Introducing Myself to Steemit.com - Aussie Cryptocurrency Journey

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

I have been putting this post off for too long now, I feel like a good way to introduce myself is to tell my story on how I got here.

Adoption Of Cryptocurrency

Believe or not I started getting interested in Cryptocurrency back in 2013 when bitcoin was around $1000, as soon as I saw that post about a digital currency that could be sourced for using you're processing power I was instantly hyped up.

Funny enough I was telling people to use their graphic cards to mine bitcoin but I was too arrogant at the time to even do it myself, so couple days after telling some of my peers, I actually found out I convinced one of my peers to start mining and he was complaining about how much he was earning...

pretty sure it was something around .002 btc in a day of mining on one GPU that he had laying around, I remember I said to him "you're complaining about making $2 for leaving your computer running?" he replied "yeah I don't see bitcoin going anywhere" at the time I was thinking he is probably right.

Time passed and bitcoin lost most of its hype in the start of 2014, but I was very much interested in the concept of a coin not controlled by banks as well you could make some money on the side mining them and selling them people that were most likely buying drugs with it.

The first ever coin I started mining was DOGE, LTC, POT, I started mining on multipool.us which they had a bunch of coins that you could mine like TIPS which is pretty much a dead coin at the moment. 

So..if anyone was around then you will also remember Cryptsy, I am sure a lot of people remember Cryptsy even if they didn't use the exchange, I actually had all my crypto in this exchange (NEVER DO THIS) 

which was all taken away from me when the site got "hacked", as soon as I saw that happen I pretty much lost all interest in trying to build my balance up with cryptocurrency.

July 2016 I have seen the light!

2016 is the year of true adoption for me, I hit 25 years on earth and of course most people when they hit that age they really evaluate their lives and wonder "what will be my profession?" I love computers and making my own income. 

When I think about my life I don't want to think that I will be following orders 9-5, 5 days a week, I feel getting my own income is where truly I am happy.

So in july I started my adventure with cryptocurrency, the only problem I had was I had no capital to do anything, I was living off Government payouts, but all the money was allocated to my living expenses so nothing was available to use to try and start my life with crypto..

At the time I was studying at University getting my Bachelor in Multimedia Design, while I was studying I would try and find ways to make crypto for free, I needed up getting using google compute to mine on nicehash...

later on that year I quit my course to start working at a company so I could earning some cash to start my adventure and with my job I was able to buy my first rig and my first investment into trading currencies which some of my investment went into STEEM :D 

I hope my story is intriguing enough for everyone to read.

Comments and upvotes would be appreciated :)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @dethie!
Dropped you a follow for support!
Please dont hesitate to reply and ask if you need any help!
Hope you enjoy your time here as I do!

Thanks for the support!

Hi there :3 I'm Vikky and I'm a new steemer too! Let's be friends!

I'm not flooding here, just sharing funny stories with pictures about my golden retriever puppy Mr. Oliver. Follow me back and vote for my posts if you're interested! Thanks a lot ^_^ 0d7a1077-dbd6-4d77-9870-97da8e487396.jpg

Hello @vikky :) dropped a follow, hope to see more of Mr Oliver

Welcome to Steemit, @dethie!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Thanks for the information. If I have any issues I will defiantly ask

Welcome @dethie . hope you enjoy here as much as i do !! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Thanks @mekong I followed you back :D

Congratulations on your achievement. I just joined steemit now.

Welcome to Steemit! if you want some help with anything let me know :)

Welcome to Steem @dethie I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you very much :)

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoy your stay.^^

I have been here since August 2016 enjoying it since then :P

Hello @dethie and welcome to Steemit. Congratulations to your sucess and for further success, quality content is very important.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@positivesteem/newbie-nuggets-how-i-create-killer-content-for-my-posts

I've Upvoted for sure. happy to meet you in this big family.
looking forward to your next post.
You can follow my food blog to know more about me @fatkid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93