My Steemit Introduction... many layers of me...steemCreated with Sketch.

Crystal-Street-160.jpg Image by Ryan Smith from Smith-Gauthier Productions

Hello. I’m Crystal, aka DesertRat. Pleased to meet you.

So...here’s my intro.

I’m a documentary photographer, writer, lapidary artist & comms expert. That’s a mouthful, eh?

I guess, in a sense, I’m a renaissance woman-- although I find the term a little grandiose, even if it’s applicable. I have many interest, passions and endeavors.

street_IND006_032.jpg Photo by me, while on assignment in Indonesia.

One morning, I wake up and want to only work with healing crystals making jewelry to help people embrace a little more consciousness and divine energy as they travel through our chaotic world.

batch1_insta_general.jpg

The next morning, I wake up and want to think of nothing but cryptocurrency, cybersecurity and how shitty my personal opsec is that day.

A few days later, I’ll spend 3 hours on the yoga mat and a few hours contemplating the commons, living off grid and my role in the Voluntary Simplicity movement-- or lack there of, depending on the day.

street_07_06_0058.jpg Image created by me, while working on a documentary project in Nepal.

And, to make a living, I help small businesses tell an authentic story online, I’m the director of communications for a tech firm specializing in NEO Smart Economy, distributed ledger technology and smart contracts. (We just rolled out $MCT and are building HashPuppies right now). I also sell healing crystals and handcrafted jewelry on my etsy store, http://www.etsy.com/shop/NomadicCrystals.

In my former “work life” I produced television commercials for shitty (and not so shitty) corporations-- like Pizza Hut and Whole Foods (pre-Bezos). I love producing, but the corporate work almost broke me. I also used those funds to travel to distant lands and document life in displaced populations and chaotic countries-- that all walk a paradox of chaos and beauty. It's how I kept my sanity.

street_mao_nepal.jpg Also taken by me while working in Nepal. I was invited to document a Maoist cadre in rural Nepal and pulled aside female soldiers and did a mini-series of these beautiful young soldiers.

Hence my body of documentary work called Beauty in Chaos. It’s an ongoing exploration of the tension between beautiful slices of humanity found in chaotic places of conflict and violence. While I haven’t touched the project in a few years, you will see some of the work here on my Steemit.

Street_PALESTINE_0020.jpg Photograph by yours truly while returning to the West Bank from Ramallah. I was working on a documentary project that summer in the West Bank.

I’m also a perpetual nomad. About 10 years ago, I started a travel blog and discovered a way to generate income using this crazy thing called the internet. So, I did. This year, I’m on track to completely cut the cord and go full digital nomad. And I couldn’t be more excited.

So, that’s the short version of me. There’s a long version-- that could fill a novel-- and will someday. My professional photography can be seen at http://www.crystalstreetphotography.com (sorry, I need to learn markup-- I'm an html gal)

An entire adult life devoted to embracing unconventional and rebellious living tends to spawn an archive of stories.

Street_PALESTINE_0010.jpg

I’m not exactly sure what I’ll write about here-- probably a little bit of everything. So please follow me and let’s take this little journey together.

Sort:  
Loading...

Saludos, gracias por unirte a Steemit.

Thanks!! ;)

Well hello @desertrat! Very nice to meet you here in Steemitland! Looking forward to seeing your journey unfold!! Let's enjoy this ride! You sound like a very cool cat. I am glad to have crossed your path!

Lovely to meet you as well, @yogajill !! And thanks for the kind words! I just peaked at your blog and it looks lovely. I'm following along so I can share the journey! Have a lovely day!!!

You're welcome 😊Looking forward to our Steem journey!

Hi, desertrat! Wish you a very exciting experience here on this platform :) Life is good!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thanks for the lovely welcome!! I'll be checking those links out now! Thanks so much!!!

Hi Crystal, welcome to Steemit!
Amazing photographs, I'm definitely following you for more :)

Thanks so much, TinyMischiefs (great handle)! Lovely to hear from a fellow artist! I checked out your artwork as well!! Lovely work! ;)

Thank you very much :)!

Welcome to Steemit. I implore you to explore the platform and enjoy your time.

Join the SteemJet Community and grow. SteemJet community teaches about the Global adoption of Steem.

Join us on discord: https://discord.gg/gGf9V24

Thanks so much! I'll check out the discord and see what SteemJet is all about. Thanks so much!

Alright. Will be waiting for you at SteemJet

Welcome to steemit. I believe you will learn alot from here like i am doing as a newbie from my mentors .We are going to take this ride together.

Thanks so much, neyor! Enjoy your time here on Steemit as well! ;)

Welcome To Steemit @desertrat. Welcome To Blockchain World, Welcome to The eSteem Family.

Esteem / Steemit is The Best Application based on Blockchain in The World. Before you go any further, read The Rules and other Instructions About Steemit and How to use Steemit.


Hope you have a great day here and I'll always waiting your new Article everytime. #Greetings, Esteems.

Thanks so much for the kind welcome and fabulous links! I'll def be checking them all out! Thank you!!!

You welcome @desertrat. my pleasure to can help everyone. thank you so much for good response. i hope you success on the future

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing with us your story. I'm happy to upvote and resteem your introduction post and welcome to steemit:) by @cheneats

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thanks so much for posting these links! I'm heading over there now to learn more. And thanks for the upvote! Greatly appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.20
ETH 2421.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63