Introducing a Girl with Stars in Her Eyes and a Dream in Her Heart to Change the World

Hello, Fellow Steemians!

me.jpg

I think everyone here has a little bit of “I want to change the world” in them. I think that’s why we’re here, to create and share interesting content with like-minded people in the hopes that it will be of value to at least one person. To build a community. To leave a meaningful imprint of ourselves in history and to help others do the same. To do what we can, with what we have, in the time that we’re given, to change the world.

rsz_1hands-600497_1920.jpg

It’s also why I became an English teacher. It certainly wasn’t for the lucrative salary or the “easy” schedule. I was driven by a passion, a fire within that burns too hotly and too fiercely to ignore. A passion to help people, to share knowledge and love of literature, to evoke enthusiasm, and to touch the lives in some way of every child that walks through my classroom door.

teaching-page.jpg

But I want to do more than just teach, I want to create things that may one day be taught. I want to influence and innovate, I want to explore and document, I want to help and to heal and to give my heart to the world. Just like so many of you.

In order to do these things, I need to follow the call of my soul. I am a wordsmith by birth and it’s a large part of who I am. I think it’s no coincidence that my name, Devon, means “writer of poetry.” And my soul calls me westward, specifically to California. To teach, to write, to paint, to create.

"I have an ocean of words trapped inside me
and the currents are so strong, I fear I may drown if I
don't release the floodgates,
don't release the words,
don't write."
-Devon Marie Ertle

But let’s be real-- California is expensive, student loans suck, teaching pays shit, and I’m broke and on the verge of being homeless. Nobody said the road to success would be a glamorous one and I don’t doubt at least some of you are very familiar with the struggle. Which right now is very, very real. As much as I would like to pack up and move, the dangers of crossing the country as a new graduate without a job, place to live, or a penny to my name terrify the living shit out of me.

But if we wait until we’re ready, we’ll be waiting the rest of our lives. So here’s to taking leaps of faith, even if it means plunging into unbearable darkness, hoping for a safe landing but knowing it could end with a SPLAT! Here’s to a journey of written words exploring education, literature, psychology, sociology, spirituality, art, the universe, and this crazy rollercoaster ride we call life. I hope you’ll all continue to venture with me into the unknown as this girl tries to do what she can, with what she has, in the time she’s given, to change the world.

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams."
-Eleanor Roosevelt

Sort:  

Hello @deemarie ! I followed you and UpVoted you!
Very cool that you are here! Steem on!
I wish you happiness! You will be happy on SteemIt!

welcome, enjoy youself!

Thank you! I plan on it :)

welcome to steemit :)

Welcome to Steem @deemarie I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thank you!! :)

I want to make this world a better place for all to live. It may look difficult, but with you and I, We Can Make It Real

True Love From @fingalenz

Absolutely we can! Especially with hard work and a positive mindset :)

Awesome! I can see your account is somewhat new but this was a good post. Have an upvote and I hope you will some day do the same!
As you only recently joined the steemit community it can be hard to recieve lots of upvotes so my advice would be to give Steemfollower a go as you can earn up to 5x more steem than just upvoting by yourself! It's a simple and safe vote exchange that is free to use. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and it has become my most upvoted post yet.

Wow thank you so much, I certainly will! I really appreciate the helpful information as well, I'm still getting the hang of how everything works around here.

Great post dreamer! 👏🏻😄Welcome to Steemit! I wish you all the best in this platform and in all your projects! You can count on me for anything you need. I send you a big hug from Argentina! @kryptoland 👍🏻😄🇦🇷

Thanks so much! I'm very excited to be here with all you great people! Sending you a big hug back from America~

Good work, thanks for sharing!

Thank you for taking the time to read it! More to come soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56416.38
ETH 2379.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35