A crypto & blockchain dictionary with 200+ definitions, awesome stick-figures & walkthroughs

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Introducing Decryptionary

beyond-a-dictionary2.gif

This is my passion-project Decryptionary, it's more than just a cryptocurrency and blockchain dictionary.

  • With 200+ simple definitions,
  • Awesome 4th grade stick-figures,
  • And super simple walkthroughs...

Decryptionary takes this complex subject known as "crypto" and makes it simple.

Hi, my name is Dani Amsalem and I'm the founder of Decryptionary. I began learning about crypto in early 2017, and immediately saw that it was a subject full of confusing words.

dani-decryptionary.jpg

As I began researching these words and getting a basic understanding, I decided to help others with my knowledge. I created Decryptionary with one simple mission:

Crypto made simple

I'm really excited to participate in Steemit. From this account, I'll be sharing walkthroughs, super simple definitions, 4th-grade stick-figures and more.

You can find me elsewhere in Facebook, Twitter, Medium and of course my website, decryptionary.com If you have any questions, shoot me a message on any platform or just comment below.

I look forward to seeing more of you,
Dani | Founder

Sort:  

Welcome @decryptionary

You may like this nice Card. Use it in any way you want: It is a completly free gift for you :)
PS: Some clever Steemians print it for takeaway. The QR-Code leads directly to your blog.


Made with Love 💋

Nice to meet you, @decryptionary! Welcome to Steemit!

Welcome Decryptionary. Hope you love it here.

Thanks, I'm loving it so far!

Welcome to Steemit. Decryptionary. Interesting. Why didn't I think of that?

Lol, definitely one of those ideas. Unfortunately, I'm finding many people don't know how to spell "decryptionary" if I ask them to visit it.

Hopefully my SEO will begin kicking in and I won't have to worry about that!

Hi Dani, I love the concept of a @decryptionary it is brilliant and the website looks great! I have been working on #infographics to help new people here on Steemit as well and I would love to suggest words but unfortunately I got this message: "Currently you are not allowed to suggest a new terms. Please contact with page administrator."

As you can see my skills are pretty much limited to words only, but perhaps that's where we can collaborate?

https://steemit.com/infographics/@plushzilla/steem-explained-in-diagrams-13

I love interesting words like chiasmus and limerence and pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis, and I would like to see the word CURF (comment, upvote resteem and follow) added to the @decryptionary :)

Hi @plushzilla
Thanks for your feedback! I am glad you found this error and I've already fixed it.

But please know, decryptionary only defines blockchain and cryptocurrency terms with the occasional finance term insofar as it relates to those earlier two subjects.

Unfortunately that means your fine selection of esoteric terms such as "chiasmus", "limerence", "CURF", and "pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis" are not applicable to decryptionary.

However, I really like your infographic skills. Are you interested in contributing any sort of infographics?

Hi @decryptionary, I only gave you examples of these terms to show you that I am interested in words :D I think your stick figure drawings are actually pretty cool and you should keep that style. I can of course offer you ideas of how to present the information using my infographics skills, or if you really think that it would be a good fit then I am happy to contribute as well :) Collaboration on Steemit is the best!

Well @plushzilla,

In that case, I'd love for you to contribute your fine selection of words to my dictionary. As I've mentioned, the error was already fixed. So as you find more words to add, please do drop them in.

I definitely want to keep my stick-figure drawing style for my definitions and walkthroughs. But I really like the idea of a collab and I think you have much to offer with your infographics.

Plus, any feedback you have on my presentation is much appreciated.

I'd imagine I could most use your presentation skills in an infographic outlining how a person could best navigate my website to get the most out of it. What are your thoughts on this?

Okay, let's do this. I will go through the website content and list of words. I think there is a lot of overlap between what we are doing (i.e. helping people understand the new digital economy). Are you only limiting your dictionary to general cryptocurrency terms and nothing to do with the specific cryptocurrencies (i.e. bitcoin, steem, neo, ethereum)?

Fantastic!

I'm only limiting decryptionary according to this purpose: Introduce cryptocurrency by defining all current, common, and technical terms and ideas making the subject simple to grasp.

So long as we keep the terms in line with that, then we're good. According to that purpose, I very much think every cryptocurrency, and a paragraph defining them fits in with decryptionary.

I think we should take this conversation to an instant messenger. I'm available on Facebook, Whatsapp, and Telegram. What do you prefer?

I use them all except for Telegram (but I am on Discord). Let's also work out timezone differences because that tends to catch people out a bit when they are trying to talk to each other. I am in Brisbane (Australia) at the moment so that's UTC +10. You can find me on facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/plushzilla

Also, I like the idea of being more proactive with your decryptionary so would you consider the idea of doing "Word of the Day" type of email like I see many of the major dictionaries tend to do? Example here: https://www.merriam-webster.com/word-of-the-day

I subscribe to these from the Merriam and Oxford English Dictionary websites, and I also subscribe to ones from foreign languages to help with my vocabulary. I think it would be a much more engaging way to reach out to the audience!

OK I just sent you a friend request, my name is Dani.

I have "Word of the Day" in my roadmap. But that requires some plugins/programming which I cannot afford to look into. If you have ideas of how to integrate that for minimal costs into my WP website, I'd be happy to do that.

Hey @deccryptionary, welcome to Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97