Obligatory Introduction

Hello, Steemit. I'm Decker Shado, the internet personality with the best hair.

steemit.jpg

To be honest, I'm just doing what I can to try to cling to relevancy in the flighty landscape that is the internet. While it sounds nice to say "Oh yeah, I'm a YouTuber" that does mean that when the platform crumbles, so does your livelihood.

I didn't really set out to make some big profound post here, as you can likely tell from my "yep, that's me" picture. (paper? Who has paper?) but I've found myself as of late expanding my presence on the 'net to all kinds of sites. While over the last 6 years I've been a movie reviewer on YouTube, and for a few I've had a regularly updated gaming channel, it wasn't until the good ol' adpocalypse that I really started working on expanding my presense online.

Don't get me wrong, I have done very well in my opinion over those six years. Nothing, and I mean NOTHING I have made has ever "gone viral" but I set out on this journey with the goal of actually quitting my job to do this full time. Even dumber, I actually quit my job about 1 year in, well before I was anywhere close to able to make up the difference. There were setbacks along the way, and fights with the almighty algorithm but by early 2017, I had finally "made it" and was making as much via ad revenue as I had been working a regular grunt job in the real world.

Then Adpocalypse stepped in.

Now, there are many different takes on what exactly "adpocalypse" was and what it entailed. Quite a few people out there mean it as the single day that ad rates dropped, others count the time when top youtubers had lower ads, but few seem to count it the way I've experienced it. I view adpocalypse not only in terms of the drop in ad value (a metric that is to this day, a very present blemish on the year-on-year earnings on my channel) but the changes to the algorithm that resulted in kneecapping views across the board.

So if you ask me, Adpocalypse didn't come and go. It came, and moved in. The channel went from pulling $2k a month to $500, but what was worse in my opinion, was that views and subscriber growth tanked on top of it. Being in a race, and being arbitrarily pulled 100 meters behind where you were is difficult. Having your legs cut off on top of it? That makes it very hard to believe things will ever turn around.

That's the problem with being a "YouTuber." I got a firsthand lesson on not putting all one's eggs in one basket. I preferred getting by with nothing but ad revenue, but when that was suddenly and without warning compromised I found myself in an unnecessarily difficult situation. The channel's still not really big enough to say merchandising would have helped all that much, but I've spend a lot more time in the last few months promoting my Patreon.

With this mentality, I've been working on expanding to as many sites as reasonable to create a sort of safety net. If I really want to do this for the rest of my life (spoiler alert: yes) then I can't put myself in a situation where the failure of one platform will nuke my career. As such, I'm not just on the big 3 anymore. (YT, Twitter & Facebook) I've expanded over to Minds, and Gab. For a short but pleasant while, the entire channel was backed up on Vidme as well. Lots of work went into getting it all together only to see it close down shortly after, but that happens sometimes. Now, the channel is being backed up on BitChute, I'm working on getting the backlog uploaded there, and wouldn't you know it here I am on Steemit as well.

The internet is constantly evolving, and as an internet personality I have to be able to evolve with it. YouTube is king right now, but being on top breeds complacency. Just as TV networks had plenty of chances to embrace the internet BEFORE it took over the world, the internet will continue to move forward even if the leading platforms plant their flags and refuse to come with it.

Things are looking up, right now. February's earnings on the channel are the highest they've been since February of last year. Not quite that high, but much better than all the rest of 2017. However, that's no reason to relax. The next crisis is coming. The next panic, the next time some intern at Google sneezes on a server. Don't know when, but it will happen, and when it does, I want to be ready this time.

Thank you all for reading, I have been Decker Shado and remember: C.Y.A.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Welcome to Steemit, Decker Shado :) Wishing you a great time on the platform :)

Hey Decker!

Welcome to Steem!
I'm sure you've heard of @dtube... but there's no advertisers there man, there's no one to really control the content or anything like that. It's all down to your content, it's popularity and the people you know... it might take a little bit to get the ball rolling, but I think with a consistent effort you could easily pull in what you're making on YouTube.

If you have any questions, hit me up, totally happy to help!

Worth looking into, at the very least. Many thanks, I will check it out.


Welcome to Steemit @deckershado!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hey Decker, shame about YouTube, but yay for @dtube!

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-12th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

Cool, thanks for the feature! Going to take a look at @dtube, hopefully I can figure things out over there. I feel so old, all these new platforms and here I am just used to my old ways of doing things, but I know if I stick to only the old ways I'm dooming myself to be a thing of the past.

deckershado looks like you copy / pasted some content of this post from this article:
Red Sky (original song -acoustic)
Please consider to avoid plagiarism!

What exactly are you talking about?

In what part of my long ramble about the trials of being an internet personality, the highs and lows of YouTube, and joining the Steemit community... does it even remotely compare to a short blog with an acoustic piano song about domestic violence?

Ah, okay. Digging deeper into your comment history shows evidence that you go around everywhere, accusing anyone and everyone of plagiarism while providing links to a steemit clone/phishing site, to scam them. Well, at least that explains how amazingly wrong the plagiarism accusation was.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67710.27
ETH 3812.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55