You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello to the Steemit world from Dave Matherly ! (its about time I wrote an intro)

@matherly Man! This is like the best introduction EVER!! Why has this not been massively upvoted? I personally have zero idea. What a super cool life! To be part of movie evolution and history. Wow! I really am super stoked and impressed to read your intro. Sam Neill of Jurassic Park was born in my hometown here in Omagh, Ireland. Has dad was a British Colonel? I think that was his rank, stationed at the local garrision. I remember "Fright Night" haha! ...and currently on my reading list (I read several at a time) is Creativity Inc. by Ed Catmull. Interesting where he talks about the foundations of DARPA and it's original purpose and mission before Google and Ray Kurzweil got into it.

Sort:  

Catmull as in Catmull/Clark subdivisions?
I know very little about originators behind the tech.
I know an Asian dude named Phong developed the surface shading algo. But that about it. :^D
Light ray direction vs surface "normal" direction as seen from the camera gives the level of brightness vs shading. Something you never think about while illustrating, it just happens based on your vision of the piece.
In CG software its all calculations and algorithms! :^)

Apologies, Catmull as in president of Pixar Animation Studios
I checked your Imdb profile last night (UK time)
You have worked on some of my favorite movies of all time! The Hunter (Pedator) and Bubba Ho-Tep
I tell everyone about the latter. I didn't know coakroaches could actually fly (we don't get them in Ireland as such) until I moved to Cyprus. What a shock! LOL.
Anyhow, impressive resumé Dave. Best for now :)

Thanks!! Much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44