One man's garbage is this man's treasure

Hello!
My name is Darius Woo, and I am a registered architect who moonlights as an artist in New York City. I will be using Steemit as a platform to periodically share my art work and hopefully receive some constructive feedback from you guys! I look forward to sharing more of my works with you!

The Great Escape, Darius Woo, Collage On Paper, 11x15.jpg
The Great Escape
11x14in, 2017

Fascinated with colors, textures and patterns of everyday paper objects, I compulsively gather used tickets, torn envelopes and merchandise receipts from my daily routines, and as a result, they become a source of inspiration and a medium for my collages. I try to animate my collages by developing a narrative around the seemingly mundane paper objects, and drawing attention to their innate beauty by articulating shapes and forms.

Hide And Seek, Darius Woo, Collage On Paper, 11x14.jpg
Hide and Seek
11x14in, 2017

Porter In Trouble, Darius Woo, Collage On Paper, 11x15, $500.jpg
Porter In Trouble
11x14in, 2017

Trained as an architect, I often mediate between my professional inclination to control form and composition, and my artistic instinct to play and improvise. The result of such a process is a series of whimsical characters, each with a unique story to tell, growing organically around the chroma and patterns of the chosen artifact. My work celebrates the commonplace of life, and invites its audience to appreciate the unexpected beauty that can be found everywhere.

See Right Through Me, Darius Woo, Collage On Paper, 11x15, $500.jpg
See Right Through Me
11x14in, 2017

Surprise!, Darius Woo, Collage On Paper, 11x15, $500.jpg
Surprise!
11x14in, 2017

The Banker, Darius Woo, Collage On Paper, 11x14, $500.jpg
The Banker
11x14in, 2017

Thank you for your support, and I hope you enjoyed seeing my collages!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @darius.woo! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you for your reminder!

Welcome to Steemit @darius.woo!

I did architecture for quite some time as well. You have some nice art pieces here, I like the incorporation of the repurposed ads? in the design?

thank you, stay tuned for more! Glad to meet a fellow architect. :)

Like wise! Following your adventures now!

fantastic! Exciting!

Welcome to Steemit @darius.woo, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Thank you very much for your support! Will definitely check it out.

Welcome to Steemit fellow artist!
I followed you, hope you follow back.

Thanks! Will do!

Welcome to Steemit @darius.woo! Great to have you aboard :) Looking forward to seeing more of your amazing collages and learning a bit about the process of making them. Great stuff!

Thank you! Looking forward as well!

Welcome Darius.woo!! Glad to see you, hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me ...

Thanks for your kind words! Live long and prosper!

great post dude...something new..following you

Thank you! I'd like to share my process with this great community!

hello~ darius.woo, Upvote & Follow is ou great strength.
Let's try to get along.

Yes! Lets keep in touch :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54