I'm Daniel, a vagabond painter

selfportdraussensmall.jpg
Plein air self portrait - Oil on board 8x12"

Hello Steem community! My name is Daniel, I'm a vagabonding oil painter. A few weeks ago I was in Sintra in Portugal, setting up a little street gallery to sell some of my artwork, when the scabies-ridden steemit-promotion-hobo @shla-rafia sat down next to me asking me for a lighter for his big joint. I had never heard about steemit before, but some hours and some grams later I knew a big lot more about, steemit, cryptocurrencies, the blockchain and those rich fucks who always vote on the wrong stuff. So, now I made an account.

sintrashop.jpg
my street gallery in Sintra

@shla-rafia lecturing me about steemit

sintraklein.jpg
a small sketch I painted at this spot

I'm living out of a backpack (I will probably make a post about my lightweight oilpainting kit soon), moving mainly by hitchhiking and sleeping outside or with friends, family or hosts. I do this because I have the drive to find new places and people to paint, and to get to know. I try to sell my Paintings on the street like in the photo above, which sometimes works good, sometimes not so much, depending on place and season. To augment this I am looking more into selling online in the future. I also draw quick ink portraits of people for money, which is a lot of fun but also super exhausing.

portrait.jpg
gotta keep that back straight

I paint exclusively from life, which in my opinion is the only way to make good realistic paintings. Photos lack the immediacy, the range of contrast and the focus, that I like about direct painting. Painting from live for me is a very intimate way of connecting to the nature and people that I encounter. It forces me to be in the moment, slow down, taking a close and precise look at what surrounds me and allows me to share and express my sensual appreciation of this visual world we live in.

bay.jpg
Playa del Muerto, Spain - oil on canvaspanel 8x12"

I paint figuratively/realisticly because for me our visual world, the world made up by light bouncing around, is an essential part of the universal human experience. I see realistic painting as a universal language that can be understood, or rather felt, by anyone regardless of cultural background, concepts, education or status. Right now I don't think or conceptualize much about my subjects. I just look for something that visually interests me, a light situation for example. My focus lies in deepening my understanding of this visual language, studying, trying to extend my technical abilities, not with the illusion that there will be an end to learning, but to build a strong foundation for my future work. Im painting quite small at the moment, but in the future, when I get faster and more firm in my technique I want to work on bigger canvases. My all time favourite painter and inspiration is Joaquin Sorolla who painted enormous light filled canvases directly from life.

pleinairsketch1small.jpg
Plein air sketch - oil on paper 8x6"

I will be posting works on steemit, but am also planning to do blogposts about travelling, busking, painting equipment etc. I also want to start filming timelapses of me painting and later getting into making painting tutorials, as I'd love to share what I'm learning. I'm interested in meeting other painters on this platform and to exchange skills and experiences.

Thats it, now I'll leave you with some photos and paintings!

InstaSave.jpg

sunset.jpg
sunset - oil on paper 8x10"

saomartin.jpg
Sao Martin do Porto, Portugal - oil on canvaspanel 8x6"

paloma2.jpg
Paloma - oil on canvaspanel 8x10"
pontevedra.jpg
Sunset in Pontevedra, Spain 8x6"

Ah, and the obligatory proof:
20180104_230412.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome :) Awesome pictures! I love the idea about the timelapse-videos, seems like a good thing to put on @dtube, STEEM's youtube!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my account for sharing promising newcomers! Greets, @theaustrianguy

Thanks a lot! Yes, I'll be looking into dtube for that.

Nice introduction and nice artwork, I hope one day you'll paint my face (hehehe). Welcome to steemit and best of luck.

This is absolutely fantastic! It's so nice seeing someone with as much passion as you, doing what they love to do and finding the best ways to do it! Truly inspirational! Welcome to Steemit!

Good post, very well written. Thanks for sharing. Really enjoyed reading this, you are filled with so much positiveness. Glad that I came across this today.

Thanks allesia!

I love your work. I will follow your blog and look forward to your travel and future artwork. Welcome to steemit!

@danieltee, welcome to Steemit. You have joined a great community.

My advice:

  1. Keep meeting people, especially in the comments section.
  2. Strive to write great content.

Great intro post. I loved your original artwork.

@sumatranate


FREE GIFT - Check out my online course about formatting your Steemit posts.

thank you for the advice!

Nice post 😊 you are awesome by doing the street gallery and portraits for people on the street. Thats what I was thinking to do long time ago, but somehow I got caught up with other things. Your artworks are wonderful, and Im glad to see your passion positivity and enthusiasm behind it. If you end up in Auckland New Zealand on your travels contact me. Welcome to the steemit community and wish you happy painting & steeming. 😊👍🖌🎨

thanks a lot! New Zealand is an awesome place, I was there many many years ago, at a time when i didn't paint. Would love to visit again one day, as the diverse landscape is perfect to paint. If I'll ever come, I'll let you know, thanks a lot for the offer.

Welcome. beautiful artworks. :D

Your work has so much soul! I'd love to see some process

This is some nice art! Resteemed for visibility!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60308.44
ETH 2640.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54