Hello Steemit! bluerocktalk introdued me

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemit! bluerocktalk introduced me

##

How Stan Larimer's History Lesson Led me Here
Hi, I’m just a mom - a mom who does all the mom stuff.
This amounts to alot of driving. Now, when your 8th grade daughter
somehow frees her eyes of the constant snapchat messages, looks over as you stop at the red light & asks-
"Do you want to hear what I learned about in history today?"
All you can do is smile & respond as cooly as possible - "Sure!"

She learned about George Washington and his cabinet. She spoke with enthusiasm while teaching me the differences between Hamilton and Jefferson - giving examples of their rivalry.

The very next day, my husband asked me if I wanted to listen to a podcast about bitcoin on Coast to Coast, hosted by Connie Willis. She was interviewing Stan Larimer (who I had never heard of before) He caught me by surprise as he detailed the definition of decentralization by using the example of the same two foes my daughter taught me about the day before.

Coincidence? Hmmm....

I connected with Stan immediately. I was meant to listen to this podcast, and I was hooked!
As I listened, what truly radiated through Stan's voice was how genuinely proud of his son he was. There is no doubt how strongly he honors his mission. I hold many of the the same values that were infused throughout the podcast. Values that lead me to question how this system has become so manipulated but most importantly,

How can I better guide my own 17 year old son, who has always walked his own path?
How do I not lose it when my contemporaries scowl at me b/c I did not start him in SAT prep classes as a toddler?
What approach do you take in guiding your child towards a future that is meaningful for him without trying to figure it out for him?

The time when he was just a sweet boy always willing to try out a sport, but left the soccer field or tennis court running thorugh the front door back to his computer has passed so quickly. The now high school man who likes to turn his iphone to android, and curiously has recently asked Dad to learn about bitcoin.

Is my answer somewhere here in Dan’s mission?

How do you teach your children in this day and age - when the outside seems to be pushing
towards centralization, oneness & mediocrity? As parents, we all look for those teachable moments - most often they are unplanned & unexpected... but they are the moments that count the most.

I’m thankful where this history lesson has led me
and I’m super excited to to share and be part of Steemit!

By the way, how much value does a mom have?

Sort:  

Welcome @daba to Steemit! Great introduction and thanks for sharing. I added, followed, and upvoted you on Steemit, will be awesome if you check out my written posts and follow me as well. If you like my post please upvote and resteem, and I hope we can stay connected and support each other~ :)!!!

thanks for the welcome - will follow & support you as well.

Thanks @daba for your support. Looking forward to your thoughts about my posts :) Upvoted to support

Welcome to Steemit @daba I hope you have a great time and have a lot of success .. !! Greetings

such great content!

Warm greetings and love, welcome to the platform :)

We have made some Discord groups or sub-communities which may help you grow faster, click here for further details :)

super & thanks for the welcome

my pleasure :)

Welcome to steemit

thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60111.17
ETH 2322.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53