The one where I talk about myself

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

This is my huge face.

10253979_787369271283990_7611391015697278946_n.jpg

Blogging has always been a bit tough for me. I have started a million and they have all sat empty while domain charges slipped through my bank account unnoticed until I cancel my card or am forced to pay attention by some overdraft fee. I am not a writer, have minimal grammar knowledge and am not particularly fantastic at any given thing. Jack of all trades, master of none comes to mind.

I do however, enjoy a myriad of topics and occasionally dabble in some. Although I am very much interested in content creation, I severely lack the ability to stick to a single topic or genre that is necessary to be "successful" on almost any platform. I guess what I'm trying to say is, I have absolutely no idea what is going to live here. How's that for an introduction?

Garbage aside, here is some stuff to know about me...

I love art. Making it, looking at it, talking crap about it. People say the eyes are the window to the soul, bullsh*t. It's your art. Whatever that is. Painting, drawing, writing code, blogging about food, making clothes, larping. What someone contributes to the world through physical action says so much more about their soul than eyeballs. I mean, I'm going to get literal here, but some people don't even have eyeballs.

Some of my art.

c8cd3240c007f6568408b48c67beba2f_clipped_rev_1.png

IMG_3436.JPG

IMG_3440.JPG

IMG_3572.JPG

(Everything is so huge...I've got to learn how to use this thing.)

I have also recently started making synthwave music so you will probably hear some of that in the future. I'm an 80's baby and love the throwback of the genre.

Books are wonders of the world. I have trouble getting to the end of them though. I have about a dozen half read novels sitting on my windowsill as I type this. Some of my favorites are...

The Catcher in the Rye
White Oleander
Moriarty
Anything by Edgar Allen Poe
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Huck Finn

I am currently also reading the graphic novel series Locke & Key by Joe Hill. I tried to read some of his novels, but they terrified me. I guess that means he's a good writer.

I'm also super into some television shows, movies and podcasts. Like, pretty into them. Almost stan levels if you speak millennial or whatever. Good stories and odd characters that dive into the reality of human behavior, as terrifying as it sometimes is, always captivates me. I enjoy things like Peaky Blinders, Mr. Robot, Bates Motel, Taboo, Animal Kingdom (the one on TNT), tons of true crime shows and documentaries as well as Bobs Burgers and musical theatre.

If you haven't figured it out by now, I'm sort of into dark, borderline macabre stuff. I'm not sure why. I think it has something to do with the realness of it that as a society we tend to either ignore or turn into some glorified freak-show. I suppose I'm interested in psychology, but I don't have the attention span to study it.

I've been obsessed with the Titanic ever since I was a kid. I remember walking across town to the library every weekend and sitting against the wall right next to the section of books about it and reading anything I could until they closed. I'm afraid of deep water but not of drowning in it and of gigantic things that protrude ominously out of the earth like mountains, or rocks in the ocean. But not because I read all those books. It's always been there.

IMG_3615.JPG

I'm a single mom to the coolest little dude ever. He's high functioning autistic and ADD which is both a blessing and a curse most days. He's hilarious, loves practical jokes, video games, drawing and building things with Legos. I never get bored.

As I wrote the above, I kept going back to what I have to offer this community and I think what I truly have to give is just myself. Me. A person. Probably a lot like some of you and the polar opposite of others. I'm not here to make money (I don't even really know what cryptocurrency or the blockchain are) Rather, I'm here to connect with people, learn from them, share stories and talk about things that interest me.

If you got this far, thanks for reading.

-Riley

20171205_104721.jpg

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @d0loresh4ze. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @d0loresh4ze to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

What a introduceyourself ! I love the style, keep doing what you do/think and post it, I'm voting and follow for sure =)

Welcome here !

Thank you! :)

I like your style, @d0loresh4ze. Big fan of off-kilter, quirky art. I'm currently working on a story inspired by one of Poe's short stories, so you've hit a few of my interests. Looking forward to seeing more from you.

Oh that's awesome! I am excited to read it will you post it? What story, if I might ask?

It's a screenplay, so I don't think the story format is really suited for this venue. And, since I'm only a third of the way in on my first draft, I'm going to be a bit precious right now and not say which story. It's both fun and challenging trying to create a larger world around a 3 page short.

BUT... When I finish, and if you're interested, I'd be happy to share it.

welcome! Glad to see a like minded person joining the platform. Live long and prosper!

well you know what, welcome to steemit. i don't think you have a huge face so you can skip that, i'm sure you will enjoy the platform and you will meet many cool people so welcome!

Haha. Thanks much!

Welcome to Steemit. I hope you like it here and enjoy your time here :)

Ok I’m down for a follow!

Thank you. I followed you back because I love music and your blog looks like I could discover some awesome artists from it. :)

I have a unique taste, I’m electronic through and through! I think I’m stocking purely to Music there, but who knows.

Well holy crap @d0loresh4ze! That’s probably one of the most genuine #introduceyourself rants that I’ve read. Welcome to Steemit! I know you don’t understand the platform right now, but you will in time. It’s a great community and a fun way to make money.

You should check out my post https://steemit.com/life/@komickaze/steemit-is-the-best-site-on-the-internet. As an artist and all around creative person, Steemit is an amazing platform for you to make money from your work. More people will see it faster than anywhere else, and it’s forever preserved on the blockchain, making you money with little effort.

I’m following you now!

Thanks! I will check your post out. :)

Welcome to Steemit, @d0loresh4ze! Pretty cool art! Following to see more :)

Thank you! And thanks for the follow. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45