Another guitarist on Steemit

Hi everyone! My name is Dan and I just arrived here a few days ago.  I'm a guitarist and musician living in the middle of the desert in the southwest United States.  (Thank goodness for my internet connection!)  I'm really excited to be here, and especially excited to start using dsound and dtube to share some original music with you.  I'm not famous (at all), but I am real, as you can see below:

Most people have at least one thing that they're really good at.  My thing is music, and the guitar is my medium.  I've always felt that no matter what happens to me in life, I've always got the guitar.

So about a year ago, I was teaching a guitar lesson, sitting across from a student, when I was distracted by a flying bug (insect) hoovering over the fluorescent light above our heads.  (Now the story gets really stupid.)  The bug stopped on the light cover and I saw my opportunity and swatted it - with a lot of force - with my left hand.  In case you don't know, guitar players (right-handed) press on the strings with their left hand.  

I saw the blood spatter on the wall as my hand came down.  The bug survived, in fact, he was completely unharmed.  Fluorescent light covers sometimes have sharp bubbles - that's what I cut myself on, badly.  There was a lot of swearing (from me) and the guitar lesson ended early.  I had someone drive me to the hospital, and five stitches later I was back home.  Very uncertain about my guitar present and future.

I had to completely change the way I play (after 30 years of playing.)  The cut was on the pad of my middle finger - the worst finger, the worst place.  That finger was not usable for months.  Anyway, I won't bore you with the rest - we've all had injuries.  I'm totally healed up now and ripping up my guitar again.

Have you ever been faced with the possibility that your best skill or talent could be taken away from you in an instant?  It can.  I was lucky, some people aren't.  Anyway, I hope this story helps you learn a bit more about me.

And the moral of this story: If you want to squash a bug, use your shoe.  Happy to be here - thanks for reading!

-Dan

Sort:  

very nice post dear @curiousguitar


Welcome to Steemit @curiousguitar!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Great to have you on steemit bro ,

Thank you, @rohitgiri1 - I appreciate it!

welcome to steemit have a good time

Hello Dan, welcome to steemit, I hope you will have fun!

There are lots of people here interested in great musicians.
Looking forward to hear some of your stuff.

Thanks @carpedimus - I'm working on it now. Thank you!

Welcome, Dan! Great to have you here, friend :) Looking forward to your HITS! Followed ;)

Thanks @wild-forest - I appreciate it!

Hi @curiousguitar! There can never be enough guitarists on Steemit! Its great to see more are joining! Looking forward to all your future posts! We should follow each other to help our start on Steemit

Thanks @cryptomian! I think you'll do well here - seems to be a playground for coders and crypto people. I appreciate your support!

Always the shoe! Got it.
(Learning from others, my mom would be proud.)
Welcome Dan!

Yes, you've got it. Thank you!

Hey Dan! We can always use more guitarists on the platform! Check out #openmic - they have a weekly competition... anyway...

You've been featured in The Fresh Five!
It's a daily post designed to help introduce brand new Steemians to the community.

We're all here to help you find new friends and answer any questions you might have.

Here is the link, come say hello:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-fresh-five-for-march-30th-new-steemians-you-should-get-to-know

We have a new competition at the moment too. Here are the details:
https://steemit.com/fresh5/@thefreshfive/the-new-fresh-five-delegation-for-curation-initiative-help-find-great-new-steemians-and-be-rewarded-with-sp

Welcome to Steem!

Thank you @thefreshfive - it's really wonderful to be welcomed so warmly. I've been checking out openmic per your recommendation, yes, it looks like a fun place to get involved. Thanks for that!

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and you rock.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66121.65
ETH 3564.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14