Friends and fellow Steemates! Introduction into my world as a Scientist.

My life as a scientist

Hello future friends and fellow Steemates! My name is Mike, I am a graduate student of molecular biology and I would like to share with you a glimpse into my life, what I do and my blog--CryptoScience. First and foremost, I will share with you all my life and how I became interested in science and biology.

20151215_160338.jpg Me at the American Society of Cell Biologists Annual Meeting in San Diego, California.

Early days

My teenage days was kind of a dark time for me in that I ran around got into trouble, as many adolescents do, but I was spiraling down the wrong path. This changed when I found a mentor who taught me to believe in myself, and who also believed in me and told me that I had the potential to become a doctor one day. So I set out to learn and master everything that an aspiring student must learn to become a medical doctor--the trifecta of science: physics, chemistry and biology.

Looking through an older Olympus Microscope.

Research interests

During this great time of discovery, I found an interest in biological research and joined a stem cell research lab where we transform stem cells into cardiac cells for treatment of heart disease. My role in the lab is that of a graduate student and I perform various duties such as cell culture, immunohistochemistry and fluorescence microscopy; in this process we stain and analyze cells using high-powered microscopes. We also clone DNA using a thermocycler, which is essentially a "DNA copy-machine", a device that heats and cools the DNA in order to make additional copies. We do many other techniques, but these are the coolest by far and all that we have time to cover in this write-up.


Fig.1: Cardiac myocyte stained against cardiac troponin T (green). Nuclei are indicated by DAPI staining (blue). Image captured at 100x using an Olympus confocal microscope.

I must say we do some very bizarre things in the name of science--everything from parabotic conjugation (look it up), to somatic cell nuclear transformation, all the way to cloning organisms and even creating artificial wombs! What other bizarre things are we capable of? The answer is: anything you can dream of certainly can become a reality--maybe not in our lifetime, if it is too far fetched.

()
Photo licensed under Creative Commons Inc.

What is CryptoScience?

This is where I transition into my CryptoScience Blog, a place where I will be discussing future innovations in the internet of things (IoT), artificial intelligence, the potential of blockchain technology to be integrated into modern biology, science and medicine--basically anything relating to science, technology and crypto! I am very excited to be a part of this new global movement: the digital currency revolution; and I will be breaking down the technical details and the complex nature of scientific innovation into easy to read blogs that I think could benefit the Steemit Community.

Thank you all for your time. It is my hopes to be an active part of this community, I think we can all benefit from each other in the days to come. If you'd like to find out more about science, technology and crypto, follow me on Steemit and twitter https://twitter.com/cryptoscientst

logo.png

Sort:  

Welcome Mike, I'm sure you will find this a wonderful experience for someone in your background. The bitcoin and crypto field is hot and we have a large community paying attention to what is going on. The main thing to remember is to be as engaging with others as possible and develop a following. Your work will I'm sure be an attractant, so if you engage them you will have much success. If you have any questions or need any help, just ask anyone (and of course I'd be happy to help you at any time). Take care and again, welcome aboard!

Thank you Dave for the kind words and great advice. I think the my new thirst for learning to code will increase as I learn more about HTML 5 and CSS elements. Coding is definitely a new hobby for me and I am glad to now have more motivation to learn. Crypto and the overall study of blockchain will continue to grow and even though I was a bit late to the party, I believe it is better to be a late early adopter than to be late adopter or even a laggard.

I'm in the financial side of the world and that is exactly the same philosophy we apply. Of course you can't always get in at the bottom, but at least you can get in "near" the bottom (if you have the proper perspective)... Again welcome and enjoy experience Mike!

Welcome!! Nice to meet another scientist here!! Really looking forward to your post !!

btw I am currently hosting a science picture contest with 30 sp and 20sbd prize. Feel free to see if you are interested :D
https://steemit.com/sciencepic/@mcw/christmas-science-picture-challenge-1-with-sbd-and-sp-prize-1-sbd-sp

Thank you! I will consider entering the science picture contest!

G'day Mike. What an awesome field of study! I'm a Medical student and attended a lecture this year about some of the first trials using in-vitro bread cardiomyocytes in heart failure patients. I love the concept of creating artificial organs (specificially hearts) for organ transplants - and I'm watching this sphere very closely at the moment. Will be interesting to see how they stack up against mechanical options. Your thoughts?

It seems like we are limited in artificial heart muscle replacement in many ways, but I see that developing strong, rigorously contracting cardiac muscle is limited by its lack of functional maturity in vitro. Development is a dynamic process that progresses onward from birth. We need to develop rigorous contracting healthy cardiac tissue in that can form a function unit (organ).

Welcome to steemit @cryptoscience. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @cryptoscience to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thank you @tuanis I appreciate you insight. What is treeplanter and original works? You don't have to answer that, i will look it up now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58443.62
ETH 2524.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34