Sort:  

I read through the post and I'm like, "I consider myself a Christian, and I'm offended by this."

Salt irritates and preserves. If I am wrong on any point I welcome correction. Jesus said the true path is narrow.

I did bring up one part of what bothered me in my direct comment, but to expound on something I thought about during my lunchtime walk... If I consent that Christianity is the one true faith, what version of Christianity is? Not only do we have divides among Catholics, Orthodox, Coptics, Protestants and anabaptists, but even within those divisions we have people with all sorts of differing beliefs, many of which can effectively defend their position. We have people who believe whole-heartedly in the trinity, we have people who believe Jesus is subordinate to G-d instead of co-equal. We have people who believe in just war and violence, and we have people who would rather sacrifice themselves to an attacker than to hurt even that attacker... without getting into all the defining characteristics of different beliefs, it's impossible to give a blanket statement about Christianity and call it the one true faith, because it isn't one faith. As I said in my other comment, the man Christianity is named after was a Jew, so how do we as Christians relate to Judaism? Are they simply not Christian and therefor are going to some place of eternal punishment/separation from G-d? If Judaism has no part in the "one true faith" then why is the whole first half of the Bible Jewish scripture, and why do so many people in the second half refer to the first with reverence?

I call myself a Christian, even if I use the term loosely, and I just want you to consider what saying it's the "one true faith" fully implies. We were called to live like Jesus, following all the things he instructed, not to tell other people they aren't doing it right.

I have read the bible and The Origin Of The Species and a slow gradation of organisms over an achingly long time, as opposed to a snake, talking to white people in a garden (somehow behind the omnipresent god's back); much more plausible.

So if you need correction, read the Origin Of The Species; which by the way, the church fully accepted at the time. They tried to weave their own racism into it, by saying that Man descended from 8 different progenitors; this helped them reconcile slavery, by saying when he said "all men equal", he meant all caucasian men.

From the videos you post it seems like you're pretty deep into it, so I know this is pointless debate; almost as pointless as praying to a being who knows in advance what's going to happen, therefore can't change its mind, unless of course it knew it was going to change its mind. Which would mean, it wasn't changing its mind, just doing what it knew it would do.

CG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84