Help - questions about curation

So far I have learned that if I upvote directly I will get 0% curation. When I upvote after 30 minutes I will get 25% curation. From minute 0 to 30 the percentage is moving upward lineair.

Next item I've learned is that a person that upvotes early also gets part of the curation from people upvoting after them. Combining those 2 items results in the general curation strategy to upvote somewhere around 20 minutes.

how works the curation formula precisely?

Although I've read many posts about this subject I never saw the exact formula. Which makes me wonder if anyone knows it? Or is it a very difficult algorithm?

what happens with upvotes after 30 minutes?

Do these get any curation? How much?
421FDA3B-D509-4388-881E-028D65AC7625.jpeg

Sort:  

Good question, sadly I dont have the answer but I look forward to seeing you get it so I can learn myself. If you have the time to view my blog whilst you are awaiting your answer then please do. All the best @dan21050

good question i am new here and i believe i will learn from your question.
I just upvoted followed you , please do follow and upvote me as well.
Thanks

hello @crypto-econom1st and welcome to steemit!

this is a great place with a great community .. glad to have you.
@ricmark

I'm actually not totally new. But just like a lot of other users I used this tag hoping that a lot more experienced users would read my question. So are you able to answer it?

And what is the answer to my question?
I mean how is this on topic?

Don't quote me on this as I'm not 100% sure, but this is what I've gathered about the process so far...

As you said, curation rewards increase over time from 0-30mins, reaching approximately 25% curation reward at the 30 minute mark.

AFAIK curation rewards are capped at 25% after that.

But there's also another contradicting algorithm that gives curators more of the reward that "get there before the others" so to speak. So for example, although % reward increases the longer you wait, the more people that have already voted before you, the less you will get.

Overall I wouldn't really look into it too much unless your vote is actually worth a lot.

My vote for example is worth $0.01 so I'm not really going to get anything regardless of when I vote... Just vote on what you think is worth voting for.

What does AFAIK mean?
I do understand that voting after 30 minutes also gives me 25% curation. So it would best of nobody upvotes in the first 30 minutes, then I upvote and then a few big whales upvote 😬

If your vote is worth $0.01, do you by any chance know how much SP you need to increase your VP with 1 cent?

Sorry, AFAIK stands for as far as I know.

Yeah that'd be the ideal situation.

Well, I have about 28 SP currently with a VP of $0.01 for what it's worth... Off the top of my head I can't remember where you could easily find the information out about other VP/SP figures... Just check out different people's wallets and compare their VP to SP.

I succeeded in getting my first curation rewards. For the last week I have now received 0.023 SBD. Do you have any idea if this is a high or low amount? It looks like nothing, but perhaps it is pretty nice in relation to my small SP of 15...?

It's a low amount, but curation rewards are hard to come by when you're starting out, I don't get much more than that either.

You're more likely to get the majority of your money from author rewards tbh, but it's a slow process, take time to build up a following and start getting noticed etc.

I Actually think that it should be possible to gain 15 times as much curation as minnow with 15 SP. So that would be about 0.3SBD.

And you could be right that you get better author earnings when you've build a following. But that could take a few months. And in the beginning it is a bit frustrating as you only get 3 views for a post and close to none upvotes.

Thanks for this conversation. I followed you.

No worries mate, thanks for the follow, I appreciate it :)

Ahh maybe idk, I just know that I've got negligible curation rewards in the past, I barely notice the extra SP that I gain from it.

Thanks for your contribution @crypto-econom1st, you got a 0.03% upvote from @canalcrypto!
70% of your contribution goes to our delegators so if you'd like to help us push posts even harder while earning some extra steems please consider delegating to @canalcrypto. You can delegate your SP here: https://steembottracker.com/delegation.html (Delegator = your username, delegatee = canalcrypto), thanks in advance for your support.

To be honest I was only trying if using bots is profitable. And this first test is not really promising. Since the reward for my post didn't go up. But that could be caused either by my very small bid or the way you work....?

Perhaps you used it wrong. On the website there is a suggested max bid, if you make a bigger bid that recommended you risk making a non profitable bid... that's that simple ;-) You cannot make a bid 'too small' though (it's just that profits will be low as well). Bots are programmed to be profitable (they even consider the 25% curation reward included in each vote so a 1 SBD bid will generate a 1,67 SBD vote (25% for the curation pool and 75% - 1 SBD for your reward / post). BUT you have to look carefully at the max bid advised and ideally bid lower that advised to be sure.

I took that into account. At the moment I placed my 0.01 SBD bid it suggested a maximum bid of 0.02 SBD. The total value of the bot was $0.17 and there were already bids for $0.10.

In the end I received 0.03% upvote. So this means the total SBD send to the bot was 0.01/0.03*100%=33.33.

This looks impossible, cause do you really think someone offered such an amount for such a low valued upvote?

Unfortunately it happens you were probably unlucky as I've seen people bidding insane amount because they don't know how to use bots and by doing so they make all the other bidders to loose their bets as well. That's why it's called a bet as most of the time it's profitable but sometimes you get a silly bidder that fake the odds (no idea why they do that though). Sorry again you experienced that on the first bet.

No problem. I noticed the same. The advice is to make your bid last minute. But even then this is a thread, cause more people make a bid at the last moment. And we both know the result when this happens.

I think there is only one party that can be 100% certain they will earn money via this construction, the bots themselves.

I'm trying to figure out a better way to operate for the bots. But so far I can't come up with something better. Any ideas?

We could automatically refund any bid when above a certain threshold. Threshold being the bot being profitable ;-) But it imply the bot would be relying on the conversion rate as well so there is no way to make sure of it everytime. Cheers,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63