My first thoughts about Steemit – Steem for artists/creators similar to the advent of royalties 100+ years ago.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I posted an introduction post. It got about 20 views and made $1.30. I think that is pretty amazing. This might not seem to be a lot for more experienced Steemers but I had no expectations and if I think about all the original creative content I’ve pumped into Facebook for free for about 8 years! Even if I just got a few cents for all of those posts throughout the years…there’d be enough money to buy an occasional dress, meal or even go on a city trip within Europe every year (you can get them on sale for 300Euros).
I remember hearing that when Hollywood was founded over 100 years ago, there existed no copyright or royalties. That means that if you worked on a movie etc. you would get paid for that work only but never received a cent more. So a lot of those old Hollywood classics that are deeply ingrained in our cultural identity never benefitted the actors/creators past the original creation….until the advent of royalties.
I wonder if the beginning of the internet and social media in the last 30 years will later be seen this way as well. Even though it has tremendously improved the quality of our lives, it nearly destroyed artistic professions and most of us have been forced to adapt, go back to school, learn something “useful” and get a “real” job and continue our actual callings as hobbies….until now. Steemit might be the modern version of the introduction of those royalties over 100 years ago.
I’ve continued to create throughout these years. I couldn’t help it. Sometimes it takes weeks to record a song just perfectly and to make a video for it. Then I’d post it on youtube, which was blocked by facebook, so I’d post it on facebook….and was happy if it appeared in the newsfeeds of my friends at all…
I was happy if it made someone happy. This had become my reward.
I’d have fantasies about maybe in 100 years an internet archaeologist would find my projects online somewhere and realize they had value and that I was just living in the wrong time period...much like other artists that were poor and ignored during their lifetimes but celebrated after their deaths.
I never stopped believing in my talent and skills although this world didn’t seem to value them anymore.
So thank you Steemit! I’m going to go buy that cup of coffee in our cafeteria at work now that my first post paid for!
Here is my gift in return for the first cup of coffee.
A recording I made of "Ebben n'andro lontana" from the opera La Wally by Catalani (1892)
https://soundcloud.com/cocoherden/ebben-nandro-lontana
This is incredible. I’m so grateful!
<3 Corinna
image

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @corinnaherden I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey @corinnaherden ! Love your post! Looking forwards to learn more! Super interesting what you mentioned with hollywood etc. I wasn't aware of that. Seems like you've come to the right community now then! Followed!

Welcome to Steemit! I wish you a good days and inspiration to create in our community! Please follow me :)

Nice to meet you, @corinnaherden! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

nice to meet you Corinna! facebook is earning all the rewards that should (at least a portion) belong to the authors, that's why i like Steemit more

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad to see you getting involved here and joining in. I hope your experience here is pleasant!

Welcome! Pretty cool huh? to now be able to make a little money while posting! :) Have a great day and I look forward to seeing more of your posts @corinnaherden.

Following and upvoted

Great - you are going to be very popular soon! What you had posted on Facebook had alway been high Quality and original, and that is what this platform is looking for! Facebook blocked your YouTube? Maybe be careful with Steemit posts (don't share them too often on FB), I suspect that sharing a lot of my Steemit posts (and those by others) earned me time in Facebook Jail (still in it, so I opened another account). If you, or anyone else reading this is interested, maybe check it out, it should serve as a warning, not a vehicle for me to earn upvotes.
https://steemit.com/facebook/@thermoplastic/wtf-facebook-i-am-royally-pissed-off

Thanks Otto! Yes FB blocks youtube because it wants you to post videos on Facebook. I'm tired of their control and greed. I'll read your article tomorrow. Just got back from the Sting concert...going to zzzzz

Facebook: with my new account, I stay in touch with my friends where I have no other contact, otherwise f@€k Facebook.
You are all over the place - me, I am happy if I just manage a walk in the park, lol. While you where whooping it up at the Sting concert, I did the old people thing, walking in the park of the Kurzentrum Oberlaa and having a Mango Shake and Cheesecake at the Konditorei there.

Bahahaha the old people thing...Ottilein....Sting is no spring chicken either.

🍺 I drink to that! 🐥

Wow...i like your mind...;)) and that dress matching the table ... U look like Alice in wonder land :@----

Hahahaha I like matching my environment. It make life more colorful.

even black and white can be magic... :*.. :P
giphy.gif

You'r intro post is still getting upvotes. It's close to $10. You should see your posting rewards in 7 days. Remember once the rewards are paid out you can't edit posts. Before that you can edit posts. Keep your master password secure. Don't use it to log in instead use you'r private posting key for posting, commenting and voting. I think your doing great. Congratulations, I think you will very soon have many followers.

Thank you. I didn't know that. What is a posting key? Thanks!!!

https://steemit.com/steemit-guides/@rgeddes/getting-your-posting-key---made-easy
good thing you asked - I didn't know that either.
If you have a question, a lot of times you find answers if you click on the search icon top right and write in a search query.
I do have a problem with my posting key: I store my passwords in my Norton Vault, and under Steemit and my username, I can only have one password. I was going to enter the posting key and then added the url and my username, but Norton would not let me do that. I got a pop-up from Norton saying I have to put in a different username since this one is in use already. Of course, that wouldn't work, so I am stuck with having my posting key on a text file (now, how safe is that?)

your long password that you receive when you first activate your account is very important to keep in secure vault since if it's lost it can not be recovered. I use LastPass it has mobile app to store all my passwords securly. Even LastPass do not have access to the passwords, its highly recommended. You can get free month premium if you use my invitation link https://lastpass.com/f?9780236 it's $12 a year. You can use it for free after that. I believe mobile is free. Not bad. Also read about 2nd factor authentication. This adds extra mechanism of authentication to make it a little more difficult if someone tries to access your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38