Introducing Colibri Folk Remedies; A Story About Silver Linings

edit.jpg

Sometimes in life, it seems as if things have to fall apart for others to come together. Often it’s these moments that give birth to new opportunities, and if we aren't paying careful attention, we may miss them altogether. See, that’s the funny thing about opportunity. “It has a sly habit of slipping in by the back door, and often it comes disguised in the form of misfortune, or temporary defeat.” (Napoleon Hill in Think And Grow Rich, page 20). This is no doubt the reason why most neglect to behold the window of possibility that presents itself in the face of adversity.

...My name is Giles and this the story of how Colibri Folk Remedies came to be from a hobby to a business...

20191223_005722finaledit.jpg

I can remember 6 months ago now, getting the property I had been working on bush hogged after months of opening up space and making room for development. It was an exciting time indeed. I was still beyond optimistic that if I could just get a head start on the maintenance of the 10 or so acres of old, overgrown cow pasture, that I could keep it up by myself. It hadn’t fully dawned on me just how daunting of a task I was attempting to undertake. Trying to go back over 10 acres of field with a push mower following its recent clearing with a bush hog is next to impossible. Except for, impossible wasn’t part of my vocabulary. Nevertheless, many months and about ten push mowers later I was facing inevitable defeat. It was only when I tore up 3 mowers in a matter of 3 days that I finally reached the point of giving up. Yet it was in that disappointment that I was able to let go of my obsession to keep up with the land long enough to shift my focus to something much more fun and rewarding.

20190712_151804.jpg

Everyone who knows me at all will attest that when I put my mind to something, I am unstoppable. With the momentum of a freight train I go after whatever it is I set my heart on. As I began my impractical task of keeping up with the property maintenance, I soon noticed how many wild flowers were growing everywhere! Flowers I had never seen before and were not familiar with. The first one that stuck out to me was Passionflower, one of the most (if not the most) beautiful flowers I ever had the pleasure of laying my eyes on. It almost didn't seem real to me. How was it I had never seen one before?

20190730_162320crop.jpg

As the weeks went by and I cut the grass, I started to come across them in my immediate pathway. This almost instantly induced conflicting feelings within me, as it just seemed wrong to mow down such beautiful creations…I decided, after finding out that they were edible, that I would eat them as I came up on them and enjoy them so fully, that they're life was not lost in vain. This soon proved to be a ridiculous idea because of just how many of them were blossoming. Each morning there were anywhere from 30-50 new blooms. After the first couple days of eating Passionflowers and making tea with them I thought there had to be more that I could do with them. I called my partner up and explained the situation to which she replied, "Why don't we make some flower essences with them?". Soon after it was off to the races.

20190729_133603crop.jpg

Each day, whilst cutting grass, I would stop and commune with the flowers that came across my path, asking for permission to harvest them for medicine and give their lives even more meaning. What started out as a hobby quickly became much, much more. As the days passed and it got increasingly harder to cut the grass without completely destroying the mowers, it became clear to me that the universe had other plans for me...so after falling just short of what was supposed to be the last cut of the year, I submitted defeat and accepted that making this medicine was where I needed to be focusing my relentless drive. The rest is part of the story that I am currently living.

So when things seem to be working against you or not going the way you planned, take a deep breath, remember that things are always working out for you and consider that maybe...just maybe what appears to be a failure, is really just a blessing/opportunity in disguise. 🤠💙🌸🌼🌺🏵💮

20190730_165325crop2.jpg

Credits and Thank you's:
All photos/videos are original and my own documentation of this story.
Thank you @SpencerCoffman for taking the time to make a post on how to make introduction posts. This has been very helpful and informative. After watching your videos and trying to meet all the criteria to make a great post, I think I have done well.
Thank you @algimantas for taking the time to make a post about how to add a video into your post. That wasn't hard at all!

Thank you each and every one of you Steemians for taking the time to read and upvote this post! I look forward to being a part of this community and providing quality content. I look forward to telling my story as it progresses. I look forward to sharing the information and knowledge that I have, whilst learning all the way.

"So, thanks to all at once and to each one" (Shakespeare in MacBeth, Final Scene)

Sort:  

And we are looking forward to having you! I run the @naturalmedicine community (check out www.naturalmedicine.io and post from there to earn LOTUS tokens.. your content certainly suits) ... we welcome you wholeheartedly!!!

Oh wow! That is so awesome! I love how engaging people are on this platform :) Thank you for the warm welcome @riverflows I am super exited to check out the @naturalmedicine community! I've been getting more invested in that path and into myself and as they say "they more you learn, you less you know". I feel like i've got so much to learn...

Life is always learning... that's the fun thing! Always here to lend a hand. @minsmallholding this is the account I wanted to share but lost until I got reply just then!

@riverflows I clicked the account link but it said that page doesn't exist?

Welcome to the blockchain, @colibrifremedies. You definitely will find a big welcome in the @naturalmedicine community!

Thank you @novacadian I'll definitely check them out!

Welcome to the Steemit community @colibrifremedies!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.
This reminded me of when we had nasturtiums in our front yard, used to use those on salads as they have a mild horseradish taste to them. Fantastic information.

Eight suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, keychain and steemconnect,
  3. The master password is only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your passwords; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit,
    be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once, and
  7. When you open your steemit.com, in the upper right corner of the page there are 3 bars. Click on those, and then on the "welcome", and you will get a lot of reading material that will help you.
  8. Do NOT open any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @xcountytravelers and @brittandjosie from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Steemians available who can help you; you can click to go to the Steem Terminal in Discord here:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Have fun and happy Steeming!

@jamerussell Thank you for the upvote and for the suggestions, I will mind them carefully. Oh and thank you for the tip on nasturtiums...I recently heard about them from a friend of mine who said he wants to grow them. I'm definitely going to have to look into them.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @wesphilbin.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

@colibrifremedies,

I was just reflecting on the mantra of "there are no accidents in life" What a wonderful introduction as well as beautiful story. I am a Moderator for the @steemterminal as well, along with @jamerussell, and do welcome you. I am also in the @naturalmedicine community with @ riverflows. See... no accidents.

I look forward to seeing your journey on the Blockchain, as well as the next story. Merry Christmas to you my friend!

@alliedforces curate2

!trdo

Congratulations @wesphilbin, you successfuly trended the post shared by @colibrifremedies!
@colibrifremedies will receive 0.03271388 TRDO & @wesphilbin will get 0.02180925 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

This TRDO token is pretty cool. Thanks @wesphilbin!

You got some love from a member of @thealliance family!
Keep up the great work and join us in The Castle sometime!
The #spreadlovenotwar curation campaign is under the guidance of witnesses @enginewitty and @untersatz.
Current VP: 97.03%

There are no accidents indeed. I do feel I have landed in the right community and I look forward to seeing where things go from here.

Wonderful story! Welcome to Steemit and hope you enjoy the ride. By the way, guess what book I am reading right now? Yes, Napoleon Hill - about to start on chapter 3!

Reading that book I realize that most people already know the obvious common sense in it - we just forget it, and more importantly, we don't apply it. Welcome!

@journeyofanomad You don't say! That's awesome! I'm actually finishing up chapter 2 myself! That book is something else...truly there are treasures beyond measure in that reading material. It is priceless. And yes I agree a lot of it is obvious common sense but the system we are brought up in seems to beat it out of us by time we are done with high school. It is good to know I am in the company of THINKERS though! I appreciate the warm welcome.

Welcome to Steem colibrifremedies! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome to Steem! I hope you enjoy your time here. You'll find me around on naturalmedicine from time to time. I also hang out in Steem Terminal and with the Pay it Forward Curation contest which is a great way to meet people. ( @pifc is the user name there - take a look at what we're doing.)
There are lots of great people here!

This has truly been a unique experience althought it appears commonplace for steemit. I am truly blown away by the amount of engagement I got on my introduction post haha thank you for the warm welcome @viking-ventures and I do greatly appreciate being pointed in the right direction ^.^

There are a number of groups that recognize newbies. The next step is harder - it honestly takes 4-6 months to build a good following, so be patient. But you've already taken a number of steps in the right direction, including getting involved on Discord.

@viking-ventures yeah I kinda figured folks like to engage with newcomers here and give em a little boost to get started. I do love discord though. I've been using it for the past 2 years. Great tool!

Welcome aboard @colibrifremedies!

I highly recommend connecting with the @naturalmedicine folks and the @homesteaderscoop folks.

Love the flowers!
Cheers and Happy Steeming!

Thank you @ jacobpeacock for the warm welcome and for pointing me in the right direction! Several folks pointed me towards @naturalmedicine and some from their community even reached out! Its been an exciting first post!

You are quite welcome. Happy Steeming!

Thank you! I am happy to be here and glad I finally set up the account. I've been putting it off...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55