Hi Steemit! My introduction To A Place Where Everyone Will Know My Name :)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

ken photo Ken_zpsoxvgjde2.jpg

I'm Ken!

I'm 35 years old and an Ohio native who now lives in the heart of Los Angeles. Grew up in a small town of 2000 people where everyone knew everything about everyone. It was actually a great upbringing and, looking back, would not trade it for another one. I have amazing parents who are key to the drive I have in life to be successful. More on that later.

 I got hooked on stocks my Junior year in HS when we had a stock picking contest and that jump started my financial career. I also collected baseball cards and coins with my dad in the late 80's early 90's. Remember when we all thought those cards would increase in value? Well that didn't happen lol.  I went to Ohio State and got even more hooked on stocks and also got into buying undervalued coins and selling them for extra money. I bartended for a few years during school and hard work got me promoted into management. 

All this time I was reading book after book on stock trading and found an amazing trader as a mentor. Made some great money during the financial crisis but it was short lived. My parents lost their house and declared bankruptcy. So I took all the money out of the market and bought them the house they live in today. It has really strapped me at times not having that money liquid for other things but it was the right thing to do. They raised me! 

I was the Genteral Manager of a huge bar/restaurant in Columbus For 7 years. I stayed single for many years because I saw  all the bad relationships and sleaziness that happens and it was a turn off. Then 1 day a beautiful woman walked in the bar. Approached me right away and I knew instantly she was different. I went out on my first official "date" in 3 years the next morning for breakfast and we both knew right away. She is now my gorgeous wife who is also an AMAZING person. 

She was/is a flight attendant who just happened to be on a layover in Columbus that night. After a few months I moved out to LA where we have been ever since. It's actually been a blessing. A ton of opportunity out here. I'm currently a Regional Manager for a major restaurant group overseeing multiple million dollar locations. Because she is a flight attendant, we both have free flights all over the world. This will be a constant Steemit post for me as we travel to exotic places and soak up the culture of the world. 

Peeling back, I'm also 5 years into a startup company for coins and precious metals. I've even created a dynamic auction website you can see in my info. I'll do a video on it in the future. It's only been live a month so I am still building the customer base but things are going great!

Speaking of great...We just found out we have this little guy on the way! I'm excited to be a dad :)

Life is good right now which is one of the main reasons I love Steemit. Trolls don't make the cut here. It's all about positivity and people helping people. I love it!

Ill wrap it up for this post but here is why I'm here. My parents are about to retire. I am about to have a baby boy. I want more time with my family that I love. I want to have the money to move my parents out here so they can enjoy their grandchild. I promised myself I'd never let opportunities slide passed me again. Those stories are for another post :)

I thought I was on my way  until Cryptsy happened a few years ago. I lost 17,611,000. Do the math on today's value of that. So I was forced to start over and push back the timeline on all those dreams.

I feel like I have a ton to contribute and you will all be seeing a lot of me. I accumulate rare coins that I'll write education posts about I am always up for a message if you want to know how much a coin you have or run across is worth. I have a big following on Instagram in the bullion community and I want to diversify. Plus more. 

Thanks for reading! I am enjoying reading all of your posts! Contact me for anything. I am here to learn and help.

Ken

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit! Hope you have fun!

Thanks for reading!

Welcome @coinhawk.

Congrats on the coming little one, we just had our fifth! They sure are a blessing!

Welcome to Steemit Ken!
When we lose it all is when we find out what is truly important to us.
Congrats on your new journey!

Completely agree. No amount of money can come close to the love I feel. The money I am going after is to bring loved ones closer and be with them longer.

Nice intro. I am not really a coin collector, but rather a precious metals stacker. I checked out your website. Best of luck to you and your family.

It's still in beta. Just like Steem. It's fully functional and fun. I'm just adding different style of auctions. It currently has 350 registrations. It's only been a month. I will be adding in a lot of bullion and Crypto

Welcome. Great post. Many blessings to your, your wife and the baby on the way! Your parents clearly did an amazing job raising you! I look forward to your posts.

Welcome aboard the Steem chain @coinhawk. I think you'll do very well here. @wthomas

Welcome to Steemit Ken!

Thank you so much. Read a few of your posts. Looking forward to more

Thanks and yours too!

Welcome to Steemit dude, good luck.
@tremendospercy

Thank you. Looks like we have the same interests. Hopefully we stay connected!

I too was screwed by cryptsy! I feel your pain. Welcome to steemit, @coinhawk! If you follow @trevonjb, you might find my blog and youtube channel interesting as well. I post similar content.

Cheers,
@clayford08

Welcome, happy to meet you @coinhawk

So sorry to hear you got swindled but love the silver lining in your tale - the imminent arrival of your son! Congratulations!

Your reason for being here is admirable and I salute you for it.

I will follow you and expect GREAT posts from you ;-)

Thank you. Cryptsy still haunts me every time I see the price spike. I made all the right decisions and yet it still didn't work out. I am in the Class Action but they are only giving cash back. Lost all of the current upward price movement in Crypto.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60997.20
ETH 2384.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56