Coach lost 67kg (147lbs) on LCHF

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

My story
“For my family and I it was an uphill struggle for many years. I tried everything, from professionals to quick help guides, yet the weight kept going up and we just got sicker, slower and in more pain. I believed there was no hope for my husband and I.

We kept our son's diet as healthy as we could and were strict on what he was allowed and what he was not allowed at all. He was never allowed coffee or soft drinks, very occasional treats, and only healthy breakfast, lunch and supper with lots of vegetables and grains. Or what we thought to be healthy.........
January 2015, we noticed that in just one year, our son (11 at the time) had picked up a lot of weight and was struggling with his energy levels, schoolwork and mood.

Well, this just would not do. I was not about to let our son go through a life of struggle, pain and body restrictions, while he was so young. He always had the most gorgeous smile and he was my sunshine. His smile was fading, his happy outlook on life started to fade, and this most of all broke my heart in pieces.

This is when I set out again to find the answer. It is one thing to give up on yourself, but I can not, and I would not, give up on him. Yes, I found loads of lose weight quick schemes and weight loss pills and hormone injection. Now, while I am willing to try these on myself, there was no way I would ever allow our son to take these. Onward and keep going was the only option.

Determined, I spend a week reading and researching everything I could find, from "effects of foods on the body" to "life hacks for healthy eating" (keeping in mind that I am dyslectic). Non of the literature and research made any sense. What confused me most was, that when you really go deep into research, most everyone agrees that sugar and gluten is actually no good for us. But, the health guidelines all state that we need sugar and we need grains to survive.

I came across a video on YouTube, and in my tired and warn down state I watched it for a bit of comic relief. "This guy is totally bonkers" I thought to myself. We all know that fat makes you fat and you will end up with a butt load of health issues, if we were to eat how he suggested. In his video, he was saying that you need more butter, lard and bacon & eggs. I had to compose myself after laughing so hard that I got cramps in my side.

We are taught that dieting is hard, tasteless and without anything yummy to help shove it down the throat. To eat 6 to 8 times a day. Now this man was saying that a delicious rump steak with the fat, veggies fried in butter, a breakfast of bacon, eggs and mushrooms, will make you healthy and help you to lose the weight! This was ridiculous! Preposterous! It just could not be that easy......... Could it?

This sent me in a totally different direction. I was determined to find out if there was any truth to this theory. After all, who would not love to eat delicious foods and lose weight, "am I right"?

I threw myself into this research, with the idea that I'm going to prove this is total hogwash! To my supersize I found more than I had set out to, I found very old and new research that made complete sense.....if you could believe it possible?

Excited and on a mission, with renewed hope, I made my first meal plan and emptied the cupboards of all "off the list" foods. We went shopping as a family and the men ran around reading labels and finding sugar and gluten in EVERYTHING! We shopped and setup our first LCHF dinner, so proud and ready to do this. Hahaha what a total fail! I managed to burn it all to a crisp and we ended up with a completely uneatable charcoal dinner! We managed to save some of the chicken and called it the night.

I am happy to say that it only got better from there. We tried, learned and succeeded. The results speak for themselves.The more we did these meals, the easier they got and the more confidence we got to try new things.

In just 6 months our son had lost 30kg and his gorgeous smile was back. He started running again and had a new loving outlook on life. His energy was high and he enjoyed his schoolwork again. Hence forth, a very happy mom & dad! Now, while we set out to help him, we received so much more.

In 7 months my husband lost 45kg and all his health issues had corrected and he was and is healthy and happy. See my video about the health issues that cleared up.

For myself, I lost a whopping 67kg in 15 months! Once I realized the difference this way of life was making in our lives, I started studying and learning as much as I could. I qualified and certified as a LCHF coach and started coaching others to help them make these changes. I did not stop learning! I have since earned diplomas in Weight loss and diet planning, Nutritional Supplements, Life coaching and Nutrition. In addition I qualified as a TRE facilitator. All this is a short time, in my 40's and with a learning disability (Dyslexia). The biggest lesson I have learned over the years, is that anything is possible.

I now fill the roll of mentor, speaker and teacher. It is my passion to help as many people as I can reach to also make these changes and help you reach for your dreams.

"Anything is possible"
— Coach Ilze

This video was my first ever public speaking, with 100 women at a ladies tea.
I have since spoken at a school with grd 9, at a yoga studio, and this year at a ladies tea for a church fundraiser.

Sort:  

Oh wow, You made it - I am happy to see you here.
I was shocked at all the spamming happening in your comments - Dayum, people really want you to join in on their fun!
I am absolutely ELATED TO HAVE YOU HERE, and I look forward to sharing this journey ahead with you!

Thank you so much my awesome friend. I'm learning.

Hi and welcome here! When I started on steemit, my biggest problem was to find interesting people to interact with. So, to help newcomers getting started I created a directory with other interesting and or talented steemians to follow or interact with. Feel free to check it out at https://www.steemiandir.com I am sure it will help you find like-minded people. Enjoy your stay here and do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions!

Thank you, appreciate it.

I’m using Partiko to make friends and have fun on the Steem blockchain. You should as well! Here’s my invite link: https://partiko.app/referral/mushabbar, you will get 3000 Partiko Points for sign up bonus, and you can exchange them into Steem token!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Good morning, sorry for my late reply, I am still learning how this works. What is Partiko?

Welcome to STEEM, it's a lot to take in, but hopefully you'll have fun and enjoy it! Come hang out with us in PAL if you have any questions or need help.

Thank you, I will do so.

Clay is our resident poet and philosophy guru... we love him to bits - so you have to love him too!

Welcome to Steem coachilze! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Thank you for all the info.

Congratulations @coachilze! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made your First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

you are welcome !

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @coachilze

Welcome to Steem i wish you luck and success.
Below you will find some suggestions.

  1. Pushbook and seven77challenge are initiated by @nathanmars and the purpose of this movement is to increase steem awareness and price. It will cost you only some seconds to be a seven77 member. Read this post.
  2. @paulag's Redfish Power UP League will help you to grow your account
  3. along with @akomoajong 100SP Giveaway
  4. I am using Partiko to check my steem acount from my mobile
  5. Actifit is another great steem app that rewards you based on your daily activity.
  6. If you like card games you should join Steem Monsters. Collect cards, do daily quest or join turnaments. You can also sell your cards for steem. i am sure you will love it as i do.
  7. if not then join Next Colony build your base, extract materials and construct ships.
  8. ok ok ok i've got it. you want to be a drug dealer. Join DrugWars sell your drugs and earn coins.

Feel free to ask anything you want. i will be happy to help you

Thank you for all the info.

Welcome to steemit @coachilze.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Thank you, I'll check it out.

Welcome coachilze!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you , I appreciate the info.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29