It’s classnerd!

Hey Stemians, classnerd is glad to be part of you. I was introduced to this awesome group by @EpaphrasDaniel
I am a lawyer, a poet, a social critic and of course, I am a nerd. I am originally from Nigeria, where I got a law degree and was in active legal practice until I decided to get a masters degree.

Being from one of the oil producing states in Nigeria, I became aware of the massive oil spills that characterizes the activities of oil companies in the Niger-delta region of Nigeria. In fact, these ruthless environmental degradations ultimately earned Ogoni land, a community in the Niger-Delta region, the unenviable title of the most polluted place on earth! Yet, the indigenes languish in poverty, lacking the most basic of infrastructure while the oil companies pay little or no regard to the means of livelihood that are being destroyed.

And so, my quest to get a masters degree in Environmental law brought me to the land of the free, the United States of America where I currently reside. Nevertheless, home is where my heart always is.

I muse over a bunch of topics including but not limited to, governance and the propriety or otherwise of government actions, culture, the idea of justice, love etc. and these would be reflected in my writings. I am not constrained by geography as I would be cutting across tribes, countries, and ethnicities.

I am passionate about sustainable development, environmental justice and supremacy of the rule of law. I also agree with the words of Thomas Jefferson that; “If a law is unjust, man is not only right to disobey it, he is obligated to do so.”

For fun, I love traveling (I especially enjoy road trips), boat cruises, taking landscape pictures and trying out fine continental dishes. I also like to stay around people who radiate positive energy.

Lastly, I believe that everyone deserves to be loved.

Here’s a picture of me

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

You are welcome

👍

Welcome to Steemit!!!

See you out there!!!

WELCOME TO STEEMIT!

@classnerd -Wow, you are quite a box of tricks...:)

*Welcome, I wish you all the success on Steemit. I will be following you...

tenor.gif
Source: Tenor Gifs

Such ovation! Lol. Thanks

You're welcome, Steem onward and upward!

Welcome. I started to follow you😃

Thank you 🤗

Welcome to Steemit. Hopefully you will give us great insights from your studies.

Thank you. I certainly will.

Greetings From Mr. Crypto!
I enjoyed your post and I'm pleased to meet you!

Please help us grow @rehab22 Follow/UpVote/Resteem
Original Content.

Thanks Mr. Crypto! I’m pleased to meet you too.

Welcome to Steemit. Where in America are you, and are you able to practice law? Steemit will be a great platform for your causes.

Thank you 😊
I’m currently in California, and yes, I can practice law here in California once I take (and pass) the state bar exam.

Great to see you on steemit. Welcome!!

Great intro post @classnerd! Thanks for joining Steemit! I am @gogogadgetupvote and I found your intro post thanks to a link that @logoo sent me in my Daily "Introduceyourself Post" Bounty! I have upvoted and resteemed your intro, as well as given you a follow! Be sure to check out my contest post I linked, there are several useful articles linked at the bottom for new users!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58431.17
ETH 2653.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44