One Small Step for CitizenRod....

Allow myself to introduce... myself..

CitizenRod, Rodrigo, or just Rod for my Aussie mates that just can't seem to roll their tongues, I currently reside in Sydney Australia, and I say "currently" because on my list of things to do is to live in another country at some point in my life, though my list appears to be getting longer and longer and I appear to be getting older and older. I really need to start crossing things off that list.

Well one thing that was on my list was to start blogging, which I can proudly say I started last year. But as I'm sure a lot of you have experienced, there was an initial rush of excitement and production, which slowly started to waiver until it had practically fizzled out into nothing, just drips and drabs.  

Fortunately, I recently discovered Steemit, and I am very interested in the platform and how it works, especially because I have been dabbling in the crypto space since 2016. I actually mined some bitcoin back in the day (nerd!). Having discovered Steemit, the fire within has been reignited! and I am excited to produce more content, and not just blogs either, I really want to start making videos too, in English and in Spanish, haha, there's a challenge. Time to get my mug on the screen.

Speaking of mugs!

Here is mine.

(ps: down under we put the day first and the month second....the logical way)

So, who is CitizenRod?

Well, I come from an IT background, have an Industrial Design degree, have exhibited artwork, created an app called Maate, and love what we humans are doing in technology, innovation, and thinking. Born and raised in Australia, my background is Chilean (pronounced "chilli-en"), I love the outdoors, even though I don't see it much, hey, it's on my list. Soccer (football) is my favourite sport, which I love playing, and I've tried a couple martial arts such as capoeira and krav maga. I've dabbled in many things to say the least, too many in fact, this is one of my problems, I like jumping from shiny thing to shiny thing.

My goal is to create more art, and to be more involved in design.

"Art is whatever you want it to be." CitizenRod.

The power of art is that it pushes the boundaries, even when it's something you don't like, actually especially when it's something you don't like. Invite me for an ice-coffee one day, and I'll tell you what I mean. Hey, there's a blog topic! Put it on the list, hehehe.

Some of my work.  

You can see more here (click).

As for design, well, design is everywhere, and when you don't notice it, well that's good design.

Being design focused, my initial blog is about "bad design", but the point of this blog is not to just have a whinge. The real reason behind the blog is to show bad designs and to give other people the opportunity to resolve them. I'm a bit of an inventor and I really like trying to solve design problems, but I realised there are far too many bad design opportunities for me to resolve them all. So, give and you shall receive. Hopefully some of you can make some money solving these bad designs.

If you're interested in learning how to bring ideas to life (and how to make money from them), hey, it's ice-coffee time. I guess I can blog about that too at some point. Man, that list just keeps getting longer. When will I have time for my meditation retreat?!?!

Ok, so I think that's enough for now. At least I can tick another item off my Kanban board. What's a Kanban board? Ice-coffee time!  

And just finally, why CitizenRod?

Well, I vaguely remember being involved in a deep philosophical discussion (probably after a few glasses of Malbec), where we were discussing the logistics of creating a universal or global state, citizens of the earth or some crap like that. Anyway we got as far as... a universal passport...and universal names (whatever that means).... and just like a Twitter handle, I grabbed CitizenRod before anybody else did, hahaha, BAGS IT!  


See you in the ether, and I hope you enjoy my mind.

CitizenRod.
Twitter & Instagram @CitizenRod
citizenrod.com

Sort:  

Hola Rod

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome to have you on the blockchain man!

I know Australia is a pretty big place, but I highly recommend following another one of your country men @kevinli

He taught me a ton about this place and I've learned a ton from him!

Hope you enjoy your time on STEEM and if you have any questions, don't hesitate to ask around :)

Welcome to STEEM!You are going to love it here....png

Hey @jongolson, thanks for the welcome and the link, I'll check it out.


Welcome to Steemit @citizenrod!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thanks @intro.bot, are your real?

Welcome @citizenrod. Steem can take some persistence but your work is good so keep at it. Find the other artists on the platform and those that support art! I resteem a lot of my favorite artists on this blog, and there are several tags you will start to notice that artists use.

Unfortunately the game is a bit grinding if you try to jump through some curation hoops, although improvements in curation are slowly arriving. If you feel like you aren't getting any attention seek out discord groups and chat with some folks, people here help each other out when they can, but are much more likely to if you have had interactions with them.

Hi @solar, thanks for the welcome, and the tips. I'll look out for those groups.

Welcome to Steemit from your neighbor across the ditch in Kiwiland :P - Although I am currently living in Spain

Nice @conradt, hows the spanish coming along? estas aprendiendo? vale?

It's going slowly lol - i find it hard work...

haha, well, you're in the deep end... best way to learn. PS: Duolingo is your friend. I'm learning French on it. Au revoir!

Welcome citizenrod!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @esteemapp, your app sounds interesting, I'll check it out. Thanks for the welcome.

Hey nice to meet you :) we are practically neighbors
IMG_5300.JPG

Kiwi @kiwiscanfly ? I'm assuming? Just across the ditch. I forgot to add in my post, I love cats! hahaha.

Welcome @citizenrod, feel hugged by all the Brazilian Community. Feel free to ask everything that you have doubts about the platform.
Cheers!

Ah, muito prazer @robertoueti. Thanks for the welcome, and hug.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Oh great, thanks @c-squared, appreciate that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75