#Introduceyourself: Hi Steemit, I'm Chloe! Here's Why I'm Here

17807636_263123007432387_3447829717112238382_o.jpg

Hello steam-ians! 你好!こんにちわ!Salut!

It’s Chloe here, brought to you by a dear friend and a brother of mine @aaronteng. When he first introduced me to steemit, I still remember it was around 4am (we usually have late night talks about life, not much of nonsense since he acts like this wise old man chuckles) and upon hearing ‘steemit’, my first thought was… steam what? Can I eat it? giggles

So that was how I came across steemit. What intrigued me about steemit is how every one of you who is so passionate in sharing your knowledge, putting your thoughts into it and making an effort to craft all these posts.

When I was a teenager, I used to follow a few renown bloggers from my home country and I have to say that they have inspired me in a lot of ways, playing a part in my self-development. Hence, I believed that all of your efforts will not go to waste. Please keep the community alive, continue writing, posting and inspiring more people. We will never know what happens when our post goes out. This little effort coupled with the right moment, we may be able to change a life/lives.

About Myself

IMG_0043.jpg

Before straying too far away, hello! It’s Chloe again. (:
Born and bred in the heart of Malaysia, le Kuala Lumpur. Months before I was born, my mum was having a hard time and that was when she thought of naming me 叶欣迎 (yè xīn yíng), that is my Chinese name by the way, where 叶 (yè) is my family name. 欣 (xīn) stems from 欣赏 (xīn shǎng) which means to appreciate while 迎 (yíng) stems from 欢迎 (huān yíng) which means welcome. My mum was hoping that I will be loved, appreciated and welcomed by all beings when I am born. True enough, I think am really lucky and blessed with a lot of great friends. I guess this name has been an amulet casting away all evils jokes. Thanks, Mummy!

Community Involvement
I started volunteering when I was 17, joining my friends on a movement to raise fund for children in Gaza under a campaign named “Power of 10sen”. That volunteering experience has somehow pushed me out of my comfort zone and that was when I started exploring other opportunities around Kuala Lumpur.

I then discovered TEDx when I attended TEDxYouth@KL. Inspired by a few local figures and admiring how fearless they were in pursuing their dreams, I then volunteered at TEDxKL with the goal to inspire more people just like how I was inspired by the presenters from TEDx. To date, I have organised close to 10 TEDx events over the years and met a group of lifelong friends along the journey.

TEDx.jpg

Upon graduating from university, I joined United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees as an intern. It was one of the most eye-opening experiences where I witnessed firsthand on what it means to be illiterate, the aftermath of the ethnic tensions in certain countries that have caused the refugees a bleak future, not knowing what their future holds. It was one emotional journey where there are days I just feel really helpless. Their bravery is unspeakably admirable and I will always remember the kind gestures I have received from them. It will always be etched in my memory.

10957357_1376226646012055_192375150_n.jpg

Professional Background
Despite graduating from a "Economics and Finance" background, I was drawn to the social issues around me, hoping to be part of the change no matter how minuscule it may be.

I was really fortunate to have met my then-boss who does consultation for corporations and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) on impactful projects and sharing with them the concept of shared value. Together, we have consulted corporations to empower people to grow their businesses with the aim of alleviating poverty, to provide education for children and to map out plans with corporations to create sustainable impact in the society.

My then-boss also taught me about how one should grow themselves in order to help more people more effectively. Heeding the advice, I moved on to another job working in digital agency, understanding the impact digital platforms can have on social causes that we care about. I am still learning and hopefully, I will be able to transfer my skills and work on pro-bono projects for organisations.

How I intend to contribute
I enjoy learning things from various disciplines. I see writing as a documentary of the little things I learnt in my daily life.

You will find me writing about yoga, life and just random pocket of thoughts.

IMG_9260.jpg

  • Yoga - I was introduced to Yoga subtly by my grandpa when I was 15 and it has become an integral part of my life now. I am an aspiring yogi who has yet undertake TTC. I will be using this platform to share my learnings in my yoga journey so, fellow yogis, do share your stories, tips and tricks. I would love to get connected with you. (:

  • Life - We learn something new everyday, especially when we interact with other people. Hence, I will be sharing my thoughts and the little things I learnt in my life.

PS: My interest encompasses history & culture, meditation, tea, coffee, buildings, people and dogs.

Everyone has a story to tell and I would love to hear yours. (:

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit society

thanks for the warm welcome! :) @prashant


Welcome to Steemit @chloecartoon!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome @chloecartoon to Steemit and Team Malaysia 😆... @aaronteng rmbr to introduce her discord Team Malaysia 😉... Enjoy your journey ahead 👋🏻

@aaronleang thank you! yups he did haha.. hope to see you and the rest from Team Malaysia soon :D

Here is my first upvote to you and hopefully many more!!

DQmaAZhyJr7Hc8c2Qy55nYJyKrDESUEbPkK6jAEhDDNEN1X (1).jpg

thank you! and here is one back to you haha @truce

It's nice to meet you Chloe. Welcome to Steemit!
I'm also new in here, and I can't wait to see more of your posts, just started following you, would appreciate if you would follow me back :)

Hi @kargath! thanks for the warm welcome :) Do post frequently. I would love to learn more about Serbia :D

Hi Chloe. Welcome to Steemit and #teammalaysia. You really have a heart of gold to want to make a change to the society. Keep it up gurl! Have fun here and get connected. ☺

Hi @iamjadeline thanks for the warm welcome and, let's spread positivity to the ppl around us :D

Welcome. I'm glad to see you. Let's be friends

hi @cleopatra.beauty nice meeting you! :D thanks for the warm welcome

selamat bergabung di steemit ...
jangan lupa follow aku juga ya? @yennilestari

Hi @yennilestari! ya, selamat bergabung denganmu :)

Loading...

Welcome fellow Malaysian :) Hope you will have a great time on Steemit!

Hi @zord189, thank you! It's been really nice to hear from everyone.. I'm sure I will like it here haha.. And, all the best to you in your journey! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62740.92
ETH 3354.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46