Newest plant - Alocasia Zebrina Variegata

in #introduceyourself5 years ago (edited)

This was not supposed to be placed in introduceyourself aargh I'm sorry (if anyone knows how I can change it, please do tell, my newness on this platform is showing way too much)

Hi!

In my introduction post I stated that I own a lot of plants. I'm sure you thought I was exaggerating, but no, I actually have loads of them. I went through most of the stages, in my case being:

  1. Trying to keep a succulent alive. Failing.
  2. Trying again, somehow succeeding. Victory!
  3. Getting a few more succulents, it worked after all, didn't it?
  4. Deciding to buy a Pilea, also known as the 'Pass it on' or 'Friendship plant' because it creates so many pups (small baby plants).
  5. ...re-potting those baby plants and thus creating more plants...
  6. Going to the garden center weekly, buying pretty much all the common plants they have (it's a slippery slope, I won't lie)
  7. People telling me I have too many plants. Ignoring them for obvious reasons.
  8. Realizing I might have too many plants when I moved to a bigger place and had to pack them all up
  9. Still ignoring the fact, though, and slowly discovering rare plants, aka the place where my money has gone ever since...

SO. Now that we got the 'how' of my addiction out of the way, let me show you my newest addition. Most people know (or at least recognize) the alocasia zebrina, a pretty plant with arrow-shaped leaves and stems that have this awesome brown-white speckled pattern. Cool, right? Imagine how much cooler they are when the leaves have two different colors...

IMG_20190925_223428.jpg

YUP. I HAVE ONE. Apologies for your neck hernia's that you'll develop after having to look at the picture sideways, this image doesn't want to play by the rules. For those interested, here are some care tips for alocasia's:

  • Keep the soil moist, but not wet. They like high humidity, but most of the plants don't like to dangle their roots in water. Then again, neither would you, imagine having your foot in a bath of water. Constantly. You wouldn't like that, neither do your plants :)
  • Keep them humid. Buy a fun mister and spray spray spray once a day or so. It's fun. You'll like it.
  • Don't freak out if they drop a leaf. Alocasia's are a bit fuzzy sometimes and when they are bored of the oldest leaf, they'll kill it off. Just leaf them be and they'll be fine! (yes, that pun was intended).

Okay, that was it for now, hopefully you found this post a bit informative even though most of you probably aren't as invested in plants as I am. If you want to read more blog posts about my collection of plants, do let me know, I'm happy to share them with you guys!

Love,
Judith

Sort:  

Welcome chivanna!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @chivanna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

There are two things you cannot change on a post, the title or the first tag. If you would like to come into the
Steem Terminal in Discord, I will be happy to show you how you can fix this post. Here is an invite:

SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

Welcome to steemit @chivanna.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hi @chivanna. I'm sad to see that you never got very active with blogging here on Steem. I’m going through and checking up on everyone who is followed by the Steem Terminal support group and wanted to let you know that if you ever have any questions or need any help, myself and the rest of the team at the Terminal are always here for you!

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qDNWVTTkbDg7TBEtKFRGVqq9uy8RhBrPE45CnCVhb1DKv8GsLv1tMsWuCFZAr3S4zzCcps8hZZw2Z155KRq6yhEZY5CvhC.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09