Sort:  

Hi ChiroCraig! Yes, anyone who is passionate about scuba diving or the ocean is likely involved in some sort of conservation activities. There are plenty of great organizations out there.

Personally, I like http://Reef.org but here's an article that highlights some of the larger organizations: https://www.underseas.com/blog/best-marine-conservation-organizations-donate-earth-day/

One of the biggest things you can do is to stop wearing poisonous sunscreens. Research appears to be pointing toward sunscreens as a major cause of coral bleaching worldwide.

Here's a link to a sunscreen that is actually safe for use in and around the water. For the record, I am not compensated in any way by them, but I have met the owner and have several dive buddies who also know them to be serious, legit scientists with a great product: https://Stream2Sea.com

Cool thanks for the tip!

I have been concerned about the toxic components of sunscreen for many years and how they affect human and ecosystem health. As a result I tend to just use natural oils for the very modest amount of SPF they provide and cycle between reapplying and taking breaks from the sun under shade or with a shirt.

I will most definitely check out this product. Especially if it happens to be cruelty-free I am interested!

edit just went and saw their statement about testing on fish. I get where they are coming from but I also make a very concerted effort to not purchase anything that is tested on live animals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39